We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tamboti Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tamboti Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We spent a long weekend recently in the beautiful town of Tzaneen having booked in at Tamboti Lodge. Our unit was beautifully decorated, had adequate space with a modern bathroom. We had doors opening out a little balcony surrounded with beautiful gardens, ponds and water features. The tranquility created inside of the room continued outside. Lovely breakfasts are served in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeeHopton
Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Overall very good, staff friendly and helpful. Food were excellent, chef very friendly, likes to chat and find out if everything is okay. Did not like to sleep in the loft, but options not clear when booking online. Will use again in future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 12petrusb
Polokwane
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We received personal attention from the chef and our food was prepared to perfection. The room was cosy and clean. The garden was beautiful, green and fell good on the eye. Tamboti Lodge is a stay over I will recommend and use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antoinettem115
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I was expecting so much more, I cannot believe that this lodge has been given such a high star rating. The person who welcomed us was very unfriendly and cold. We were initially provided with a loft room with no windows and an aircon that was not working adequately. While the room itself was well decorated, we would have died...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracyd762
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracy Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser, your comments are noted and appreciated. We are truly saddened that you did not receive a welcoming arrival from the receptionist and have implemented vigorous training with both the reception staff. We also appologise that the 1st room was inadequate, as that was the “loft room” and it is the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We arrived at your "Lodge" only to find the room dank and dreary, the reception area down some stairs to be served by a person who looked like a cleaner. The airconditioner remote needed new batteries and the whole place looks run down. What a disappointment! This is certainly not a "Lodge" it seems to be a house with all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 431mariannen
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marian Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser, sorry for replying at this late stage but your comments are noted and appreciated. Here at Tambotilodge Guesthouse, we have always prided ourselves that we offer a “home away from home” experience, we are truly saddened that you had such a bad experience and have taken all your points to...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Friendly stuff, the rooms are nice, the design of the whole facility is wonderful, it's a peaceful place I can recomment to stay! they prepare good breakfast outside and they have some good wines for the evening Pieter is an excellent Chef! He made my evenings with his food!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 950annikaj
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Annika. Thank you for your wonderful review of Tamboti Lodge Guesthouse! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us, as we appreciate all feedback. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.!! Warm Regards Tamboti lodge Team

The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

The room was spacious and comfortable. Overall the place looks a bit old and outdated. We stayed one night on our way to Kruger. We arrived a bit late and our dinner was waiting already. The chef kept asking how the food was. It was over cooked and tasted like a bad mashy home cooked meal. It is not bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nieske_zld
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Very nice located place. The Garden is stunning. The top of the Location is Peter. He is a real Food Artist with a long experience recognised. Peter prepared our Dinners to perfection. Never have been hosted so individually like Peter did. Guests shall not miss this Dining Experience. Peter, Thank you for the great evenings. Best regards Bernhard Rühm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard R
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bernard . Thank you for your wonderful review of Tamboti Lodge Guesthouse! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us, as we appreciate all feedback. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.!! Warm Regards Tamboti lodge Team

Hoffman Estates, IL
Reviewed 25 March 2016

I have been traveling to the Limpopo area of South Africa two to three times a year for the last few years, and there is not a question as to where I will stay-Tamboti Lodge. There may be more elegant places, but no better place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable, spotless, air conditioned and inviting. The gardens and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GM2015
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest . Thank you for your wonderful review of Tamboti Lodge Guesthouse! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us, as we appreciate all feedback. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.!! Warm Regards Tamboti lodge Team

Knysha
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Very nice stay, host did make us a perfect diner, very nice rooms. The place was perfect, services from personel were excellent, very friendly. Drinks and breakfast were fine, perfect location and good reachable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 677marcelt
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marcell . Thank you for your wonderful review of Tamboti Lodge Guesthouse! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us, as we appreciate all feedback. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.!! Warm Regards Tamboti lodge Team

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
16.1 km away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tzaneen
122 reviews
11.0 km away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
2.4 km away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 7 in Tzaneen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
16.1 km away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
150 reviews
2.5 km away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#1 of 15 in Tzaneen
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tamboti Lodge is situated in a quiet suburb in Tzaneen close to all amenities. Set against the magnificent Magoebaskloof mountains of Tzaneen, Tamboti Lodge is ideally situated and easily reached for a relaxing holiday or overnight stay. It has safe parking. Experience the big 5 at the Kruger National Park, an hours drive away or spend a night on the way there. Whether you are relaxing at the pool absorbing nature or enjoying generous breakfast, Tamboti Lodge will restore your soul...and you will feel right at home with our friendly and professional service and special attention to our guests and their needs. Accommodation: Each of our 20 beautiful, luxurious en-suite bedrooms have DSTV, a bar fridge, air-conditioning and own entrance. Only guests may use the pool set in a picturesque subtropical garden. Tamboti Lodge is graded with four stars by the South African Tourism Grading Council. Pickups from the airport can be arranged. Breakfast is supplied to our guests. Services include the following:* En-suite bathrooms* Fans* Air-Conditioning* Tea / Coffee making facilities* Safe parking with a security guard* Television sets with twelve DSTV channels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamboti Lodge

Address: 18 Tamboti street | Arbor Park, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Price Range: ₹ 3,403 - ₹ 4,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamboti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tamboti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamboti Lodge Tzaneen, Limpopo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tamboti Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Unit 20 which is separate from others and felt like part of the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles VeeHopton, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pool side rooms are larger and have wonderful pool and garden views.”
 of 5 bubbles GM2015, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Poolside definitely -and check that it is serviced before you settle in. Also note that you get Ricoffy and single ply toilet tissue as part of the amenities. And note that the doors and shutters are a bit difficult to open and close -and watch out for uncovered electrical outlets as per pic from room.”
  • Open electrical connections, first night in
  • Electrical box, first night in
 of 5 bubbles afroturk2015, 27 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Room 11 is the best....have dinner there the food is fantastic.”
  • Hotel grounds
  • Hotel grounds
  • most comfortable bed
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles joym132, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Room number 9 was amazing and I had a wonderful stay, thank you.”
 of 5 bubbles 505CarolM505, 13 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay