We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Montusi Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Montusi Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Montusi Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
macclesfield, UK
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Montusi has an incomparable setting overlooking fields and the high mountains, and offers clean and comfortable accommodation in very attractive and spotlessly clean thatched bungalows dotted round grounds filled with indigenous trees and many birds. The owner recommended two excellent and strenuous day walks in the nearby Royal Natal National Park and we were ready for the cup of tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldhf
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for spending part of your great South African Adventure at Montusi. We are glad that you enjoyed most of your Montusi Experience, especially the hikes that we recommended. There are some wonderful hikes in the Royal Natal Park and at Montusi itself. You did well to make full use of your two days in the mountains, despite the...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 November 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a night at Montusi. It had to be whistle stop due to our hectic schedules but it was just enough to recharge our batteries for another busy week. We booked at the last minute and got a garden suite. These are gorgeous little thatched cottages which are by no means the poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4Jones29
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Jones, Thanks so much for your lovely, comprehensive review of Montusi. We were so pleased you were able to come up for the night to catch a bit of mountain wonder. We hope you will be able to return sometime, perhaps for a little longer to adventure further into the mountains. Kind regards, Lindsay

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2015

This is a place for you to come to escape from all your worries. No clock, no wake-up call service. What you get is tranquility, serenity, great food, outstanding service and a closeness to nature. Though considered high-end in terms of price, it nevertheless is worth every penny. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vincent_1118
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vincent, You seem to have captured exactly what we hope to offer people. In this information age where things are on the go all the time, we are still holding onto the notion of being present in the moment and soaking up what the natural world has to offer. It is really special to us when people embrace this...

Germany
Reviewed 31 October 2015

It was the 2nd time we stayed here, because we already had a perfect stay over 10 years ago. It's a beautiful lodge with breathtaking views of the Amphitheater in the Drakensberge. The private Bungalows are spacious with a terrace and great views. Food which is served in the main lodge is also very good. Beautiful pool area also with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BiztravelGermany
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

It is always wonderful to have returning visitiors, but even more flattering when those visitors come from overseas because South Africa has so much to offer and time is always a limiting factor! Thank you very much for making the time to visit us again and posting your review. Kind regards, Lindsay

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

We spent a wonderful three nights at Montusi. It is in an absolute gorgeous setting with some of the best views my wife and I have ever seen. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is wonderful and I have got to recommend a morning hike in the company of Shadrac (AKA Paparazzi). He is very knowledgeable, very witty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikepani
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

This review really brought a smile to our faces:) Thanks so much for making time to visit Montusi, for enjoying your time here and for sharing your enjoyment with the world. We have passed on your coments to Shadrack - he really is a most valuable member of our team, because of his genuine interest and enjoyment of meeting and...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Only 4 hours drive from Johannesburg airport Montusi Mountain Lodge was a perfect place to stay. Fantastic staff, warm welcome, great food, delightful accommodation and wonderful views. I can also recommend the back massage! We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wallsley
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

A smile appeared on my dile to read your impression of our lodge! Thanks very much for your acknowledgement. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and the whole team managed to give you are great start to your holiday! We hope the rest of the trip went well. All the best, Lindsay

Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We stayed for 3 days in one of the self catering chalets. The house was fantastic - very spacious and clean, well equipped and with a beautiful view on the surrounding mountains. The entire lodge is in very good conditions and the staff was very friendly. The kids did some horse back riding, while we went for a hike. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andreas, Thanks for posting this review of your time in the Montusi Self-Catering Cottages. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your visit and made use of the activities on offer. The horse-riding is a great way for non-hikers to see the mountains: the horses do all the work while the rider gets to revel inthe...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

amazing place very well set out with really smart staff friendly and good food, the family/owners are hands on and really lovely people to talk to, I could not fault this place from buildings to surroundings all wonderful .. good luck girls with your future babys :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thebones766
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Such a smile on our faces from reading your review of Montusi. It was an absolute joy to meet you both and share our mountains with you. Thanks very very much for firstly including Montusi in your itinerary, secondly enjoying it and thirdly sharing your enjoyment! We hope the rest of your South African Adventure was a complete treat and...

Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

A cozy fireplace in a large and clean hut, good food and friendly people. Great to do a short hike from here or go into the very close by park for longer hikes. No internet in the huts but wireless is available near the reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang N
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wolfgang, What a lovely piece to read! We are always delighted to receive positive feedback and really appreciate you taking the time to post this review. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our lodge and it is great when people notice this! Because the accommodation is spaced apart throughout the gardens, it is difficult to get wifi...

Hoorn, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 25 September 2015

This was one of our top 3 accommodations in South Africa. We booked last second with Montusi Mountain Lodge since it was weather depending for how long we wanted to stay in Drakensberg. Unfortunately Montusi was fully booked so we could only stay for one night, else we definitely stayed a few extra days! The accommodation was a huge double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, Thanks you so much for your review of the Montusi Self-Catering Cottages! The cottages are actually private holiday homes that we let out on behalf of the individual owners. They work very well as the owners use them often and so keep them to a high standard, while ensuring that they are well equipped! The fireplaces definitely add...

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
6.5 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
218 reviews
33.1 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
58.1 km away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
84 reviews
4.5 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Montusi is a four-star, family-run lodge in the Northern Drakensberg World Heritage Site offering Space, Comfort and Peace in uncluttered, unpretentious luxury. Each free-standing suite enjoys stunning views of the Amphitheatre Mountain. Suites have one or two bedrooms, all en-suite with bath and walk-in shower, and lounge with patio, fireplace, fridge and tea/coffee facility.Imaginative gourmet cuisine makes for sumptuous dining.Activities: hiking, fishing, tennis, swimming, horse-riding, birding, mountain-bike and 4x4 trails (bring your wheels), relaxing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Montusi Mountain Lodge

Address: Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Price Range: ₹ 15,915 - ₹ 20,972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montusi Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda and South African Hotels so you can book your Montusi Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montusi Mountain Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Montusi Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Montusi Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Room 18 (two bedroom suite) that had a nice view of the Drakensberg Amphitheatre.”
ValueLuxurySeeker, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 14, limited wifi. Good wifi on the terrace with STUNNING (not 4 star!) panoramic views.”
notsib, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request suites in the new section with mountain views”
Kate-Eddie, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Newer rooms are excellent but suspect all are of a good standard”
Toaster803, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Mountain Suites looked exquisite”
LoriVoss, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5