We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Expedia.comUS$ 85*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 499: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
 Click to rate
Oakton, Virginia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenmK8959DD
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

North Reading, Massachusetts
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Convenient location along the Jersey Shore while visiting family. Front desk staff is always helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chap360
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Chap; Thank you for being a repeat guest of the Howard Johnson, Toms River. We appreciate the feedback and happy to hear we continue to meet your expectations and our location and friendly staff keep you coming back. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you, Sarah L. E-Commerce Manager

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Surprisingly nice hotel located close to the beach and 6 Flags. Overall property was clean and well maintained. The indoor pool is good size and plenty of towels available. We had a room that was close to the hotel pub and suffered through noise/vibrations from the live band until the early morning hours on Saturday. Recommend getting a room away...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F16Waldo
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear F16Waldo; Thank you for selecting our hotel as your place to stay while in town. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found the location, restaurant and more met your expectations. We apologize for the noise from the bar and will do our best to place you away from...

Halifax, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The type of room I booked did not match the room that was presented online. The room I booked online showed an updated room with decor and white linen. Upon arrival and walking into the room it was straight 80's with the old style dark printed comforter and the brown wool type under blanket with flat pillows. The window treatments...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank toreyc325
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Torey; In today's modern world, online reputation is everything and our's is important to us. We understand the images that are shown from the brand are our feature rooms which we have two of, but all our rooms are listed as well. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and regret that our feature room was not available...

Whiting, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 501lisay
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When my husband and i checked out we gave the very rude older lady our rewards number (which she typed in wrong) they of course can not do anything on site so it was my job to fix it. When i called to complain i got the same old lady who did not care put me on hold over 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z5492SUjessicab
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Jessica; We appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. Customer service is very important to us and we are sorry to hear you did not receive exceptional service from us. Rest assured we will speak with the team and continue to train with them so our guests, in person or over the phone, always receive...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall, the stay wasn't bad since we were only there one night. The guest rooms could be updated. Out wifi didn't work at all which was a real inconvenience. Due to those issues, the price of the room could have been cheaper. The staff was friendly and I had no issues with them.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendra G
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Kendra; Thank you for choosing our hotel as your place to stay for the evening. We appreciate all feedback we receive as it allows us to see where we are doing well, and where improvements are needed. In today's modern world we understand the importance of a reliable Internet signal to remain connected while traveling, we apologize that ours...

Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimbE9230QJ
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Alachua, Florida, United States
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We were visiting family in the area for my Aunt and Uncles 70th wedding anniversary and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights...the rooms were clean and updated...each room had a balcony (which was good because my mother is a smoker),,,they had an indoor pool and a bar/pub right on the property...the staff was friendly and the prices were reasonable...I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirleylrose
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Shirleyrose; Thank you for selecting our hotel for your family's stay while in town. We are very pleased to hear the friendly service, clean and comfortable guestroom, restaurant and lounge as well as the location all surpassed your expectations leaving you with an enjoyable experience. We appreciate the business and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank...

DuBois, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I was impressed with this hotel. The clerk at the front desk was nice when I ask to be put on a first floor room. The room was very clean - the only complaint was the water pressure in the shower, maybe a new showerhead would fix that. It had a decent continental breakfast - muffins, cereal & waffles, etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele A
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Michele; Thank you for selecting our hotel as your place to stay while in town. We are pleased to hear that the friendly customer service, clean and comfortable guestroom and breakfast all met your expectations. We are sorry about the water pressure being low, we are not sure what's causing that and will check the hotel and reach the...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toms River
1.0 km away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
4.4 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
9.5 km away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
178 reviews
10.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
9.7 km away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#21 of 39 in Seaside Heights
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753-8320
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Price Range: ₹ 4,769 - ₹ 13,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“hotel is a good distance from the road and is all very quite”
anthonybucceri, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“single queen rooms much smaller than doubles”
874DougA, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the entrances are always. BRING YOUR OWN/request extra pillows, as the pillows provided are "skimpy".”
racinbluz27, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are probably quieter.....”
St_Albans774, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Atlantic City if you want a nice room”
SmartTravlerLV, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 85* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 85
HotelQuicklyUS$ 110
TravelocityUS$ 86
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates