We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Breakers on the Ocean

393 reviews
Save
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (44)
Pool & Beach (9)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“cozy king”(7 reviews)
“cocktail hour”(16 reviews)
“piano bar”(5 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (393)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
178
91
46
28
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
178
91
46
28
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscozy kingcocktail hourpiano barfront desk staffhotel restaurantoff seasonwhirlpool tubthe past yearsgreat roomnew jerseyfront porchthe entire staffbeautiful beachbeach badgesoceanboardwalkterri
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Three friends stopped for a weekday lunch and were completely enchanted by the place! The holiday decorations add to the classy ambiance of this stately hotel and restaurant. We were promptly seated and our server quickly attended to our drink orders. The food - crab...More

Thank Susan S
Response from BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the OceanResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Susan S: We are delighted to hear about your wonderful lunch with your friends. Thank you for taking time to share your experience and thank you for dining with us. Happy holidays and we hope to see you and your friends again soon!

Reviewed 4 December 2017

This is a wonderful place for an impromptu off-season visit to the shore. NJ Transit gets you there inexpensively, taxi to the oceanfront hotel costs five bucks, and check-in was easy and respectful. The oceanfront King room was clean and comfortable, and though I paid...More

1  Thank Jodi M
Response from BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the OceanResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Jodi M: Thank you for staying with us and also for writing this lovely and detailed review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit with us and had such a lovely stay. Thank you for mentioning how much you...More

Reviewed 13 November 2017

In town for a wedding this past weekend. We were expecting a grand room and were extremely disappointed! The room was lacking, it was a cold weekend, no blankets on the bed, no coffee pot, no microwave, but most importantly, hot water in the room...More

1  Thank Kathleen F
Response from BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the OceanResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Kathleen F: It was cold indeed the weekend that you stayed with us. All of our rooms, however, do have blankets and down comforters. In addition, a guest services representative is available 24 hours if you needed assistance adjusting your heat and gladly would...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

First off, the rooms are very clean. That said... . The hotel is badly in need of updating. $993.00 for 4 nights. Tuesday through Friday ( checked out Saturday morning). I booked a 2 queen bed room for two. Consisting of 2 beds, mini fridge,...More

1  Thank Flyfisherman57
Response from BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the OceanResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Flyfisherman57: Thank you for staying with. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. We also are pleased that you enjoyed some of the many amenities that we do offer in connection with our historic oceanfront hotel in the...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Lets start from the beginning..there is no parking lot, on street parking..No ONE offered us any assistance with our luggage..I noticied this many times with other people as I watched them arrive..The one elevator is so small and so old and inefficient, hold 3 people...More

Thank Fanci3
Response from BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the OceanResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Fanci3: Thank you for staying with us. We, however, are sorry to hear that we are not the right property for you. It seems that there was some miscommunication between you and our staff. Bellhops are available to assist guests with their luggage. We...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345679
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Beachfront
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Banquet Room
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Details
Price range
US$ 100 - US$ 435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 100 - US$ 435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (44)
Pool & Beach (9)
Dining (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
njwb2015
4 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from claimsgal | Reviewed this property |
Haven't stayed on that room but other than the view, the hotel needs some TLC
2
Votes
RobinRealtor
4 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from iamvaltoo | Reviewed this property |
They do not have microwaves in the standard rooms.
0
Votes
ccapone4
24 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BreakersOnTheOcean | Property representative |
Hello and thank you for your inquiry. Our pool remains open through the month of September. After Labor Day, however, there is no pool monitor on duty and typically there is no food service by the pool. Hope to see you in... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"ocean view is very expensive"
Read review
"Go elsewhere. For the $, you can do far better."
Read review
"Book well in advance during high season due to an abundance of weddings, parties, etc."
Read review
"Go higher up - especially if there is an event. This is a busy place."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing