We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
100 Independence Way, South Brunswick, NJ 08540
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Expedia.com
$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Hotels.com
$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Travelocity$113
Priceline$118
getaroom.com$125
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)

About

#5 of 6 hotels in South Brunswick
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Discover comfortable accommodations at one of Princeton, New Jersey's newly renovated hotels, the Holiday Inn Princeton. Featuring a thoughtful selection of amenities perfect for business and leisure travelers, this hotel in Princeton welcomes travelers to experience spacious and comfortable rooms just minutes from downtown Princeton. Our ideal location puts guests near popular attractions, such as family-friendly Grounds for Sculpture, Market Fair Mall, the Quakerbridge Mall and the Forrestal Village. Our hotel is also 2 miles away from Princeton Medical Center and 11 miles to Robert Wood Johnson Hospital in Hamilton and Capital Health Regional Medical Center. We are near popular universities such as Rider University, The College of New Jersey, Thomas Edison State and of course Princeton University. We are near offices of many Fortune 500 companies such as Novo Nordisk, Dow Jones, Johnson & Johnson, Bank of America, Sun Pharmaceuticals, S&P Global and Bristol-Myers Squibb.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi
202Reviews2Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 54
  • 45
  • 27
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
loveisbliss wrote a review May 2022
Buffalo, New York345 contributions243 helpful votes
This is my second stay at this Holiday Inn this past year. Not my choice because it is for business! This property is so old and needs a full renovation. The interior of the rooms is nothing better than a $49 per night motel room. The exterior of the building looks impressive as you drive in the circle upon arrival and it just goes downhill from there. Please do your research before choosing a hotel room. Do not let stock photos on a web site fool you. There are so many other much better options down on Route 1.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Good day loveisbliss, I hope you're having a great day. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It's an honor you chose our Holiday Inn Princeton for your leisure travel. I'm sorry the vibe of our hotel didn't exceed your expectation. I shared your comments with our hotel team, and we will use this as a tool to improve and make our hotel service better. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. We look forward to hosting you again soon, and having another amazing experience. Melissa P. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
loveisbliss wrote a review Oct 2021
Buffalo, New York345 contributions243 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel for one night with a team. The hotel is so old and simply needs to be bull dozed down. My room smelled terrible of mildew and smelly carpet. Some of the players said their rooms smelled of cigarette smoke. My carpet looked like it had t been vacuumed in forever. The bathtub had old rings in the tub. The bath linens consisted of one bath towel and one hand towel. That was it! The hallways also smelled. Do NOT stay here! There are way more better choices along Route 1. Don’t support this dump!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
letskeeptraveling wrote a review Aug 2021
California11 contributions7 helpful votes
In our initial room, we found ants crawling over the desks. We immediately requested to change to a different room but found that the room was smelly, the carpet was dirty, and there were holes in the wall! We decided to leave after only spending 1 night there, but the front desk lady (I believe she is the owner) was rude and didn't want to refund the money to us. She told me that the bookings.com already collected the full amount and she couldn't do anything about it. I had to call bookings.com right away and they had to spend a long time trying to solve the issue. The lady's attitude was terrible. Stay away from this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Dear letskeeptraveling, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the service of our staff, the smell in the room, the dirty carpet and that there were ants in the room. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mythreeJs wrote a review Jul 2021
Phoenix, Arizona11 contributions2 helpful votes
Four nights in two rooms for five people, equipped with a total of four towels. Hockey trip, teen showers after every game. Towels don't dry in this humid climate. Called and stopped in person at the front desk and asked for more towels three separate times, was promised they would be brought to our room, however they were not ever delivered. Finally at 9:00 p.m. I went to the front desk and secured two, was told they were the last ones. Asked housekeeping for towels next morning and was given ONE and man told me no more, because people aren't returning them to be washed. Front desk staff was completely unsympathetic, and when I advised that it would be nice for them to communicate upon check-in how the hotel would handle providing fresh linens and trash pickup in the absence of daily housekeeping, I was told I could write it in my comments when I check out. Well I'm writing it in my review instead. I have stayed in other hotels during this post covid time of reduced services, and they let you know you can put your linens out before 11:00 a.m. if you would like clean ones and they will take your trash away everyday if you put it outside. Trash here is instead piled in the vending area if you leave it by your door, not even sure when housekeeping ever takes it away. Rooms are showing signs of age and where the public areas are bright and remodeled, the rooms seem tired and sad. Bathroom vanity water damaged and peeling on the front. There's some kind of biohazard dripping down the wall in the bathroom on the wallpaper and the trash can. The only waste basket in the entire room is approximately 4 in by 8 in. Shower enclosure has dark scratches and is showing a lot of age. Toilet runs all the time. White bedding is soiled with yellow staining, especially at the edges of the duvet near your face. Lobby and public areas appear to have been remodeled recently and have nice decor for conferences. However the restaurant and bar are still completely closed when other NJ hotels have managed to reopen theirs. Grab and go cold breakfast, which was supposed to be included in our room price, is $10 each. There is absolutely nothing within walking distance of this hotel to get a quick meal. Lobby convenience store items are insufficient and overpriced. Pool and fitness center still closed, no mention on website. I sent an email to the hotel front desk a week before our trip to ask about these features and whether they had reopened, with no reply. I am not surprised, because this is one of the most poorly managed Holiday Inns I have ever visited, and I am a gold member with many stays all over the country. Perhaps the Holiday inn Express in South Princeton would have been a better choice, but this one was a preferred hotel for our hockey event so we took a chance. Never again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Travelizer wrote a review Jul 2021
San Francisco, California8 contributions23 helpful votes
Staff and service are rude and incompetent. First they put us in a room that AC doesn’t work. Then they switched us to another room where the tub is clogged. The tub looked dirty, we had to wear our slippers when showering. The ventilation from the AC was disgusting, so much mold and dust inside, it’s like they never ever changed the filter. The whole place is old and dirty, almost like a dump! This hotel should be out of business.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Stephanie C wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived late on a Friday night, around 11:15 PM. Check in was quick and pleasant. Unfortunately, after showering and turning back sheets, it was clear that one of the beds had sheets that had not been changed since last use. Hair and crumbs present, dark stain of some sort on multiple pillow cases. Pillows extremely lumpy. Called the front desk. He thought he could get us sheets, but perhaps not pillow cases. Waited about 20 minutes, and called again when no sheets were brought, as we had a 6 AM checkout and needed to get kids in bed. Were told they were busy checking in guests. Received sheets (were told only sheets for a “larger” bed were available, but we did receive pillow cases.) Other notes: carpet was damp and towels seemed damp too, but perhaps due to high humidity. In past visits to Princeton, I have stayed at Sonesta, but thought we would try something different. Unfortunately cannot recommend Holiday Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Honestly, I’d avoid this one at this point. My girls want to sleep in the car.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
EZ123 wrote a review Jun 2021
51 contributions48 helpful votes
Wish I'd looked at the reviews here before booking. This was probably the worst experience we've had in a hotel in the US. None of it was related to (or made excusable by) COVID. This hotel really should not be a Holiday Inn. It is old, has been poorly maintained, and the people running it are clearly just extracting what they can with no regard for the brand. Many items in the rooms were broken or in need of maintenance. We had two rooms, both had broken toilet seats. One toliet was itself was broken. One mattress was basically a canoe. The hotel itself was old. Cooling was via loud window units, but the hotel was designed to mask this from the outside in pics, which I suspect made the window units have to work even harder. There were service issues. The rooms did not have towels for everyone on the reservation, and we were expected to go to the front desk to get the rest of them. The linen and towels themselves were cheap and old. There was always a line at the front desk, because people were trying to get issues with their rooms fixed. We were sold rates that included breakfast, then told after booking that breakfast was "grab and go", which consisted of a bag of chips and few granola bars. I did not want to spend $10 for this, so asked for a credit. I asked twice, was promised one, but it was never applied. But honestly, this all seems minor compared with the experience of the person who had $1,000 stolen from him.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Dear ez321, It saddens me to see your stay was not as good as we would have wanted. Our establishment aims to provide the best experience possible and a great environment where our guests can enjoy a memorable time. I have forwarded your concerns to our management about the condition of the facilities and the broken elements. I want to ensure proper action is taken as soon as possible and offer you an apology for the whole situation you described in your review. I have also sent you a private message to know more details, and I want to thank you for choosing our location as your primary option. We are committed to delivering the quality expected of our brand. Hopefully, we'll see you soon to show you these changes. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jmichaele3 wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
My reservation was for the 17th-21st. I arrived very late... technically it was after midnight so it was the 18th. Checking in I gave the confirmation number. Person 1 at the front desk never mentioned any issue with the reservation. 2 days later my keycard didn't work. This seems to be a normal occurrence at this location. Back downstairs to find out the issue. Turns out my reservation had been closed. It then took Front Desk Person 2, 20+ mins to enter the new stay, extend or reactivate the original stay or whatever he was doing. Finally got the key cards back and off I went. I also couldn't figure out why the room had not been refreshed by the 2nd day. Then I found a letter at the front desk stating there was no housekeeping unless you ask and then its an additional fee. Again, something that was not communicated when I checked in. It took 2 days and 2 requests to get the ironing board replaced as the one in the room was broken and would not stand up. Couple of wks later when reviewing my expense acct, there were 2 charges... I guess due to the fact that the reservation had been closed and reopened or whatever. Could not get a copy of the bill on-line as the stay did not show in my IHG acct. Called the front desk and after 20 mins, Person 3 could not find any record of the stay and therefore couldn't provide the bill. I was given the choice to call back later and speak to the Mgr or I could call IHG. They tout that they are recently renovated... but its still the same cramped, dingy, poorly lite rooms just w/ fresh paint, wall paper and furniture. Except the renovation apparently did not apply to the mattress which seem to be about 20 yrs old. And the AC unit was so loud, I had to turn it off to be on the phone. Really disappointing for a Holiday Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: to find a good room, choose a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Sep 2020
Hello jmichaele3, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us a feedback on your most recent visit. We always strive to provide our guests with the best experiences and I'm sorry to read that we fell below expectations due to issues encountered with your reservation, room allocated, key card, and with your request for a copy of your invoice. I have shared your comments with the hotel management and I am confident that necessary steps will be taken to ensure we avoid similar situations from happening again. I also sent you a private message to get more details. I hope you give us another chance to show that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception! Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
O Jordan wrote a review Aug 2020
9 contributions3 helpful votes
Had to come to the area for surgery. We stay at a lot of IHG properties so it isn’t really clear what is happening here. It says newly renovated rooms, but maybe something stopped somewhere with COVID-19, but there is just something wrong. Outside the property isn’t anything up to par like other IHG properties. The smoking section is right in the doorway. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice. The second elevator was out of service, but getting to the fourth floor was no problem, however the hallway was hot and stuffy. Going down the hallway it smelled like pot. Our first room the shampoo bottle had been used, had no shower curtain and it was clear someone had sat on the bed. I went back down to ask for another room. The next room was also hot, we had to prop up the fridge, and it was clear that cleaning was not the best either. I wasn’t really sure about the renovation-the tubs are old, closets old, and the door locks and the swipe card kind. The dust/dirt on the fridge my husband wiped with our sanitizer wipes. We left for a while to let the room cool down. We had food from home since NJ has no restaurants open, no hotels with food, no indoor eating. There is NO MICROWAVE. The only one located is on the first floor. The place needs a lot of help. This place should be no more than 68 dollars a night. There is absolutely no benefit to staying here whatsoever.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Hello lv2drv, Thank you for choosing to stay with us among your many lodging options, and we appreciate you sharing your feedback. We’re always committed in providing our guests with a place to relax and create festive moments, and I am happy that you frequent our IHG properties for your travels. I understand your disappointment in the smoking area’s location, the limited elevator services and on the hallway’s temperature and smell. I am also sorry to hear about the room’s interior design and cleanliness not exceeding expectations. I recognize that the inadequate microwave also caused inconveniences. Trust that our hotels do their best to ensure an exceptional experience for all our guests, and we will immediately share your remarks to our hotel’s upper management for improvements on our amenities and services. We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in the future. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amyjholick wrote a review Aug 2020
Clifton Park, New York130 contributions17 helpful votes
So the insect crawling on my bed was the least of my issues with this hotel. The bug was from the first room we had on day 1. Never saw another, so that’s good. BUT, the toilet ran and ran and ran. Wouldn’t stop. No problem, I figured I’d deal with it since it’s been a long time since I’ve traveled and I’m promised to be grateful & stay positive. Rug was dirty, bathroom ceiling falling down, still I dealt with it. Day 2... 9:30pm after a long hot day, the toilet stopped working. Wouldn’t flush. I looked in the tank. Parts were duct taped and any fixing was beyond me. Tried to call front desk through hotel phone....busy. Had to make a long distance call on my cell to get an answer. The woman at the front desk said she’d send up maintenance. After 1 hour and zero maintenance response, I called front desk again. The response was ridiculous; “oh, I tried to reach someone but no one answered. I’ll give you a new room.” Ok. Packed up, went downstairs, got new keys, dragged all belongings back up to third floor to the new room. This room was much cleaner. The toilet wasn’t running but it was very full of water. But it worked! Exhausted, I turned on the air conditioner. The knob was broken and I could only select the auto option. All night long, the air conditioner would run for 2 minutes then stop for 50 seconds (yes I counted, all night long) and run for 2 minutes then stop for 50 seconds. The room was so warm we woke up in a pool of sweat. I immediately went down to the front desk that morning and asked for a room where everything worked. We were then sent to the second floor. The room was clean, ceiling in tact, toilet worked, air conditioner worked....so far so good. Took a nap since I barely got sleep the night before because of the heat. Woke up and then noticed the most disgusting large brownish stain on the mattress pad on my bed. I couldn’t fight anymore. I gave in. I just was very careful around the stain. It was so gross I couldn’t take a picture of it. Anyway, I was so glad to get the hell out of that hotel and I will never return. And in case you’re not as picky and want to stay here, the pool & restaurant are both closed. Not that I would trust either due to the grossness I encountered in the rooms. The entire property was unkempt and just plain neglected. I’m sorry if this was a result of the pandemic but it seemed the issues had been there long before Covid-19 found its way out of China’s borders.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Hello amyjholick, Thank you for your stay and for writing us a review. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your recent stay with us, particularly with the overall cleanliness and poor condition of the toilet in the rooms received. IHG sincerely cares about your experience, and I appreciate your taking the time to let us know. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate your sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. We hope the next time we host you, the circumstances are better. Regards, Dianne L. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn princeton hotel princeton, princeton holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseySouth Brunswick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Princeton University Art Museum (5.6 km), Princeton University Chapel (5.5 km), and Princeton University (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bent Spoon, Halo Pub, and Blue Point Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Princeton, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.