We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harris House Motel

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Harris House Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Harris House Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

My 2 year old toddler & myself visited Harris House Hotel, checked in Wednesday evening and paid for a 2 day stay, hotel was very nice, clean, and in a great location. After enjoying our time Wednesday evening & all of Thursday we decided to check out Thursday night because my little one was not used to the room &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderluster1988
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry to hear that you are upset that the Harris House asked you to pay the shipping on the item that was left behind. Please understand that as a popular resort motel in Ocean City, we have guests who leave items behind nearly every day of the summer. We are happy to box up and ship back...

Reviewed 17 May 2016

I stayed at the Harris House with my family which includes small children. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very professional and helpful. Its location near the boardwalk, the attractions, and the beach is perfect. Parking is free. I will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Robert! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Harris House, and we appreciate your comments about our staff. Many of us have been working together for years and years, and we consider each other to be family, and the motel to be home. There is nothing quite like an Ocean City vacation, with our beaches now being...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I stood here with my family of 5, 3 kids two adults and it was a perfect stay. The rooms are your typical Motel Rooms, The kids slept in one bed and my husband and I in the other. The room had a microwave and small fridge which was all we needed. Ideally I would prefer a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ohhmanjinet
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the positive review, and for choosing the Harris House for your Ocean City vacation! Glad to hear you were able to grab some Manco and Manco's across the street - I personally think they make the best Sicilian slice in NJ! It sounds like you truly enjoyed your stay and the fact that you would...

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I booked this hotel based upon reviews and price. The location was on point. Walked out the door and around the parking lot to the boardwalk. In the heart of the boardwalk I might add. As for the hotel. Very clean, well maintained and this was a safe location. This stay included our 5 year old. Comfortable clean room. Tv...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank haringdr27
ny
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Average motel with great location right behind the boardwalk. The location was the best part, but don't know if it's enough to make us come back. Good size fridge and microwave. Carpet needed cleaning--my white socks got dirty and the carpet smelled. There was soap scan in the tub so I just showered. Small room with very small bath *...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cleopatrany
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

My wife and I along with our young child stayed for a couple nights after Labor day and had a great stay at the Harris House. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. The motel room was exceptionally clean and comfortable; you can tell the owners and staff care about your experience. You're not getting the Waldorf or Four...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kp017
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review

Hi - thank you so much for the warm words and positive review! We appreciate you mentioning how much the owners and staff care about the property - that couldn't be more true! During the summer season, the owner's family keeps a constant vigil on every aspect of the hotel, 24/7, every minute of every day. Between the dedicated management,...

Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed at the Harris House last weekend. I don't think I could give it over 4 stars just due to the fact that it is a budget motel. The room was clean and the overall appearance of the hotel was good. Service was good as well. Pool was clean and not too crowded. Pricing was also good for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review

What a great and thorough review, thank you! Being that you enjoyed our cleanliness, location, pool, customer service and pricing, well, we can't really ask for better feedback than that! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us as we are always looking to hear back from our customers. The positive comments keep us energized and...

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 31 August 2015

My husband and I stayed Saturday night. Nice for a quick stay, but not for a long weekend or week. The room was spotless. One of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed. But it was small and had full size beds, not queen. Plus the bathroom was tiny but the sink being outside of the bathroom was convenient. Everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnag320
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your review, and in particular for the incredible compliments about the cleanliness of our rooms. Saying it was 'spotless' and 'one of the cleanest rooms' you have ever stayed in truly makes us happier than you can imagine, as we believe that that is the #1 responsibility a hotel has to its customers. The...

Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

We decided last minute to head to the shore for a quick getaway. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and since it was so highly rated, decided to give it a shot. The location of this motel couldn't get any better, the parking lot is right at the end of the ramp to the boardwalk on 12th Street. Although I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amys600rr
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review

Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for mentioning some of the things that are most important to you, as they seem to line up directly with what is most important to us! What you call friendliness, we call customer service, and we agree it is a top priority of any motel. Cleanliness goes without saying, and we...

Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Last minute by husband and I decided to take our children to Ocean City for 3 days and 2 nights. Harris House was rated #3 out of motel/hotels in Ocean City so we decided to book our room there. The location was excellent, the pool was very nice, and the staff was very accommodating. Even though check out was at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review

Hi - thank you for the positive review! We greatly appreciate you saying that you would "definitely stay here again" - that is the ultimate compliment! Also, we're glad you were able to take advantage of our property on the day of check-out, which we encourage our guests to do - after all, why rush home when the weather is...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
121 reviews
0.9 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
293 reviews
0.5 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
334 reviews
0.6 km away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#27 of 32 in Ocean City
96 reviews
0.4 km away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Harris House Motel

Address: 1201 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3251
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Price Range: ₹ 9,011 - ₹ 24,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harris House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harris House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris House Motel Hotel Ocean City
Harris Hotel Ocean City
Harris Motel Ocean City
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harris House Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Harris House Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have luggage, go first floor, there is no elevator.”
Janick2010, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for 2nd floor facing 12th street.”
shterbug, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a pool facing room which was quiet. The rooms on the side may be a little noisy at night w/ the boardwalk so close.”
CherylPhiladelphia, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“1st floor - less steps to beach; 2nd floor balcony with breezes & more privacy. Corner room facing 12th was nice.”
43kimk, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the "pool" side. May be a little bit quieter.”
kk1249, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates