We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chalfonte Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)
Overview
301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Free Parking
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
69
67
32
25
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
69
67
32
25
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king edward shared bath rocking chairs plaster walls front porch historic hotel like stepping back in time the horse drawn carriages ceiling fan beautiful wedding buffet breakfast chain hotel queen room ocean breeze large porch many years scallops
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thought we’d save a few bucks and stay at a “charming old hotel” - think again! Yes-this hotel was built in 1876 - BUT - besides the many, many, many coats of paint, it looks like nothing has been updated since 1876! And to top...More

Thank Sheri H
Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The Chalfonte HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sheri- We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. Our dining room was open and available for breakfast Saturday, Sunday and Monday of Columbus Day weekend as well as the Sunday night dinner buffet. This information was included in the confirmation email. The...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had waited a long time for this trip and had heard such wonderful things about The Chalfonte Hotel. . . terrible is being nice. From the moment we attempted to check in, until we returned our keys, it was one rude incident after another....More

1  Thank Lisa M
Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The Chalfonte HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lisa M, We apologize you did not enjoy your stay & we hope that you were able to discuss your issues with management during your stay. Several staff members are seasonal, young, and working/visiting from outside of the US so perhaps there was a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently, when we arrived at The Chalfonte for a three day stay, my boyfriend was not feeling well. Employee Dylan - who was helping with our bags - saw that my boyfriend did not look up to mounting the stairs to our 3rd floor room...More

Thank ER0909
Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The Chalfonte HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi ER909- Thank you so much for your kind review! We will share your positive words with Dillon, Front Desk staff and our reservation team! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that your boyfriend was able to recover and enjoy his time...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went mid-week, after peak season, so breakfast was served off-site, and their famous dinner was no longer being served during the week. No tv's or phones in the rooms, which was a good thing, to get away from the usual while on vaca. Our...More

1  Thank mrmatt
Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The Chalfonte HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi MrMatt, Thank you for your thoughtful review & we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We will share your feedback with our staff. We hope to see you again as our guest!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you're looking for an historic experience set in a beautiful seaside expanse, you will get heart's desire at the Chalfonte Hotel in Cape May. Be sure, however, to be explicit with your expectations with hotel staff. The hotel has no air conditioning, so make...More

1  Thank louannq927
Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The Chalfonte HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Louannq927! Thank you for your kind words & we will share your feedback with our staff! Most of the guest rooms do have central air; most of the traditional rooms are equipped with window units. We are always happy to assist with questions regarding...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Established in 1876, The historic Chalfonte Hotel is recognized as the oldest original hotel in Cape May, America's First Seaside Resort. Located just two blocks from the beach and steps from the heart of More town, The Chalfonte offers a unique seashore experience defined by warm, Southern-style hospitality. We cater to every budget with spacious suites, guest rooms with premium and European style baths, and traditional rooms with shared baths down the hall. Guest rooms feature crisp linens and cool seaside colors, and are free of televisions, telephones, and clock radios. Our nationally acclaimed Magnolia Room Restaurant serves Southern-style fare with lovingly prepared family recipes Lucille who continues the 90-year tradition. The King Edward Bar is famous for its classic cocktails and casual ambiance. Our guests continuously return from around the world to enjoy this very special destination. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Number of rooms
70
Price range
US$ 135 - US$ 226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
,
Chalfonte Cape May
,
Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
Location
United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Number of rooms
70
Price range
US$ 135 - US$ 226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
,
Chalfonte Cape May
,
Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
Location
United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Photos
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 37 nearby hotels
Camelot Motel
414 reviews
.24 km away
Hotel Macomber
247 reviews
.25 km away
Heritage Inn
651 reviews
.25 km away
The Queen's Hotel
13 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 154 nearby restaurants
Union Park Dining Room
1,091 reviews
.25 km away
Cape May Peanut Butter Co.
420 reviews
.34 km away
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
514 reviews
.27 km away
Freda's Cafe
443 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 108 nearby attractions
Cape May City Beaches
1,999 reviews
.40 km away
Cape May Carriage Company
373 reviews
.33 km away
Cape May Fire Department Museum
58 reviews
.31 km away
The Colonial House
18 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dcschilling
24 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Justin W | Reviewed this property |
The parking is free on the street. I stayed there in December when there was plenty of parking. It will all change when the town is in season. In the summer months, it can get really busy in Cape May. Remember to eat at... More
1
Vote
summerocean4
12 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chalfonte | Property representative |
Hello, The Chalfonte Hotel has no control over what is published. I don't believe any businesses have control over what is published as this would defeat the entire purpose of TripAdvisor and guest feedback.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Depends if you want to share a bath or not and are cost conscious"
R4960NKjustinw
7 Sep 2018
Read review
"Find out the size, and ask the staff to tell you plumbing quirks when you arrive."
lindabF3532WY
5 Jul 2018
Read review
"Only had breakfast here"
JamesP338
24 Jun 2018
Read review
"If you want a peaceful sleep do not go here"
susancF275ZL
12 Jun 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing