We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Chalfonte

    301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (27)
    Room & Suite (17)
    Dining (1)
    Overview
    • Excellent36%
    • Very good28%
    • Average12%
    • Poor11%
    • Terrible13%
    Travellers talk about
    “magnolia room” (19 reviews)
    “fried chicken” (15 reviews)
    “king edward” (10 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Air Conditioning
    Beachfront
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Free Parking
    Pool
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Chalfonte
    Deals (0)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
        Capri Motor Lodge
        301 reviews
        #14 of 37 hotels in Cape May
         
        The Grand Hotel
        1,316 reviews
        #13 of 37 hotels in Cape May
         
        Victorian Motel
        627 reviews
        #2 of 37 hotels in Cape May
         
        Camelot Motel
        330 reviews
        #9 of 37 hotels in Cape May
         
        Write a Review
        Turn Your Opinions into Points!
        Turn your opinions into JPMiles
        Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
        *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
        JPMiles / Payback Arrow
        JPMiles / Payback Arrow
        50
        Reviews (195)
        Traveller rating
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        Language

        1 - 5 of 194 reviews

        Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

        I had the pleasure of staying at the Chalfonte Inn for two nights. The staff was extremely professional, warm, and helpful. My Queen Room with a bathroom was a perfect size with two chairs and a very comfortable bed. There was no TV in the...More

        Thank Diva4Real423
        Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 3 days ago

        Hi Diva4Real, Thank you for your kind words & we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Chalfonte and Cape May. We will share your positive review with our staff! We hope you will join us as a guest again!

        Reviewed 1 week ago

        My favorite part of a long weekend at the Chalfonte was rocking on the front porch with a friend, sipping wine and listening to the evening's porch concert. It really feels like you must be living in another century!

        Thank RK9262017
        Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 6 days ago

        Hi Rk! Thank you for your review & your positive feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at The Chalfonte & we hope that you will return again as a guest! Thank you for visiting!

        Reviewed 2 weeks ago

        The hotel is so peaceful and charming.The beds were so comfy!We felt like we were staying at our own seashore home!I love the homestyle decor also.We enjoyed the buffet greatly......Everything was totally delicious! We stayed three days last week and have booked another three days...More

        1  Thank karen m
        Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 2 weeks ago

        Hi Karen! We are so glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and that you are coming to stay at The Chalfonte again! Thank you for sharing your kind words & positive feedback. We will share your feedback with our staff. The hotel is...More

        Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

        We arrived early at The Chalfonte to enjoy a drink and sit on the beautiful wrap around porch filled with plenty of rocking chairs. It was fun to walk around the property seeing the different rooms including the unique bathrooms. So quaint, and charming. We...More

        2  Thank CountyCork4
        Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 2 weeks ago

        Hi CountyCork! Thank you so much for sharing your kind words & positive feedback about The Magnolia Room! We will be sure to share your review with our kitchen & dining room staff. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience and hope you will dine...More

        Reviewed 18 July 2017

        unfortunately we couldn't get away this weekend due to family illness. It's a no refund policy when we booked and paid 1 night in advance. Obviously we would get charged the 2nd night also. The receptionist stated we will refund your money if we rebook...More

        Thank Michele J
        Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 4 weeks ago

        Hi Michele, At the time of booking, 50% of the total room stay is due. The cancellation policy states that we must resell the room in order to refund your deposit if it is within the two weeks. Your cancellation request happened the day before...More

        Capri Motor Lodge
        301 reviews
        #14 of 37 hotels in Cape May
         
        The Grand Hotel
        1,316 reviews
        #13 of 37 hotels in Cape May
         
        Victorian Motel
        627 reviews
        #2 of 37 hotels in Cape May
         
        Camelot Motel
        330 reviews
        #9 of 37 hotels in Cape May
         
        About
        Amenities
        • Top amenities
        • Restaurant
        • Beachfront
        • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
        • Room amenities
        • Air Conditioning
        • Things to do
        • Restaurant
        Details
        • Price range
        • US$ 119 - US$ 347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
        • Hotel class
        • Hotel Style
        • #16 Family Hotel in Cape May
        • #17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
        • Room types
        • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
        • Suites
        • Number of rooms
        • 70
        • Reservation Options
        • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Chalfonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
        • Location
        • United States >
        • New Jersey >
        • Jersey Shore >
        • Cape May County >
        • Cape May
        • Also Known As
        • The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May ,
        • Chalfonte Cape May ,
        • Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
        Add Photo Photos
        Traveller (27)
        Room & Suite (17)
        Dining (1)
        Pool & Beach (1)
        Hotel & Grounds (25)
        Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
        Nearby
        Capri Motor Lodge
        301 reviews
        .61 km away
         
        Victorian Motel
        627 reviews
        .63 km away
         
        The Grand Hotel
        1,316 reviews
        .85 km away
         
        Camelot Motel
        330 reviews
        .23 km away
         
        Nearby Restaurants
        The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
        448 reviews
        .26 km away
        Union Park Dining Room
        796 reviews
        .29 km away
        Washington Inn
        933 reviews
        .34 km away
        Cape May Peanut Butter Co.
        348 reviews
        .35 km away
        Nearby Attractions
        Cape May City Beaches
        1,732 reviews
        .50 km away
        Cape May Carriage Company
        316 reviews
        .33 km away
        Cape May Fire Department Museum
        44 reviews
        .30 km away
        The Colonial House
        17 reviews
        .25 km away
        Ask a question
        Questions & Answers
        summerocean4
        12 August 2017|
        AnswerShow all 2 answers
        Response from Chalfonte | Property representative |
        Hello, The Chalfonte Hotel has no control over what is published. I don't believe any businesses have control over what is published as this would defeat the entire purpose of TripAdvisor and guest feedback.
        0
        Votes
        Room Tips
        "Our corner room was bright and breezy."
        Read review
        "Ask for the front rooms of the annex. Or ask for #1 in the Howard St. cottage."
        Read review
        "Some rooms have their own bathrooms, some of have community bathroom"
        Read review
        "Rooms each have good views. Backside rooms have ok view of staff quarters and drive."
        Read review
        Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
        Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing