We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Mer Beachfront Inn

Booking.comUS$ 176*
View Deal
#15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Mer Beachfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 641: English reviews
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 September 2014

This was exactly what I wanted. My husband was in a bad car accident some months ago and is not 100% yet. We knew that walking on the beach was a no no. Because of this, I wanted a room that was oceanfront so we could sit out and take in the ocean and just people watch. We rented one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toya K
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

WOW! We truly, unequivocally love your review. We are thrilled to read that our Inn was exactly what you wanted. We are so happy you relished our newly decorated penthouses — we definitely pulled out all the stops for discerning travelers such as yourself. We hope your husband is on the mend and are thrilled to see you wish to...

Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights the weekend after Labor Day weekend. Love beach service they offered, liked the pool area and gym, both very clean. They have covered parking lot, so when it's 85 degree outside our car was still cool. We paid $279 before taxes. Have limited (almost no) view of ocean. Did not care about the view...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Abby60763
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the kind review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We will be sure to share your insights in regards to the mattress with the owner, as well. Again, thank you for the amazing review and we hope you come back and visit us soon!

Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The staff is very helpful and friendly. Lynn is the nicest person in the world. If you need anything she will find it. There was something a family member needed and Lynn found an extra one in the hotel and had it brought up to our room. She is amazing. Hannah is great. She is very friendly. She knows everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sami311226
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

We couldn't agree with you more...Lynne is the nicest person in the world and we are so fortunate to have her on our team for so many years. We are so happy you find our staff and accommodations so welcoming and we hope to see you again soon! Again, thank you so very much for the glowing 5-star review.

New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We were hesitant to spend so much a night, but it was worth it! Our room was clean and ready when we needed it. This hotel offers a lot of amenities...Including complimentary towels, chairs and umbrellas on beach. Downside...It is far from center of town, but has trolley service. Staff is very friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edith D
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the kind and generous review! We are thrilled you found our Inn accommodating and comfortable. We are pleased you enjoyed our beach services, too. Again, thank you so much for the amazing review. We hope to see you again soon.

Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I wanted a romantic getaway so I went online and started reading reviews and decided to go to Le Mer. From the moment we arrived the staff were amazing. Kathy took care of the reservation on the phone and when we got there she helped us check in and gave us advice on where to go and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rubigirl13
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the stellar review! We are so happy to read you had a fantastic time during your recent stay at our Inn. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and how our Inn is nestled on the quieter end of town. And yes, our beach service is indeed the best! We can't wait...

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We made last minute plans to spend a week in Cape May and were lucky to find anything available. We had always stayed in great B&B's in the past and wondered what to expect from the hotels there. La Mer is pricey in August (around $500 a night) but obviously the market there can support this price. La Mer is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan R
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the amazing 4-star review! We are over the moon you decided to switch things up and try our Inn after staying a charming bed and breakfasts in the past. We are elated to read you found our Inn accommodating, clean and well appointed. We are always so happy to hear our front desk is...

Woodbridge, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had another great stay @ La Mer Beachfront Inn, Cape May. As always, the room was great (room #325) Hotel staff friendly and accommodating. Pool and Beach Service was wonderful. Breakfast from the PIer House, as always, was great. Can't say enough about this hotel. We love staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank berri1963
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Hooray for another great stay at La Mer! We love it when our repeat customers consistently find our rooms as comfortable. We are elated you found our pool and beach service on point, too. And we couldn't agree more -- The Pier House sure does serve up yummy eats. Again, thank you so very much for the glowing 5-star review...

Mercerville, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have stayed at La Mer Hotel going on over 15 years now. We chose La Mer because it is kind of off the Main Stream of hotels. Through out our stays there, we have stayed in several types of rooms. The last 2 years we stayed at the penthouse across from Bill's Pancake House. I have to say that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank richwp
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind and generous review! We strive hard to meet your needs and it's always fulfilling to read feedback such as yours. Thanks again for your insights and we are so happy to hear you plan on staying with us once again in the future.

Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel has a great location; the beach is right across the street. The room was very average. It was clean and spacious, but outdated. The air conditioning was so loud that it kept me out of my sleep all night. I know this is high season, but this hotel is very overpriced! We will not be staying here again,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Seagull48
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with Trip Advisor. While you were disappointed with certain aspects, we will be sure to share your insights with the owner so we can learn and grow going forward. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope you have a lovely fall!

Clifford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I thought the La Mer Inn was beautiful. I ahd asked for a room on the upper floors thanks to Trip Advisor advice and we had a room on the third floor. The room was very large, ocean front King with a frige and microwave. We also had a coffee maker, coffee service and regular dishes(service for four).No wine glasses,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bashi48
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the glowing, four-star review! We are thrilled you chose to stay with us during your special mother-daughter getaway. We realize you have many choices when visiting Cape May and are over-the-moon you picked the La Mer. We are so happy your enjoyed your room and amenities and our beach service. We hope to see...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,231 reviews
0.9 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
641 reviews
2.0 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,124 reviews
5.2 km away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,076 reviews
1.8 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: ₹ 10,410 - ₹ 24,813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Mer Beachfront Inn staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Branford
24 days ago
Pennington, New Jersey
11 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from La Mer Beachfront Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely get a room with a full ocean view. If you're going to the shore, you may as well do it right!”
 of 5 bubbles debster_c_55, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask not to be placed near construction”
 of 5 bubbles BarbC326, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“To save money we did not have an ocean view but during the winter it wasn't needed. Every room is beautiful with a small kithenette.”
 of 5 bubbles pamc1234, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view with balcony was great”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a room with a side beach view. It was less expensive than a full beach view, but still a good view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles awonderland2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 176* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 175
HotelQuicklyUS$ 196
Expedia.comUS$ 175
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates