We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Carroll Villa Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Carroll Villa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carroll Villa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,113: English reviews
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Unprofessional, cracked window in the room, dirty floors, the room had two windows each showed a view of a roof covered with solar panels and AC units, staff leaves the premises at night, room had open space that surrounded the door entry allowing light from the hallway and interfering with privacy. The bedding was dirty and old. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Lorar46354
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

The Carroll Villa is an award winning, beautiful, well maintained, National Landmark Hotel built one hundred and thirty one years ago. The majority of our guest enjoy themselves very much while staying with us according to the feedback. However, the Victorian era bed and breakfast experience is not for everyone and perhaps that includes you. May you find happiness in...

Reviewed 15 June 2013

I enjoyed two very nice breakfasts and one dinner at the Madbatter restaurant. My room and the service throughout my stay were very comfortable for a solo traveler. I would stay at the Carroll Villa another time, hopefully for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EkBudic
Rangers1, Front desk clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad to know that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and that you found your room to your likely. We look forward to your return. Thank you from the Staff at the CV and MB.

Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were given this stay as a gift and it was fabulous. The only bad thing was the weather, it rained the entire time we were there....but we made the best of it. The room was cozy and the food was fabulous.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank manny196
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Its raining again tonight but we have some good music in the restaurant and we carry on. Glad you had a fabulous time. Hope you return again soon some sunny day.

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Bobby and Sue Dietz It has become our tradition also to start the summer at Carroll Villa. We love the rooms & food is excellent. Mark & Kathi and staff as always are happy and helpful, we love sitting on the porch people watching and having a great meal. Best breakfast in town!!!! We love Jaskon Street, close to everything.....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yukon03
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

It is so great to know that people really appreciate this lovely old hotel and really enjoy the restaurant and compliment our wonderful staff. Thank you for letting us know.

Bethel, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Great location in Cape May ......clean, friendly & helpful, & staff are go to guys. close to shopping, restaurants, & beach. great happy hour & excellent restaurant ( $15 voucher each for breakfast [ which you don't want to miss ] ) However, no on site parking & free permit parking is 10 minutes away. Don't go if you're adverse...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ROGER D
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

We are most pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter. Sorry about the parking situation in this old town. Our parking permits do come in handy. Thank you for your review. The Staff at the Front Desk

Vienna, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It has become our tradition to start the summer at the Carroll Villa. We love the mixture of antiques, art, and comfort when it comes to design and furnishings. While the weather this weekend was a bit chilly, the hotel and restaurant staff were happy and helpful. As always, meals on the porch were beautiful and tasty-we love to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christie9029
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. You really appreciate what the Carroll Villa has to offer. Have a great summer. Jill

Mays Landing, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The travelzoo deal included a lot which made it so worth it-right next door to the virginia hotel---best dinner we've had in a while! Wine tasting was great @ Hawk Haven and brunch @ the Mad Batter was fantastic!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kay27bee
Rangers1, Front Desk clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Nice to know that you enjoyed your Travel Zoo stay at the Carroll Villa. Hope you can do it again sometime. Have a great summer. Jill

Reviewed 29 May 2013

There are many inns in this neighborhood. Some are more refined and a bit more updated but the Caroll Villa is a pleasant stay with clean rooms and a convenient restaurant on the ground floor. Don't bring more luggage than you can haul up two or three narrow flights of stairs and be ready to hike a half mile to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our restaurant. Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again. Jill and Kathi

Philadelphia, pa
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We love, love love the Carroll Villa. This is our second time and everything was perfect. The accommodations were great, and as always the food is really good. We had breakfast both days and appreciate the generous $30.00 they include with our room for either breakfast or lunch both days. Everyone who works there is friendly and helpful. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilly614
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review

From all the staff at the CV and the MB we thank you for your lovely review and are happy you had a great time here. See you next year.

New Jersey
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is more of a B & B. I attended a watercolor workshop there for 4 days and the owners were so accommodating. My room was a nice size, it was cool so I opened the windows for the spring air. Located right on Jackson street where you can walk right out and be close to all the shops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank artyalex

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,069 reviews
0.0 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
521 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 37 in Cape May
642 reviews
0.9 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
636 reviews
0.1 km away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: ₹ 11,533 - ₹ 27,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carroll Villa Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
North Bergen, New Jersey
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Carroll Villa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On the top of the 3rd floor, room #16. Be prepared to climb stairs, but OK for me.”
 of 5 bubbles Nellie001, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There's no elevator, so if you have an issue with stairs, be sure to request a room on the first or second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ulbud, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a queen size bed. Our full-size was too "cozy".”
 of 5 bubbles Q9989STjimm, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are no elevators, so you need to able to climb stairs for at least most of the rooms. Not sure if there are first floor at all.”
 of 5 bubbles karenkF1306ND, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“restaurants in all price ranges within walking distance”
 of 5 bubbles eschenes, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay