We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Courtyard Portsmouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 246: English reviews
Goshen, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you plan on going to see the sights in and around Portsmouth, NH, especially Market Square, this is a nice hotel to stay in. It's clean, friendly, but not that quiet, it's right off the highway. I was a bit disjointed that they charge ten dollars for a breakfast that most places include but what the heck.There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pretty standard. I'm a frequent traveler but not a Courtyard guy, the arrangements were made for me. That won't happen again. Nothing unusual about the place, pretty stsndard i guess. But they need to figure out what continental breakfast is. Because they are charging $10 for what other hotels give away. And when i brought in a cup of coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bro Tim M
CY_Portsmouth_NH, General Manager at Courtyard Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit. Your input is truly valuable as our guest's feedback is our greatest tool that we use to enhance our performance and ensure that we are improving and exceeding our guest's expectations. We strive to provide the best product and top notch service to all of...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I travel and stay in hotels a lot. I almost exclusively stay at Marriott Hotels. When I did a search for a hotel in Portsmouth the first line under this hotels search was "The newly renovated Courtyard Portsmouth". I think this set the stage for my disappointment. Pros: The Lobby was beautiful and hallways were beautiful. The lady that checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
CY_Portsmouth_NH, General Manager at Courtyard Portsmouth, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. We strive daily to ensure that all of our guests are receiving the best product and top notch service, and I apologize that we failed to do so during your stay. However, in regards to your comments of our property needing a renovation, I am happy to inform you...

Scarborough, Maine
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We had a great night.....but what made this hotel over the top was the staff! I called when I discovered that I had left my watch behind. He assured me he would immediately go up and get it. When we got back to our car I searched my bag knowing that it wasn't there, but it was. We called and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luveuropeantravel
Albuquerque
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This location is OK. It if right off the highway but a good distance away from any amenities. You will need a vehicle to get to any comforts (food, store, pharmacy, site seeing) if you stay here. The rooms are clean and spacious. They seem to be lacking enough staff. They have a real good lunch and breakfast buffet for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmsmithtravels
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Stayed at this property for the first time. I selected this property to take a weekend to the New Hampshire Maine area. While it wasn't in downtown Portsmouth, it was a very short drive about five minutes to the downtown . Downtown Portsmith is filled with restaurants bars and shopping. The property is in a secluded area just off of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
Vermont
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Had a two night getaway in Portsmouth and we stayed here. Comfortable room, but the layout was a little weird, the refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker were adjacent to the toilet. The pool & Spa were excellent & very clean with liberal access hours. The location is in a small office park but there is a great place to walk, across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BellWildFire
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The price for a 3-4 day trip was bad but I prefer to stay here. The buffet breakfast was great and it had a waffle maker which is a bonus. Unfortunately the weather wasn't good so portsmouth was a short trip. We did use the Suttle and the driver recommended to eat the friendly toast. That place was good. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I'm staying in this Courtyard between 10-15 nights per year and it has everything you need from a decent business hotel. Gym is well equipped, breakfast is good and the rooms have a fair size. Can be a little bit cold in the winter but heater is also working okay, just a little noisy. Definitely a good hote when in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Long Island
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This is a very convenient location for a hotel no questions asked. It's a two minute drive from downtown Portsmouth. Other than the location there really is no other redeeming qualities about this hotel. It's definitely a dated hotel. The beds and decor in the rooms are old and noticeable. The handle on my shower literally fell off and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
CY_Portsmouth_NH, General Manager at Courtyard Portsmouth, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. We strive daily to ensure that all of our guests are receiving the best product and top notch service, and I apologize that the condition of our property was not up to your expectations during your recent stay. However, in regards to your comments of needing a renovation, I...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
0.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recommended hotel in historic Portsmouth, New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Portsmouth

Address: 1000 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3358
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: ₹ 6,412 - ₹ 20,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott
Portsmouth Courtyard
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Springfield, Massachusetts
Saugus, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“have transportation to get around”
 of 5 bubbles mmsmithtravels, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure that there is a best room.”
 of 5 bubbles kallimgmt, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“they have a renovated wing”
 of 5 bubbles pauldO1113YV, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The back side away from I-95 may be better”
 of 5 bubbles CarlC616, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Freeway plays into some of the front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 710BillL710, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay