We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection

Save
Share
505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Traveluro
Ascend
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (202)
Room & Suite (168)
Pool & Beach (30)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection
Updated 02/06/20

About

#2 of 18 in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1185Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 758
  • 312
  • 82
  • 24
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Birdmarg wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlottetown, Canada168 contributions106 helpful votes
A wonderful place to stop for an overnight to break up a long broad trip. The room was clean and very accessible. The free breakfast was lovely - plenty of options for all tastes. The only suggestion we have is to use less scented air freshener in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paul wrote a review Nov 2021
Smithfield, Rhode Island3 contributions9 helpful votes
If you judge the Port Inn as a Motel, it gets a solid 3-3.5 stars. It's clean and the rooms are spacious. With that said, we were initially placed in a room that smelled badly of smoke. The front desk staff was happy to move us to another room without a smoke smell, but this room did smell musty. The breakfast assortment was solid but it was not properly set up during our visit - no juice, waffle batter and luke warm coffee. Port Inn is a decent choice for $100 or less all-in. Anything more than that and you are paying too much.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Dreamer790092 wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
We arrived at 3 and were greeted by a friendly front desk agent who may have been the GM. She appeared to be training someone. Both were pleasant and attentive. We were given directions to our room and off we went. Room had a king bed, 2 tvs, a small kitchenette with a fridge, hot plate, sink and an odd assortment of dishes and utensils, and a table with 2 chairs. The room also had a couch and an armchair. Bathroom had 2 sinks and a tub/shower combo. It was comfy. Close to Beaches and several restaurants. Can't wait to come back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Julie F wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
I’ve never had to leave a hotel once I’ve checked in, until today. This hotel looks quaint and charming but it is FAR from it. I know lots of places are short staffed but you have to clean your establishments!!! Our room was completely filthy from old food sitting inside the cupboards, pubic hair on floor of bathroom, stains on the bedding and mattresses that should have been upgraded. To seal the deal, the front desk didn’t even ask me why I was leaving, just said ok and they wouldn’t charge me. This is the only reason this hotel is getting another star from me
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Pay the extra and go to downtown for your stay
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Port Inn, General Manager at Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 20 Oct 2021
Dear Julie, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. We can’t fix the past but you have my personal commitment to improve the way our staff serves every customer. Until then, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of everyone on the team. We hope you are able to give us a second chance, if so please call our team at 603.436.4378 so we can ensure your next stay is exceptional. Thank you
Read more
Douglas T wrote a review Aug 2021
Vergennes, Vermont25 contributions43 helpful votes
Highway construction all night long outside our door. No staff on site until 8 am. Fire alarm next door went off around 7 am. No one to make it stop. Breakfast was next to non-existent. Rooms dumpy. All around horrible. No manager to speak to and desk attendant does not speak English well. Going to fight this one on my credit card. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
860jessicavds wrote a review Aug 2021
Killingly, Connecticut22 contributions24 helpful votes
We had to make a last minute decision to find pet friendly accommodations on a drive from New Hampshire back to our home state. The Port Inn and Suites Portsmouth had availability and so we booked the stay. On our drive over to the "Inn", I began to read reviews on Trip Advisor and realized I made a rookie mistake by not doing this before booking. Several reviews referenced the property mislabeled as an "Inn" (it is a motel), the lack of cleanliness and one review noted that upon check in, there was a man inside the room, laying in one of the beds. I laughed at the last one and then when it practically happened to us (had we been 5 minutes earlier), I wasn't laughing anymore. As we had no other choice for accommodation in the area, we checked in for our 2 night stay. The employee at the front desk was very friendly, and gave us our room card. I had my family wait outside while I went into the room, as I wanted to make sure it was clean before we started moving any luggage in. Immediately upon opening the door, I was hit with a strong coconut oil smell. It was very overpowering. I walked through the living space and into the bathroom, where I found hair on the floor and a cracked bathtub. The tub also appeared dingy, but that could simply be due to age. When I came back into the living space, that is when I realized the beds. One was made perfectly. One had clearly been slept in. Recently. There was a body imprint in the mattress. I immediately called the Front Desk. I will say that the employee didn't even seemed surprised when I told her that someone had CLEARLY recently been in our room. She seemed resigned to this fact and said she would bring out new room cards for us and reassign us to another room. It was at this point we decided we would not be staying two nights. As it was getting late and we have 2 younger children, we decided to see what the new room would look like and then stay the night before making the 2+ hour drive home. The employee came out with the new room cards and asked us to wait in the parking lot while she checked the room out. She was gone for 15 minutes - one can only assume she was ensuring no one had been using the room minutes before our arrival. When she came out, she said it looked fine and we entered the room. The beds were made, thankfully, and the bathroom did not have hair on the floor, and the tub appeared to be relatively clean. Unfortunately, the damage was done for us. The more time lapsed, the more freaked out we became about cleanliness and security. Who else would have room cards for our room? With the pandemic continuing all around us, what are the cleaning procedures? Knowing we would most likely take the loss of the one night stay, we made the decision to just drive home. Please do yourself a favor and do your research before staying here. The pictures, I will agree, are misleading. The facility is located between 2 car dealerships on a very busy road, and for some, this will be fine. I will say that the pool area was very clean. However, the cleanliness of the rooms and whatever practice is in place by not ensuring random people aren't using rooms of guests isn't acceptable. For the price the "Inn" is demanding, it just isn't worth the risk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Christine S wrote a review Aug 2021
Hartford, United States37 contributions15 helpful votes
The inn does not match the photos : The rooms are run down and not as pretty as the photos. the bathroom window was left open so we had bugs in the room. the tub had cracks,stains,used products. garbage was left outside on the second floor rooms for over 24 hours. The staff on check in were friendly. the photos give the impression that the inn is a nice county setting. it is right off he highway across from car dealers. We did sleep well which was a saving grace. the inn was 5 minutes from downtown. I wouldn’t return to this location. the price was higher then the inn deserves. need to spend money to clean up rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
mogermain wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
I was guided to book a room here by positive TripAdvisor reviews; however, it was not worth the price. Clean-ish room, but dusty in the bathroom. Slow drain. Sloppily patched crack in the shower. Doors to the bathroom would not shut without slamming. Yes, this is a family motel, but I’ve stayed in many less-expensive, better rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Misquote wrote a review Jun 2021
Exton, Pennsylvania4 contributions1 helpful vote
What a lovely dog friendly hotel! While it wasn’t the fanciest (baked goods are pre-packaged, likely due to COVID), everything was clean, eco-conscious, and incredibly thoughtful about how to make the experience a pleasure for our furry friends who might need a little extra care. Beds were comfortable, bathroom amenities smelled good. We didn’t have the chance to explore the neighborhood, so I can’t speak to how walkable it is for cafes and such, but my dog was plenty happy to wander and sniff. Lots of dog friendly places near by. We’d d gladly stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Great for dogs!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Mark B wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
Staff was friendly but the motel (it is a motel....not a hotel) was run down, not particularly clean, cramped room and not walking distance to town. People were barbequing in the parking lot outside their rooms. Not classy. There are many better hotels right in the center of Portsmouth for same price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the port hotel portsmouth, port hotel portsmouth
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Port Inn Portsmouth
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Nearby attractions include Portsmouth Escape Room (0.9 km), Rumble Tumble (0.7 km), and New Hampshire Theatre Project (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Street, The Roundabout Diner & Lounge, and Botanica Restaurant and Gin Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Strawbery Banke Museum (2.2 km), Moffatt-Ladd House & Garden (2.0 km), and John Paul Jones House, part of the Portsmouth Historical Society (1.6 km).
Is Port Inn And Suites Portsmouth, Ascend Hotel Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.