We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Traveluro
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (291)
Room & Suite (74)
Dining (49)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 09/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Updated 09/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 18 in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Immerse yourself in New Hampshire's Seacoast region at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel. Our hotel is located in the heart of downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire placing you near many of the area's prominent destinations, including Jenness State Beach, the University of New Hampshire, the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard and Prescott Park. At the end of your day, retreat and relax in our spacious hotel rooms and suites with complimentary Wi-Fi, plush bedding, mini-refrigerators and work desks. Expect an exceptional stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Turkish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1551Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 766
  • 433
  • 224
  • 77
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Joseph D wrote a review 9 May
Malden, Massachusetts2 contributions
I had booked a night March 25th for a one night stay using the Marriott website even using points to upgrade room. When arriving the room was not as pictured and the whole floor was a mess with white plaster handmarks on doors and all over carpets the housekeeping helped with footrest as that is one reason I booked room but the room was ok but the hall and walls and doors were a mess and dusty as stated by other reviewers .There were comments about any construction going on on the website.I am a Titanium Member I recieved 1000 pts upon arrival .I ended up leaving after 3 hours because of the conditions. I later learned that because I left early I was being penalized I received no Elite night credit and they took my 1000pts away but did not give back my 35.000 Bonvoy Points I used .I called and spoke to CJ Shaw(GM) he gave me a 1000 point credit in my account but my Elite night never showed up .after follow up with Mr Shaw he said he could not credit me Elite night because I left early.It was not my fault their Marriott was substandard to my Standards. My opinion was that Mr Shaw was rude and did not want to listen to me why I left VERY UNPROFESSIONAL . To me he passed the buck blaming Marriott Corporation for his hotels substandard Conditions Joseph Daly
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Call Hotel Before going so you will not be surprised with Construction Mess
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from CJ Shaw, General Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Mr. Daly, I understand that we spoke recently regarding your experience and your concerns with the Elite Night credit. Knowing that we issued the "points manually" to ensure that you had these as a gesture, we then discussed your "Elite Night" credit which was discussed as getting credit towards your number of nights stayed towards your Elite status, which you did not as you checkout out without staying and without penalty nor early departure fee. Your post specifies 35,000 points that were never discussed and you should not have been penalized for not staying, but rather not receive credit towards the number of nights stayed for your Elite Night Status. Marriott corporate was suggested when this was requested to be escalated, however, I am more than happy to make myself available and resolve any further Bonvoy point concern that may still be lingering. Thank you for your time as I look forward to seeing this though and regaining your confidence. With Hospitality, CJ Shaw General Manager
Read more
Mark D wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions
+1
I recently had a very negative experience at the Portsmouth Sheraton, and I wanted to make sure to share this, so others going in this time period are aware. I will say the staff was friendly as usually, but the hotel itself was not up to par, in any way. We checked in on Friday afternoon, and were unaware that construction was going to be going on. There was no communication during booking or checking in. Upon getting to our floor you were immediately hit with a wall of dust. Dust everywhere, drywall chunks in the hallway, and a smell that reminded us each time we opened the door, that we were in a construction zone. When we entered the room, for our ‘Harbor’ view, I did chuckle a bit since the room was newly remodeled, yet both windows in the room had broken seals, so the Harbor might have been there, but you could not see out the window, due to the broken seals of the window. At that point I decided to have a drink, and went to fill the ice bucket, and wouldn’t you know that the ice machine on the 3rd floor was out of order, so I then had to go locate one on the 2nd floor. This was all in the first hour of our stay, and we almost considered moving to another hotel. We however, opted to stay and meet our friends for dinner. The next day we then found out that the standard housekeeping services were by request only, as was shampoo. Honestly I don’t recall ever having a negative experience at a Sheraton property, but this one may have been one of the worst hotel stays I have ever had. Just so this does not come off as an exaggeration, I have included some pics of the experience. I just wish the Sheraton would have communicated the situation better, so I wouldn’t have been left with this extremely sour experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from CJ Shaw, General Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Responded 13 Apr 2022
MarkD6856, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent visit. I understand that we failed to achieve our goal and meet your, and our, expectations. Our renovation of all our guestrooms is near completion; we are in the final weeks in our last section, however I recognize how this has impacted your visit. Should you like to further discuss your experience, please reach back out to me directly as I would enjoy the opportunity to regain your confidence. With Hospitality, CJ Shaw General Manager
Read more
LuigiNewJersey wrote a review Apr 2022
New Jersey60 contributions61 helpful votes
I had booked a room in early February for a stay in late March & received multiple confirmation messages. Then, around 2 weeks before my trip to Portsmouth, I received an Email canceling my reservation with no explanation. The mgmt offered to switch my reservation to another motel located more than a mile away, in the middle of nowhere off the interstate. I did not find that to be an acceptable alternative. Does the mgmt not know how many rooms are in their hotel? Or was I bumped in favor of higher-paying guests?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from CJ Shaw, General Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Responded 13 Apr 2022
LuigiNewJersey, Thank you for taking the time to express your experience in regards to your recent visit to Portsmouth. Feedback is always welcomed and I appreciate you informing me of such an unfortunate experience with us. I understand your frustrations as this does not reflect our normal operating performance and our guest should never suffer their expectations as a result. We strive to provide first class service and the best product possible to all of our guests and I apologize that we failed to do so. Should you like to further discuss your experience, please reach back out to me directly as I would enjoy the opportunity to regain your confidence. With Hospitality, CJ Shaw General Manager
Read more
BGhello wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Upon paying for a refundable room and adhering to the cancelation policy, this business is going against their agreement and have stolen hundreds of dollars for no service provided. The BBB has been notified and I'm appalled by this sketchy odreal!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CJ Shaw, General Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Hello BGhello, I understand that you have concerns with the cancellation policy regarding a recent reservation with us at here at The Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel. I would be more than happy to make myself available to look further in to your specific situation and resolve any warranted concerns. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at your convenience. Our goal is ensure that our patrons receive the excellent service and prompt resolutions that they deserve. I look forward to connecting with you and welcoming you to our property for future visits to this area. With Hospitality, CJ Shaw General Manager
Read more
bostonshovel wrote a review Jan 2022
North Reading, Massachusetts275 contributions80 helpful votes
We arrived about 15min early for Check-In and were first told we had no reservation and that we must have been a last minute booking from this morning which I explained we were not, although I had booked last minute being 2 days before hand. We went back and forth and finally they saw the booking + our upgrade to the Club. Again we were told that our room was not correct and that we would need to perform some "tetris" like maneuvers. When I asked what the problem was they stated that they had 0 Club Rooms with a King and Sleep Sofa which I found odd as I booked DIRECT and not with a 3rd party site. They were trying to move me to a double Queen. which i wanted nothing to do with. Finally a manager came out and explained to the lady that her chart was showing her the "blue" couches are pull outs. Whatever, it didn't matter to me as long as we had a King and Sleep Sofa with Club Access. Then I was told our room was not ready yet which I said OK we are 15minutes early so I understood. However I was then told it would be at least an hour and they would have to call me. Ok as long as the room was all set we walked the beautiful city of Portsmouth. Only to come back an hour later with 0 phone call at all, grabbed a drink at the lounge and then tried to check in at 430. Again I was told my room was not ready which at this time I pushed back a bit on. Not only was the room not ready the last time, I had to argue about room type, no phone call and then to be told still not ready I was kind of annoyed. I was once gain told no rooms with a kind and sleep sofa and I would need to be moved to a double queen. I pushed back again, again sold the same line about playing Tetris and while waiting explained to the man behind the counter that i went through all this already and the sheet they were looking at will show blue couches that are Sleep sofa's. Finally checked in. 5th floor newly renovated room which was nice. Horrible sleeping amenities though. The pillows provided 0 support at all. Speaking of, after walking the city so much and coming back to the room my daughter pulls out of sofa to find NOTHING no bottom sheet, no sheets, nothing in the closet nothing! Call down to the front desk. Explain 0 pillows, 0 sheets 0 blankets. Someone does come right up and drops off 2 pillows 1 stained bottom sheet 0 top sheet and a duvet. So i make the trip down to the desk at 11pm at night and explain what happened again. I finally get a full set of sheets and a blanket that could be used. Last complaint would be the Club room. I was expecting a bit more choice of drinks other than just seltzer water. no regular water, or soda or anything like that. However the apps were Ok and Breakfast was better than most. HUGE HAT OFF To our waitress and bar staff a the restaurant. I believe her name was Victoria and I forgot the gentleman's name behind the bar but i will tell you it was the BEST service we received for our stay. That includes our pricey dinner at the Library where the staff were horrible, slow and forgetful and all they wanted to do was upsell. Your staff at Two-Fifty Market were awesome!!! Also to our cleaning lady for 525. She was so sweet, excited to see us and although we turned down daily service checked multiple times to make sure we didn't need any amenities and/or towels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 5th floor construction
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
julrie34 wrote a review Dec 2021
Boston, Massachusetts15 contributions11 helpful votes
We had a terrible time at another hotel (see my review of the Wentworth) and booked at the Sheraton late Xmas night. Everyone at the hotel, from reservations, to the front desk, to the bartender, to the valet, was friendly and helpful and made our stay really fantastic! The hotel is undergoing a renovation and we did stay in a renovated room on the Club floor which was well designed and very comfortable. This is our new go to hotel in Portsmouth and we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kathleen S wrote a review Dec 2021
Madison, Connecticut14 contributions6 helpful votes
We just returned from a wonderful trip to New Hampshire and had the pleasure of staying at the Sheraton on the harbor. It may not be the ideal time to travel north with some “ iffy” weather but the hotel made up for it. Carissa helped us at check-in and couldn’t have been more cordial and helpful. She arranged dinner reservations, on a night that they were not easy to find! She’s a real asset to the hotel! The room was attractive and comfortable with every amenable possible. This would be the perfect hotel to spend some time in summer!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
J L wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here a few weekends ago and had a lovely time!! Thank you to the hard working staff!! These time are not easy on the hospitality industry but everyone at this location gave their all!! Well done everyone!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Joseph310 wrote a review Nov 2021
Kent, Connecticut282 contributions191 helpful votes
First, thanks to Craig who helped us find a room that would be appropriate for very light sleepers. Very gracious. This hotel has a good location and is midst dozens of boutique shops, restaurants, etc. The sea is nearby. The hotel pool is excellent and opens early. For us, a plus. The Club Lounge's breakfast was ok, the evening nibbles were a poor showing. Parking is expensive underneath the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
John wrote a review Oct 2021
Brunswick, Maine87 contributions31 helpful votes
Yes the hotel is being renovated and yes the last things to do is replace hallway carpeting. So even on our club room floor had the baseboard in the hallway removed. People… you aren’t sleeping in the hallway are you? The rooms are renovated and very nice. Bed is big and comfortable, and a huge TV. Everything was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Dined in the on-site restaurant for dinner and both haddock dishes were delicious and the wine pours were generous. Was there for a conference and the event staff was friendly as well and the food was good as well. The club room is right off the lobby and is a bright and airy place to grab snacks and breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$238 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton portsmouth, portsmouth sheraton
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
194
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Portsmouth Historical Society's Discover Portsmouth Welcome Center (0.5 km), Market Square (0.4 km), and The Music Hall (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Green Elephant, Ristorante Massimo, and 5 Thai Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Turkish.