We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakes of the Clouds Hut

Save
Traveller (27)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (2)
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“bunk rooms”(7 reviews)
“next morning”(3 reviews)
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (47)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
25
11
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
25
11
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk roomsserved family stylenext morningwhite mountainsrecommend ear plugsheadlampravinesummitmonroesinkshikesleepcogpeakselectricitycellsnorer
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I have stopped in other AMC huts over the years but this was the first overnight. It is such a cool experience!! First off, the croo is fabulous - helpful, fun, informative, entertaining. And, they hike food in and trash out. It is not cheap,...More

2  Thank Mws101
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

First spent the night here 20 years ago as a kid and hasn't changed much since then. The inside of the hut is probably the least updated of all the huts in the AMC huts of the White Mountains. The bunk rooms can be tight...More

Thank Andrew Q
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

I've been about a dozen times & so enjoy going around the 4th of July so I can see the fireworks in the towns below. My preferred hike is to park at the cog, now a $5 parking fee, hike up the Jewell Trail to...More

1  Thank JeepGirlVA
Reviewed 29 June 2017

At first sight the price looked a bit steep for a bunk bed in a 'hut', but it includes dinner and breakfast from a staff that many big hotels could learn the meaning of 'service' from. Then you learn that the crew carry all food...More

2  Thank BeardyGit
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Lakes is one of my favorite huts. Weather is always intense. It's exposed, and has beautiful views all around. An hour and a half hike from the summit of Washington, near the AT, and many other great trails. Good food, great crew and lots of...More

1  Thank Joshua M
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345610
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (27)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (2)
Room & Suite (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
explorationgagnon
9 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AMC L | Property representative |
Unfortunately we are not, but we re-open in June! Hope to see you then!
0
Votes
Holly-Cubb
1 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AMC L | Property representative |
Hi Holly-Cubb, thanks for the question! Yes, you did need to make a reservation for all our huts and lodges. We hope to see you soon!
0
Votes
Reid W
23 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Redclimber | Reviewed this property |
Yes and they have hot water and tea. They may also have it available throughout the day depending on the croo. Breakfast is no joke its great. We had oatmeal with fixings, then eggs bacon and sausage and coffee cake.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"I'm told that the 'dungeon' should be avoided, but that's only used when it's really full."
Read review
"Rooms were assigned, but inside the room, choose a middle bunk"
Read review
"Reserve early. Arrive as early as you can to choose your bunk. Top bunks have enough room for sitting up."
Read review
"Best views are from the main dining area"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing