We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wakeda Campgrounds

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton Falls
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wakeda Campgrounds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the campground was great, the showers were great , the trading post and lobby area were beautiful old buildings and the nature around us was stunning! there was a coffee shop if you were in a tent and a dog park for the furry friends!

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for this wonderful review!! We appreciate the great feedback and hope we'll see you next summer! More 

Kenton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Very beautiful campground, very friendly staff, lots of services, except cable TV. And it is almost impossible to get satellite signal, unless you can climb a 100' tall tree. Sites are very spacious. Very secluded so lots of privacy

Helpful?
Thank dlh817
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our staff and property! The topography of the campground does make getting a TV signal challenging, but we’re happy to hear you chose not to scale one of the trees! We hope you’ll visit us again next year! More 

Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Quiet, neat, clean, secure with terrific atmosphere. It's obvious the owners and management take pride in this campground. We've stayed here twice over the summer and is one of the cleanest places we've been to. So well maintained with a courteous staff always willing to help. Trading post with Wi-Fi, basic necessities, coffee, ice cream, activity pavilion with weekend entertainment.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim F
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Jim, Pretty sure we couldn’t have asked for a better review – thank you!! We really appreciate you taking the time to share this and hope we’ll see you again next year! More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Love this campground. The sites are spacious and clean, staff is friendly, smell of pine is wonderful. Campground is clean and they give you large trash bags when you check in. It is only a few miles off 95 and close access to Hampton Beach, as well as Massachusetts and Maine. We have been to all 3 visiting while here... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim W
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to extend your stay! It sounds like you did a great job taking advantage of everything this area has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This is still a very good campground but my review last year said it was the best I had ever visited. This year it was still good but the showers / ladies room were not as clean or well maintained (hair in the showers. rusty fixtures, no towels in LR)and the staff at the desk could have been a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank eventgallb
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Eventgallb, We’re sorry to hear that your experience didn’t live up to last year’s. As we discussed over the phone on Monday, sometimes multiple guests arriving at different times on multiple sites can be confusing and it is our job to make sure that everyone in the campground is fully accounted for. We are sorry that you and your... More 

New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The camp sites were a little tight but nice. The campground was very clean. Traveled with 2 other campers. The pancake breakfast is very nice. The campground is close to a lot of attractions in the area. I will return again.

Helpful?
Thank sandy B
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Sandy B., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate the positive feedback and hope you'll camp with us again soon! We do encourage our campers to make note of sites you really like so you can request them the next time you make reservations - would be a great way to get... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I live in Hampton and camp here! We keep out travel trailer in storage there and they provide drop off/on service when we make a reservation. My extended family love it here as well and there are no day fees. The kids love the paved roads for bikes and scooters. Very safe and very clean. Hoping to being a seasonal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larry D
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Larry D, Thank you very much for taking the time to share this great feedback! We love that our campers come from near and far and are thrilled that your entire family enjoys Wakeda! We’ll have a better idea of available seasonal sites for 2017 soon, so stay tuned! :-) Thanks again! More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Husband and I wanted to enjoy Hampton Beach at a waaayyy lower cost than the hotels. And it was only a 15 min drive to Hampton. Traffic wasn't as bad as I thought on the 4th of July. Wakeda was $45 a night for a full hook up site (we have a pop up). Very clean campground, clean facilities, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank teena47
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear teena47, We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are thrilled to hear you’ll be back! We do take a great deal of pride in our property and our staff and it’s great to hear that it’s being noticed! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This is a large campground with lots of seasonal sites, located between Exeter and Hampton Falls, NH. The campground is generally clean with nice restrooms, laundry and shower facilities. There is a Trading Post with snacks, supplies and a WiFi hotspot, WiFi not available elsewhere. Most of the campground has lots of trees, including nice tall pines, so don’t count... More 

Helpful?
Thank specialklc
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Specialklc, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We hope you enjoyed your time at Wakeda and that you’ll stay with us again the next time you are in the area! More 

Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I was a little concerned when we arrived and their sign says "camping beneath the pines". Well founded concerns, everyone knows that pine trees are the worst thing in the world for your vehicles. They are dirty, you will be cleaning sap for weeks and they are dirty! 95% of the grounds are seasonal campers with all the trimmings that... More 

Helpful?
Thank twoRealAmericans
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Redhawk23XM, We’re disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us! Wakeda’s woods are a huge draw for most of our campers, but we understand that experience is not for everyone! Our campground is actually exactly 50% seasonal, but if you were staying on a full hook-up site you may not have explored some of the other areas... More 

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Falls
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
4.8 km away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
194 reviews
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
5.6 km away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
17.6 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wakeda is a beautiful family friendly campground nestled in the pines, just 8 miles from Hampton Beach, NH. Wakeda offers a wide variety of camping options including cabins, rustic tent sites, pull throughs and 2-way or full hook-up trailer sites. With almost 400 sites to choose from, we're certain you'll find the perfect spot! Wakeda features clean and modern restrooms with flush toilets and hot showers, a playground, miniature golf course, game room, camp store and a dog park. All our campsites include a picnic table and fireplace. Close to the beach and 20 minutes from Historic Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlets, and beautiful Newburyport, MA, as well as just an hour north of Boston, Wakeda is the perfect vacation home base! Let three generations of the Savage Family make Wakeda your new favorite summer vacation spot! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wakeda Campgrounds

Address: 294 Exeter Rd, Hampton Falls, NH 03844-2009
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton Falls
Number of rooms: 420
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wakeda Campgrounds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you google a map then request something on a side road like red pine :)”
 of 5 bubbles margaretl886, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are a variety of sites and sections attractive depending on if you are camping solo or with friends.”
 of 5 bubbles HoffmansInTolland, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Do not camp near the restrooms. Too busy”
 of 5 bubbles CPP841, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“There are a handful of secluded tent sites that are spectacular! Ask....”
 of 5 bubbles DougMadaga, 19 Aug 2013 | Read review
“try another campground.”
 of 5 bubbles paulg711, 10 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5