We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mainsail Motel & Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mainsail Motel & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mainsail Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Paxton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I never stayed here before, but boy, am I glad I did! The place is super clean, friendly, helpful staff and the owners are on site, should you need them for anything. You can see the pride they have - as they should! I prefer the location, close to boardwalk but yet still quiet enough to relax. The pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim R
Kara S, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you. We work very hard to make the Mainsail the perfect place for a beach stay,a nd hope you will return!

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

So let me start out by saying we've been to Hampton Beach a million times and know the area well. This back street is ideal if you want quiet and short walk to everything. We were immediately greeted and told all the rules of the place, wristbands for pool etc. The room we got was on second floor facing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks, Pete. We are so glad you and your family had an enjoyable stay, and we agree that our staff is awesome!

Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Another enjoyable stay at the Mainsail. We have been staying here ever Summer for the past twelve years and it only gets better. New owners are always making improvements. Had a very minor issue with our room smelling like smoke from guests smoking outside near air conditioner but they made it right immediately by changing our room to an even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MistyMassachusetts
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

We thank you for being "regulars" and appreciate you coming back every summer! Our many repeat guests are one of the things that make the Mainsail so special. We are always planning the next projects and updates to keep the Mainsail the best place to stay on Hampton Beach, and Clarence appreciates the love!

Syracuse
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Let me tell you how clean and friendly the staff where. I felt secure and had no problem sleeping in the comfortable bed. I met the owner upon check in he gave me some tips and a map. Awesome place will be back next year and the location is a block off the main drag...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Koogle88
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay, and we love having guests who make the Mainsail an annual tradition. See you next summer!

Loudonville, United States
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The Mainsail has become our go to hotel, we used to stay at the Royal Hampton, then made our way to the Hillcrest, I heard far too many unnerving things about new ownership to stay there again, which is in all honesty just fine as the Mainsail has become our Hampton Beach place. It is comfortable and relaxing, Kara is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, and as always we appreciate the feedback! We have just finished the install of the new wifi network, with 10x the old bandwidth and multiple new access points throughout the property. You should have no probelm with video downloads on your next visit. We will look at your suggestions regarding specific...

CT
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

This is the perfect place to stay if you want a clean friendly place . The owners are great and make you feel like your part of there family. I wouldn't stay anywhere but here. The pool is so nice after a long day at the beach . The Mainsail is so close to everything , restaurants,beach ,water slides ect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuvthebeachNH
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

And we look forward to having you back! Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We always appreciate it.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We lucked out getting a last minute room at this clean friendly motel. Our room was bright clean and sunny. Looking out over the cottages and pool. LoaT Perfect location was perfect to walk to show at casino, beach and restaurant. Great for families and couples. The pool is a great place to chill after the beach. Owners are on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank summer20144606
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks! We and our geat staff work hard to make sure the Mainsail is a clean, friendly vacation destination for all, and our heated pool always seems to make people happy after a day at the beach.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Paid over $2000 to stay 7 days in the bottom floor of a "cottage". Spacious, eat in kitchen with living room and 3 bedrooms. Big enough for my boyfriend and I and our 5 kids. No maid service though- had to walk to the office to request toilet paper almost daily- with 7 people you go thru a lot! They...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your vacation did not measure up to expectations. As everyone who stays with us soon comes to realize, we are very "hands on" owners who live on site and are almost constantly available. We really wish you had mentioned things during your stay, as we could have addressed so much of this right from...

Reviewed 22 July 2016

Very clean well maintained property. Kara is great from first contact with booking (I booked by email) through check in and check out. Staff is always seen on property keeping it clean and are very helpful. Stayed Tuesday thru Thursday. Was very nice that we were able to arrive early before check in to have a spot to park. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine M
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and always look forward to guests becoming "regulars". Thanks for the feedback, and we look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Spent this weekend with family & friends at Hampton Beach! We usually stay at the Ashworth, but was very disappointed last year. Friends told us about Mainsail, and we will be back!!! VERY clean and spacious! The help and security were great!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara A
kara s, Owner at Mainsail Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write a review, and our hard-working staff is happy to know their efforts are appreciated. Our motto is "Clean rooms and happy people", and we are glad to hear that we measured up!

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.4 km away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
844 reviews
4.0 km away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.5 km away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
70 reviews
1.0 km away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#5 of 41 in Hampton
215 reviews
4.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an owner-operated, family friendly motel and cottage complex located one block from the beautiful beach, the boardwalk and the Casino Ballroom. Our heated swimming pool, complimentary on-site parking, and happy, helpful staff make us the perfect spot for your summer vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mainsail Motel & Cottages

Address: 40 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-2925
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Mainsail Motel And Cottages
Mainsail Motel & Cottages Hotel Hampton
Mainsail Hotel Hampton
Mainsail Motel Hampton
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mainsail Motel & Cottages staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mainsail Motel & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not a bad room anywhere”
 of 5 bubbles JulieH165, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a cottage, great view of sunsets and the pool. Surprisingly quiet.”
  • Another view of 2nd bedroom
  • Just bring your food! We did!
  • 2nd bedroom
  • Lots of space and clean!
  • Living room with balcony overlooking pool
  • Bedroom 1
 of 5 bubbles RobertSandy, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are nice, balcony views of backwaters are quite nice, just a great place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles S1994SCjohnr, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Back 8 rooms looking over the pool newly renovated ,tile floors cute decorations flat screen tv. sunset views from deck amazing”
 of 5 bubbles summer20144606, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“love by the pool, but all are good!”
 of 5 bubbles limiller, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5