We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lodge

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
Start your review of The Lodge
 Click to rate
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the room was alright; not great and also not bad. we had dinner in the lodge. The quality of the food was okay, but the amount of food was to limited. Maybe enough for a small child, but certainly not for an adult. Ordering a desert was a necessity.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U7014XOvincentv
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Good day, thanks for your review even if it is not all that positive. I remember your group clearly as I assisted you with two studio rooms and not the family unit as you booked and gave you a refund for the family unit. I also personally asked you after the meal was served if everything is okay on the...

Reviewed 13 March 2017

The Lodge is exceptionally well maintained. Friendly staff and good management. The food exceeded all expectations. This was a last minute booking which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. A perfect place for an overnight stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paddie g
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much, it takes a special eye to see a gem. We always do our very best to comfort a guest as it is not always comfortable for a guest not to be at home.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Our last night after spending 5 weeks in Southern Africa was spent at The Lodge. We were welcomed by the proprietor Kevin to the perfect place to rest before making our final approach to O. R. Rambo Airport for our return flights home. This was a sanctuary for us after our weeks of travel in some pretty gritty places. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichardC_49
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Good day, i am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Bethal. We are the last and best place to stay over before O R Thambo airport. Glad you used Gautrain and visited Gold Reef City.

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff and management good over night accomodation excellent food both breakfast and dinner. Worthwile recommending to colleagues and friends. Thanks to Kevin and his team for a good 2 day stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank damino_1
Sedgefield, South Africa
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Second time around and just as good a year later. Excellent accommodation and superb meals. A great choice for accommodation when staying overnight in Bethal area. Quality and his value for money with safe off-street parking.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheridan R
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The whole set up is great with beautiful surrounds and great rooms which are designed with privacy in mind. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with a large flat screen TV screen. All facilities are supplied in the rooms and I can certainly recommend this establishment

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hendrix2015
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review hope to see you here again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Very pleasant stay. The rooms were clean and neat. The room lighting was very bad and dark. The check in and check out times does not correspond with booking.com. When I called I was told room will be available at 15.00 instead of the booking.com website saying 14.00. I was told by reception that I must check out at 9.00...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank imtiazv2016
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review will rectify the problem on booking.com website.

Cape Town
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Passing through Bethal stayed 1 night at the Lodge. Never expected such a nice room, spotlessly clean with all essential facilities. There is a bar & restaurant on site &, as we had travelled a long way, opted for dinner at the Lodge. The food was excellent with a variety of choice & the prices very reasonable. Never expected such...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank donCapeTown
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for the review hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 October 2015

Very good rooms and most probably the best hotel in the area. Well served, secure parking, good minin bar and very food dining at the lodge. It also serves the best breakfast in most hotels I stay. The only issues I have is no wifi in room, no pool on sight but good air conditioning. The major issue I have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John L
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Mr. JohnL, firstly thank you for your positive review. All the effort and hard work the staff give to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed paid off. All our rooms 3* and 4* do have wi-fi. It might be that you tried it just the two minutes it takes for the system to reset twice a day....

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We recently had a wonderful stay at The Lodge. Well appointed, spacious and comfortable rooms with great privacy. Excellent value for money and a great choice for a weekend stay. This is clearly a well-run establishment thanks to a professional management team. Thank you to the attention to detail and care.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sylviaswart
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback. It's nice to know our hard work is appreciated.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethal
31.1 km away
Peermont Walmont at Graceland
0.8 km away
Bluegum Country Lodge
Bluegum Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Bethal
16 reviews
27.6 km away
Noeline's Guest House
Noeline's Guest House
#1 of 15 in Secunda
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Secunda
#9 of 15 in Secunda
1 reviews
28.3 km away
d'Vine Guest House
d'Vine Guest House
#10 of 15 in Secunda
9 reviews
24.1 km away
Dara Guest House B&B
Dara Guest House B&B
#1 of 4 in Trichardt
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Need accommodation in the Bethal area?Come Feel the Comfort in the heart of the Highveld. The Lodge Bethal in Mpumalanga is conveniently situated less than 2 hours drive from OR Tambo International Airport on the new N17 main route to Sodwana and iSimangaliso Wetland Park (Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park). This luxury lodge is also midway between the Kruger National Park and the Drakensburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 72 Chris Hani Street, Bethal 2310, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Bethal
Price Range: ₹ 3,488 - ₹ 4,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The two rooms we looked at were both impeccable and I have no doubt that all the room are great.”
RichardC_49, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the 4 star hotels at the back. The ones in front may pick up wifi but are 3 stars, more noisy as closer to road”
G5376YJjohnl, 14 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Good choice for the area and centrally located.”
sheridanr2013, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All the room are comfortable and quiet.”
sunshine197506, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Sometimes the noise can be heard from the highway so beware of what room you get.”
masbah, 24 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 62
Booking.comUS$ 63
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates