We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 488: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 19 September 2016

A very basic hotel that was very clean. Not too close to the center of town, but the town is so small it's still easy to find. Nice clean hot tub and pool. Very friendly and helpful service. We were there while they were fighting the Maple Fire and they staged the firefighters at the end of our road in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littleredeft
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on making every welcome and providing good service. It was very cool having the firefighters stay so close but we're happy the fires are out and things are back to normal. We hope you can visit again soon.

Hilo, HI
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of our road trip from Portland OR. It snowed when we arrived so it was too wet and cold to walk the five blocks to the shops and restaurants. But the shopping area is pretty compact and close to the Yellowstone entrance. Room, breakfast and hotel was fine. The Grizzly and Wolf exhibit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris_Hilo
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it helps other to make the decision to stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and we hope you can visit again soon.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it was pet friendly. The desk staff are truly super friendly and helpful in suggesting places to eat. We had a king room on 2nd floor, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The shower was pretty good. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows to choose from. I also liked having an easy chair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gisela S
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would highly recommend us to others. That says a lot! We hope you can return soon

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The Yellowstone West Gate Hotel has some of the friendliest employees I have come across at any hotel (and I've been to many). It was a lovely hotel, that was clean, comfy and has super easy access to the Yellowstone National Park. The staff were also very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and the state park. I highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank actorboy13
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others. That says so much!

Reviewed 13 September 2016

7 night stay. Was given a handicap room initially which didn't work for us and the hotel gladly moved us to a different room the next day. Nice Hotel and conveniently located to Yellowstone. Nice Breakfast but the choices were the same everyday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad we were able to move you to a room that worked better during your stay. We hope you will visit again soon.

New York
Reviewed 13 September 2016

While I went peak season to Yellowstone to fish, I waited a bit too long to book a hotel. Got into the West Gate which was clean, adequate, and close enough to the West Entrance. While it didn't compare to other places I've stayed in, it served it's purpose. Criticism are that the laundry facility was always busy, there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laminarman
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments they help us improve. We're glad you would stay with us again, maybe not during peak season.

Albany, New York
Reviewed 13 September 2016

TA you let me down! I expected more for 239.99/per night… Our "newly remodeled traditional king obstructed window view" room was dark, dated and disappointing. The complimentary breakfast offered few fresh and healthy choices… lots of white biscuits and gravy! The common areas reminiscent of a state college dormitory… weathered and worn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VTizhome
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We try to explain the discounted king room with obstructed view, but many guests are looking for the economy and not the view. This rooms is located in an alcove of the building so the room seems darker. Whenever possible we can offer an upgrade. We offer healthy items like yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, hard...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were looking for a spacious suite/apartment to accommodate my husband and myself, our two 11 year old boys, as well as two grandmothers, and this apartment style room was perfect! As soon as we entered on the ground floor, close to the parking lot to make loading/unloading a breeze, we saw a large enough dining table and a well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelly_paulson
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we're glad you went into such detail. I'm sure it will help others choose us when visiting Yellowstone. We look forward to your next visit.

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Dog-friendly (though no special amenities) and a short drive from Yellowstone park. Plenty of local restaurants and touristy activities. Friendly staff. Fairly priced. Comfortable beds. Parking was easy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thee_maxx
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will return soon.

Ferrara, Italy
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The Hotel is very nice and in a good position (2 minutes by car from the West Entrance of the Yellowstone NP). The room was clean, confortable and big enough. We appreciated the continental breakfast, due to the variety of alternatives provided (waffles, eggs & sausages, bread, ecc). For sure it's not a cheap hotel, but I think that it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucidina73
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, normally we have a small supply of first aid, I'm sorry we were out when you needed them. We'll make sure that is better stocked in the future. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you can return soon.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.9 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
0.9 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
626 reviews
1.1 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 38 in West Yellowstone
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 38 in West Yellowstone
638 reviews
0.8 km away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 38 in West Yellowstone
537 reviews
1.0 km away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#4 of 38 in West Yellowstone
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: ₹ 14,052 - ₹ 23,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowstone West Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Peoria, Illinois
3 months ago
East Setauket, New York
over a year ago
over a year ago
Jerusalem, Israel
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Yellowstone West Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It would be handy to have a night light by the bathroom sink.”
 of 5 bubbles daveg384, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the clean and spacious deluxe room. Great size for families up to 6.”
 of 5 bubbles W6435XHmichaell, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to not stay near the elevator or ice machine.”
 of 5 bubbles FrequentT1, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly motel. ”
 of 5 bubbles stanry2016, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are NO views in this hotel. View options are a parking lot, a street and a brick building.”
 of 5 bubbles Cherstevens, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay