We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stage Coach Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Stage Coach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 442: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I really enjoyed the animals in the hotel lobby that was beautiful! The outside of the hotel was very nice as was the inside! The beds were soft and nice. The gentleman at the front desk the night we checked in was very nice and helpful. The pool was nice and warm. Loved the size of the room, only complaint... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashlei C
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We spent one night here in a "King Historic" room, number 240. That was one night too many. I fully expected "historic" to mean tight quarters, narrow doorways, a small window, and old fashioned fixtures and furniture. Apparently it also includes the following: - Paint cracked and peeling from the walls, doors, and ceiling - Dirty disgusting carpet (turned my... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank James J

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Paid for Queen room, booking several months in advance. Room was beside laundry facilities at the beginning of long hallway with lots of foot traffic (#129(. Upon entering room went immediately to front desk to inquire about a room not next to laundry with less foot traffic. Was given another room which was quieter with clerk saying "it is the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ElkIvorysGirl
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This was a great place to stay at while visiting Yellowstone in late October. The amenities were surprisingly vast, and the room was great. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, understanding that this was our first time in the area. Overall, great place to stay!

Helpful?
Thank leo_popovic
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had none of the bad experiences we read about in TripAdvisor about this inn. The staff was friendly and helpful, the lobby area very nice, the rooms tidy and clean, the beds ok for a nights stay. We even enjoyed a relaxing time and a good book in front of the fireplace. It is a bit on the expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I love the lobby, it is very rustic and cozy feeling. Lots of taxidermy animals everywhere. Our room was reasonably clean and comfortable. Fridge and microwave in room. Beds were, ok. Rustic decor in rooms too.

Helpful?
Thank Lorrie S
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments. More 

Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I prepaid nearly $180 including tax for a king size bed in an "historic" room. When I checked in the clerk warned me in a rather suspicious manner that the room was in the "historic" section of the hotel. Ok. I've stayed in lots of historic hotels in my life. The room wasn't historic; just plain old, smelly and felt... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graceymare
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you were unhappy and we will work hard to improve - thank you for letting us know. More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We had three rooms reserved for the Stage Coach Inn. One was for my wife and I, one for another couple, and the last was for our 88 year old friend. We were visiting Yellowstone as part of our friend's bucket list. Unfortunately, during our visit at Yellowstone our elderly friend collapsed and died. After dealing with all the issues... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank D C R
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you were unhappy and we will work hard to improve - thank you for letting us know. More 

Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Once I figured out I didn't intend to camp out in Madison Campground due to low temperatures, I started looking for a place to stay in West Yellowstone. TripAdvisor had recommendations for the Stage Coach Inn. It was a good recommendation. When I walked into the lobby, I had a sense of deja vu. It reminded me of the Wort... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank River55land
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

For the price paid I expected a luxury hotel and this definitely wasn't. We had a standard room which was sad and needed refurbishment. The toilet smelled of urine and we asked several times for it to be sorted but if it was looked at it wasn't any better. The view from the room was of a tin roof and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KimFirth
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you were unhappy and we will work hard to improve - thank you for letting us know. More 

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 38 in West Yellowstone
665 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 38 in West Yellowstone
638 reviews
0.2 km away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#20 of 38 in West Yellowstone
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
0.1 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 38 in West Yellowstone
320 reviews
0.4 km away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#4 of 38 in West Yellowstone
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: ₹ 5,046 - ₹ 24,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Historic rooms are disgusting. Others might be better?”
  • Dirty carpet, balanced with peeling paint on doors.
  • Soap scum and mold in shower.
  • Really? The outrageous prices couldn't cover a replacement lampshade?
  • Was
  • Dust bunnies were living on the hinges. Paint chipped from door.
  • Bad photo of paint peeling between picture frames and window.
 of 5 bubbles jjblues12, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room next to laundry facilities (#129)”
 of 5 bubbles ElkIvorysGirl, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 255”
 of 5 bubbles KimFirth, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice lobby to hang out in”
 of 5 bubbles gdr23, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the historic part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles pattij0l, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay