We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Buffalo Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Buffalo Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for White Buffalo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on July 28th while visiting Yellowstone. Everything seemed ok (pretty spendy for quality, but it's a tourist town), until attempting to sleep. We couldn't sleep because the guests directly above us decided to practice their acrobatic routine ALL NIGHT LONG!! We called the front office around 1 a.m. to have them deal with it...too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeslielovesPdx
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the time to speak your mind. We sincerely apologize for any unfriendly or unprofessional behavior of our staff. Although there is no excuse for rude behavior, I think it only fair to recognize that the very nature of a town that is virtually shut down for 5 months of the year, almost all businesses must hire and train...

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here on a road trip. Of course we got to Yellowstone late in the day and all of the hotels were booked solid except for here and one other hotel. When we called, the nice girl that answered the phone reserved our room for us. We thought the price was ridiculous, but being a newbie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sleep_Away_11
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. West Yellowstone is a high demand area and packed during the traditional tourist season. It is important to reserve in advance whenever possible. I appreciate the references to upgrading the property. We are doing all we can, as rapidly as we can. Yes we are remodeling rooms used in the past...

Mitchell, South Dakota
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Front desk said the pool and hot tub were being worked on. Looking at them it was obvious they had been not working for a long long time. The hot tub was partially filled and had green stuff growing in it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sundancekid57
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

The pool and hot tub work from the same boiler , which had in fact broken down. Sometimes it takes longer to get repairs done in West Yellowstone due to our remote location and the need to get service personnel to travel from Bozeman or Idaho Falls. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. The pool has been repaired and is back...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 17 July 2015

My family of five was on the Tours 4 Fun trip. On 7/12/15, day 3 of our tour, we stayed at the White Buffalo. My family was astonished to fine the old box TV with poor reception. My 15 and 16 year olds and myself found the rooms and pool needing to be cleaned. The overall cleanliness and hygiene standards...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gladys C
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Just so any readers will know the facts, the pool cleaned daily and mother nature blows some dirt and leaves into the bool daily as well. Yes some of the rooms have older TVs. They are being replaced as they die cease to function. Unfortunately the satellite TV service is not always as great as we'd...

Ridgeland, Mississippi
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

We needed a place to stay in West Yellowstone and we were very grateful that the White Buffalo had a room available. The hotel is dated but clean. I do wish that the curtains were blackout. The breakfast was great and the fresh cinnamon rolls were very tasty. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angie S
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am always interested to hear opinions, whether I agree with them or not. In this case I agree that the cinnamon rolls are very tasty. As for "dated", I'd prefer "classic" but recognize that the configuration of the hotel and huge rooms were from a design in the past. Of...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 6 June 2015

We had one of the remodeled rooms in front. Almost everything is new. 2 queen room was very large and airy. Room enough for two roll aways. West Yell. IS expensive. $150 and up common. The breakfast buffet is commendable and makes the White Buffalo a bargain in this town. Neither of the 2 kinds of scrambled eggs were runny....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hihiker
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

You said so many nice things some people think you might be my relative. I guess if you go back enough generations we are all kinfolk. Still, I appreciate your review. Comments that help other guests understand our property are always welcome. We hope that if your travels take you to West Yellowstone again that you give us the honor...

Colome, SD
Reviewed 26 May 2015

The room was huge, probably the biggest room I've ever seen...and I do think it was clean enough. The beds were super uncomfortable, tv was the old style with a tiny screen and weighs about 100 pounds...lol. They do offer a full breakfast buffet but honestly, I would go to a restaurant as everything was bland and runny. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Annette S
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I was sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet was not up to your standards. Usually we get great reviews for the breakfast. I was also glad for you to note the cleanliness of the property, the large rooms and the fact that we were $70.00 a night cheaper than anywhere else you could find in...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 30 April 2015

I will probably chose some other hotel over this if I am not cash pressed. The stay was barely OK. The hotel was clean enough for an OK stay. There was a paid breakfast buffet which was average too. I visited in summer 2010.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Abhirup D
RLB1954, Owner at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. This guest must have a very good memory. I can't even remember what I had for breakfast this morning let alone an overnight stay from a vacation five years ago. In any case, at the time of this guests stayed at the property it was under different ownership and we have made well over $100,000 in...

Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

Never.Again!The place smells like moth balls, the bath and shower had no water, the water in the faucet smelled foul, the toilet wasn't screwed down all the way, and it was like stepping into the 70's. We almost packed up and went elsewhere!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mtngirl82
RLB1954, General Manager at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review

I am always appreciative of people who write reviews, good or bad. This allows us to solve problems we would not have otherwise known about. Some reviews, however; do not make sense. Unfortunately, you did not take time to inform the front desk about your concerns. I will never understand why people stay in rooms they do not like only...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2014

The location of this hotel gives a quiet and sound night, the design of the front door and reception are unique and nice, most importantly the room is clean, although the overall use of colour and design in the room seem a bit old, but still a good experience for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8Jane1717

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 km away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#28 of 39 in West Yellowstone
524 reviews
0.3 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
320 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
644 reviews
0.1 km away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
235 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: ₹ 7,259 - ₹ 7,729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Buffalo Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Buffalo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good for last minute booking. Very close to the West entrance of the Park.”
 of 5 bubbles 922fahdk, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room had two queens and a sofa pull-out so it slept 6 people.”
 of 5 bubbles thomaseF6233ZQ, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sleep in your car”
 of 5 bubbles E1474PBlynnm, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Loved room 171 - kitchen, dining set, 2 TV's, sofa-sleeper, separate bedroom and nice bathroom..”
 of 5 bubbles willibunch, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“No elevators to the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles spsandi, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5