We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverside Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Riverside Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riverside Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Was in Yellowstone last week and with all in-Park lodging closed for the season, was able to secure lodging at Riverside. Firstly, let me state that the owner Laura is a joy; so very helpful and completely aimed to please. She walked me to the unit, showed me where everything was, how things worked, and then gave me the key....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelrckymtns
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to your next stay. We had a lot of snow the last couple of days and sitting in the hot tub with the river going by and the snow glistening from the sun is very beautiful. Thank you for staying with us.

BTM
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We visit "The Park", several times per year. We generally end up staying at Riverside Cottages, if we get our reservations in early enough. Eddie and Laura are great Innkeepers and their place is just what we like. Rooms are spotless, view from the deck is outstanding and the proprietors bend over backwards to serve you. In our ratings, good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pcsdpo
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We can't think of a better compliment then a guest who want to return. Thank you for your lovely comments and we will see you on your next trip.

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Beautiful, tip-top shape, two story suite that could sleep 4 adults comfortably (it's a loft), with full, well-supplied kitchen, nice bathroom, great deck overlooking the Yellowstone River and mountains. Moreover, the owners bent over backwards to ensure we had a nice visit. We were visiting for my wife's birthday, and when we arrived the owner had baked cookies for her....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Go_Lucky_UT
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all of our guests, but when we know there is a special occasion we really want to make the event as special as possible. We are honored you chose to spend your lodging for your special day with us. We hope to see you again.

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Gardiner is not generally a place we stop to spend the night. Glad we did! Location, hospitality, room comfort, deck to read/watch/have a meal on,and good Wi-Fi made for a very enjoyable evening and a good night's sleep. May need to return to Gardiner so that we can stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JSHCH
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you chose to stay in Gardiner. We have a variety of types of rooms and look forward to your next visit.

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The greedy side of me wants to write something mediocre so that next time I am making a reservation, I don't have to compete with other travelers. But the Boy Scout in me wins...so here it is: this place and its proprietors are simply a gem! From the moment I had called to make a reservation, through the time I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sigalph235
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Well, we are thankful the Boy Scout in you won out! We enjoyed having you stay with us and hearing of your explorations in the Park. We look forward to your visit next year and hope that you can bring some more of your family. You are most kind and we greatly appreciate your comments.

Pinole, California
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights, a Friday and Saturday. Ah, the weekend, with noisy neighbors who just don't care. The walls of cabins #1-#4 and the 3 river cabins behind them are very thin. Bring ear plugs. I had to sleep Friday eve with them. Also, the parking spot right next to the fox efficiency cabin #1 I occupied is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drezdany
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry you had noisy neighbors on the first night and wish that you had let us know. We are always a phone call away. Most people do not realize how loud they are speaking when standing right outside someone's door or how the sound of a car door slamming will carry....

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

This place was just what we were looking for. Great location just outside of Yellowstone. We got in later and the owners were right there ready to welcome us- very kind couple. Good, clean, simple efficiency right on the river. Near a place to walk for breakfast (Tumbleweeds) and a grocery store the buy lunch items to eat on our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CSarg
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is a nice benefit to be able to walk to breakfast, the grocery store, and other shops in town. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Lake Stevens, Washington
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We travel from the west coast to Yellowstone every 12-18 months and have stayed in a variety of places inside and outside the park over the years. We found Riverside Cottages to be perfect in every way. It is located only about 1/2 mile from the north entrance to the park, making it easy to travel back and forth each...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cruising-along
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We also look forward to your next visit when the kids and grandkids can join you. It didn't work out on this trip but surely it will in the short future. We loved having you stay with us and hearing of your adventures (except for the lost wallet) and animal viewings in the Park. Whenever you are ready to start...

Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

The cottages from the road are cute & right on the Yellowstone River. The owners are nice & very hospitable. There is a private deck for guest use which was nice to sit out in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine or cocktail. Our cottage had a flat panel tv with DirecTV provided. There is also a hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welovescotland!
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was not up to our standards. I wish we had known some of these issues while you were here so that we could have addressed them immediately and improved your experience. We have a variety of pillows with different firmnesses. Our mattresses are new and I am sorry you found them uncomfortable. Our towels...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 September 2015

9 yo son LOVED the murphy bunk and hot tub. Just the adventure of going down the stairs and rope to the river was another highlight. Room wasn't exceptionally clean, but it was ok. Nice to have wifi and tv so close to Yellowstone (after a week without).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itinerary_queen_pa
Laura C, Owner at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

We are glad your son loved the murphy bed and the walkway down to the river. We will certainly address the issues in the room that were obviously overlooked. We have a higher standard and will work to achieve that standard. We hope you will come back to see us in the future.

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.6 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
709 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,935 reviews
0.3 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
333 reviews
0.2 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located at the North Entrance to Yellowstone National Park in Gardiner Montana. We have efficiencies, cottages and suites that offer something for everyone. Our cottages and suites have full kitchens. Our efficiencies are smaller like traditional motel rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages

Address: 521 Scott Street West, Highway 89 & 2nd Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Cottages staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Peosta, Iowa
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved Mountain Lion because we could cook and the frig was great!”
 of 5 bubbles smckj, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room had absolutely no sound from connecting rooms - so I think it's "all good"”
 of 5 bubbles Y1731FTjennyt, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had one of the larger rooms that sleep 5. It was perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles djgirl0308, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“there is a great variety. Look on the internet”
 of 5 bubbles 218elvap, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“Get the room above the river with the view.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveG638, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5