We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Show Prices
#7 of 14 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and I was so looking forward to visiting Butte, as part of an overall 3 week trip to Montana and Wyoming. However, the first person we met in Butte was a very poor ambassador for her town. The receptionist in this hotel was the rudest, sourest hotel receptionist that I have ever encountered. She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JillLaois
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Jill, Again, we apologize for your unpleasant experience at the Finlen as we said in response to your Booking.com review we have went over our customer service with the whole team and your issues were brought up specifically. We are glad that you did enjoy your visit to Butte, we have wonderful local bars and restaurants just within walking distance...

Richmond, VA, USA
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We loved the downstairs of the old elegant hotel and enjoyed and evening playing cards in the lobby area. We had a suite with two separate rooms and two baths, but there was no door between the two rooms. The staff at the desk were very helpful and recommended the Uptown Cafe just down the street, which was a delight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank By_His_Grace
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We read up on the reviews and were happy with both the affordability and the experience of staying in the historic hotel. My kids were fascinated with the suite-the two rooms together, the water closet, the grandiose nature of the hotel and spacious accommodations in the suite. If you love retro styles and historical aspects combined with modern accommodations-our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
cincinnati
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Our son in nearby Deer Lodge suggested this historic hotel and we were pleased he did. Despite prior reviews on Tripadvisor, the beds are now comfortable. Prices are remarkably inexpensive. The foyer is magnificently restored. Coffee is all that is available in the hotel in the morning, but a short walk to the Park and Main Cafe or the BS...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CintiKidCincinnati
Logan, Utah
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We rented 2 rooms, both in the original building. They were great rooms. The staff was awesome and the whole building was very quiet and relaxing. The price was quite good too. We had a suite and our teenage boys shared a double queen room, actually it had 2 separate rooms with 1 bed each and a television in each.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danharrington21
Westerham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Three reasons for giving The Finlen a very good rating: (1) location in the heart of historic uptown Butte - perfect for wandering the streets admiring the extraordinary buildings; (2) the exceptional, beautiful, grand hotel lobby; (3) value for money - our spacious, comfortable two-room suite cost just $109 a night. Otherwise its offering is pretty basic - there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlisonandColin
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 156, in the motel section of the hotel. The room was adequate size, it was really quiet, the two beds were comfortable and very clean. It had a fridge and a microwave. For a one nice stay, it was a good quality/price ratio. The decor is a bit outdated, but we don't choose a place for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer2003
Geyser, MT 59447
Reviewed 25 June 2016

In my previous review I said I would have given a 4 rating if not for the bed. Manager Frank read my review and called me back within a day or two and apologized that the mattress in our room was a one-sided mattress, but housekeeping had flipped the mattress upside down. Frank made things right with me and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saltseller
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Was very friendly, great shops in area. Surprised no cafe or continental breakfast or fridge in room. Beautiful scenery and great cafes around within walking distance. Lots of pubs if you are into that. Front desk did have morning coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Portland
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I was looking for a room for my mother and I. Mom wasn't feeling well and was waiting in the car. I spoke to Cathy at the front desk. I asked a few simple questions about the property and upon walking away I caught her shaking her head and rolling her eyes. Then she yelled "you have to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanna H

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
4.1 km away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 14 in Butte
487 reviews
3.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 14 in Butte
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn of Butte
Comfort Inn of Butte
#5 of 14 in Butte
424 reviews
0.2 km away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Address: 100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Price Range: ₹ 5,377 - ₹ 6,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Butte
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Belgrade, Montana
Spokane, Washington
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for old hotel back side to get full experience of this classic.”
 of 5 bubbles T9563ASmikeh, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“motel rooms are very convenient for loading unloading and on ground level”
 of 5 bubbles Travelbug1155, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing South”
 of 5 bubbles scpousncb, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good. they have two bedroom rooms great for 4 people”
 of 5 bubbles RogerK1939, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at end.”
 of 5 bubbles 434brettt, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5