We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dude Rancher Lodge

Expedia.comUS$ 90*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 93*
US$ 90*
US$ 93*
US$ 93*
US$ 90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Dude Rancher Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dude Rancher Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We definitely felt we had arrived in the west. Seemed clean enough and the decor was a hoot. Some people would find the double room cramped, but it was fine for a single night. There is no continental breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review of your experience. The Dude Rancher Lodge is a registered historic hotel and we work to ensure we keep our heritage alive by providing great western hospitality. Stirrups is the attached café and has the best value breakfast in Billings. Their breakfasts are reminiscent of the old Rancher’s breakfast. I...

Methwold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Beyond disappointed. Has potential but needs major cleaning and decor freshened. The walls are a dingy white-ish brick yet paper thin, even with ear plugs in we listened to drunk foreigners next door shouting and banging on the doors in hall at 3:00 AM! The carpet is filthy, stains everywhere and even wet in areas! We kept shoes by bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Insky
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

We regret that your stay was not more positive but appreciate the time you took to give us your review. Thank You. We constantly endeavor to improve the service and value of our guests experience and your comments will help us to address those things. Along those lines we have just finished adding microwaves, mini fridges, new European pillow top...

Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed overnight on our journey back from Ontario to BC. Had read the reviews, seemed okay, but when we got there...not a great part of the city. Two doors, one didn't lock, the other the bolt worked. Beds sagged, carpet was moldy and absolutely filthy. Wanted an extra $1.00 on the rate and it had only been one week...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tenman60
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

We want to thank you for the time you took to write us a review, and regret that you did not have a more positive experience. We are located in historic downtown Billings, within walking distance of the Yellowstone Art Museum, the Western Heritage Center and many local five star restaurants. We take security very seriously and have addressed this...

Shelton, Washington
Reviewed 23 August 2014

In downtown Billings, this is a unique, ranch-style lodge/motel with an industrial flat weave branded carpet on the floor and open beam wooden ceiling on the second floor. Our room was not noticeably worn, although obviously not new. Suzanne, at the front desk, was very courteous and attentive. We especially appreciated that she took into consideration our special needs (chemical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Just_Another_Joan
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

We are very pleased your stay with us was so enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Our courteous and attentive service is a cornerstone of Western Hospitality we strive to provide for all our guests. It is so nice to be appreciated, thank you, and we...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Decided to stay at the Dude Rancher for a short stay, a few hours. It was the cheapest of any of the hotels I could find. It has a weird set-up, as you can't really see the lobby from the road. Myself and another traveler were having a difficult time locating the lobby. Check-in was quick and easy, but they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NorskyNE
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your business and thank you for writing a review. The Dude Rancher is an historic hotel built in 1949, with many unique features. Our custom made carpeting has the cattle brands of all the original families whom supported the Dude Rancher. This theme is echoed on our wall outside our onsite restaurant, Stirrups and on...

Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Reserved two rooms for family coming to town. The lobby was nice with a western feel. The two rooms were connected and each was really large. That said, the rooms were obviously quite aged and not updated at all. It felt like walking into a run down 1960 movie set. The carpets were stained, the walls dingy, and the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank P W
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Dude Rancher and apologize that our hotel did not completely meet your needs. We hope you will be encouraged to know that renovations are ongoing and slowly taking place. Since your stay, the hotel has seen some positive changes including new paint and updated...

Rocky Mountains Usa
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The upper floor had been recently upgraded but maintain the western charm of the facility. It's a great location for downtown Billings, right in the heart of things. The staff was friendly and did a good job accommodating anything we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy60
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our Western Charm. We are truly looking forward to sharing our new room designs with our guests because we feel you understand our drive to preserve much of our vintage culture that our Western hotel has to offer. Many people love the location of our hotel because we are centrally...

Billings
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This property was not what was reviewed. Doors didn't lock, restaurant was bad, beds were saggy, had to ask to get two new pillows. Right next door to 'public' washroom...would not stay there again and they wanted an extra $1.00 over the booking price because their rates had gone up in a week since our booking!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark D
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Dude Rancher Hotel and apologize that our hotel did not completely meet your needs. As the Manager of the hotel, I am sorry to hear you had an awful room. I have alerted all of my housekeepers to check all of the pillows and...

Hong Kong
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff/reception was mixed - one of the day receptionists came across as rude/abrupt; maybe she was having a bad day, I don't know. The night receptionist more than made up for it with her friendly demeanor and general warmth. Very disappointing though was the room; the carpet was damp with huge mold spots around the bed. Clearly they'd been...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank w1000
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

As the Manager of the hotel, I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience. I pride my hotel as having excellent customer service and sorry that you did not receive this. Having a bad day is not ever an excuse. I will address and re-train & address and do what is needed to correct the situation immediately with...

Pasco, Washington, United States
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Worst. night. ever. I cried. It was dirty and it smelled of stale cigarettes, even though this hotel is non-smoking. None of the drinking glasses were clean and there was a dirty coffee cup in the refrigerator. It was hot because the AC wasn't working properly, so we finally "unscrewed" the window closing brackets so we could get some airflow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debby B
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate every guest who shares his or her perception of our hotel. When the criticisms are constructive, we are able to embrace them and to grow from them. As the Manager of the Hotel, I am sorry to hear about your experience. I am sorry your experience did not live up to our standards for cleanliness. We regret we...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.4 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
0.4 km away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#20 of 51 in Billings
202 reviews
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
382 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#28 of 51 in Billings
116 reviews
3.9 km away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#5 of 51 in Billings
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Address: 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Price Range: ₹ 5,624 - ₹ 6,917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the ground floor rooms with outside access are a godsend”
douglasj785, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor, if stairs are a challenge.”
r0bertfb, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room near the front desk, the ones near the back are like a maze to find the restaurant.”
PHD85, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 226 is haunted so if you're into that sort of thing...”
971jaclynp, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 102, 104.Smokers stand outside rooma 102 day-night laughing and chatting. Very rude. What does management allow this?”
gebodogs, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 90* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 93
Hotels.comUS$ 90
TripAdvisorUS$ 90
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates