We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Visit hotel website
Traveller (161)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (16)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center and The Tower Club• Breakfast and Lunch buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks and small bites, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
11Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1,183Reviews
207Photos
7Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 577
  • 290
  • 170
  • 84
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Looking to take advantage or rewards points this hotel popped up. Decided to give it a chance despite some reservations due to other reviews. We immediately had to switch rooms due to leaky faucets in first room but second room was fine. A little outdated and in need of some
Read more
+4
Hotel's Favourite
My Lady surprised me with a night out in downtown Springfield! She didn’t let me know until the GPS gave it away in the final turns before arriving at the University Plaza Hotel. When we showed up the parking lot was full of cars. Downtown had many events going on that night.
Read more
Response from Lisa M, Front Office Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Responded 8 Dec 2018
So happy to hear you had a great time. We expect to see you again soon!
Read more
This used to be a nice property. Not anymore. There is no working ice machine on the 2nd floor. I tried to turn on my desk lamp and the bulb exploded. I unplugged the lamp, put the broken glass on the desk, and left a note on the desk. The next day after housekeeping had
Read more
I booked 2 rooms thru Priceline (never again) for my daughters graduation. Check in went smoothly as we got our keys right away. The rooms were right next to each other which was nice. As we entered both rooms we were greeted with a smell of cat pee. They allow animals I was
Read more
Response from Lisa M, Front Office Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry we were not able to directly compensate you for your unpleasant stay. I explained to the Priceline representative that the offered resolution for the lack of hot water was to offer our breakfast buffet, which is a $10.95 value per person. The boiler has been repaired and we would like you to give us another opportunity to win you over. Warm Regards,
Read more
Hotel appeared to be mostly vacant. Restaurant was not in full operation so dinner was in bar area. Breakfast was overpriced for selection of foods. Sunday morning didn't even have omelets available as they did on Monday. Room was clean and comfortable.
Read more
Response from Lisa M, Front Office Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate you choosing us for your stay in Springfield. We look forward to your next visit. Warm Regards,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementUniversity Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Awesome maintenance! Not!
indoor pool with hot tub and fitness center
flatscreen tv
PreviousNext
12345613
Is this close to Juanita Hammond theatre?
Yes, we are 0.2 miles away from Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts. Continue South on John Q. Hammons Pkwy for less than a mile to get there!
1 vote
Show all answers
Does the hotel offer shuttle service to close area concerts and attractions?
Yes, ask front desk for times and destinations.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you offer free shuttle service to restaurants and the Gillioz Theatre?
There is a shuttle. You would have to ask at the front desk for exact time and destinations.
0 votes
Show all answers
are all the rooms smoke free and also pet free?
We are a nonsmoking pet friendly property!
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there an extra charge for the breakfast?
University Plaza Hotel does charge for breakfast. The full breakfast buffet is $10.95 for adults $5.95 for kids and features cook to order omelets. University Plaza Hotel also offers a Healthy Start breakfast that is $6.95 for adults $3.95 for kids. You can book a package deal that includes breakfast online.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Rooms were outdated and dirty"
"Stay on a lower floor to avoid the elevators"
"Only one set of elevators. Could be noisy near them."
"there are 2 elevators for 9 floors, some rooms are a good distance from the elevators,"
"Go to anywhere else when you go to Springfield Missouri. This place is a pit."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 96 - US$ 144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
university plaza hotel springfielduniversity plaza hotel and convention center
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriSpringfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
267
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing