We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ferry Landing Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ferry Landing
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ferry Landing Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2015

My wife and I had decided to spend some quality time together on a short break up in the Coromandel. Our stay at Ferry Landing Lodge was the surprise find of the trip. You could not ask for a more peaceful, relaxing and informative stay if you tried. Our hosts Pam and Rob are the perfect example of the good... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnali2015
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking time out to send feedback. We are glad that we were able to contribute to happy memories of the Coromandel. It is always a pleasure to meet and share our lovely location with enthusiastic travellers. Meeting folks like you make hosting a bed and breakfast extra special. Best wishes. More 

Leeds, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Thanks Pam and Rob for being such genial hosts. It is 8 years since our last visit but you were just as welcoming and informative as before. We enjoyed your conversation, along with the other guests, and your local knowledge made sure we made the most of our stay on the Coromandel. Our stay was at the beginning of our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ydnpa
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and best wishes. It was truly a privilege to host you both again, 8 years after the last time. Having guests like yourselves, has been such a pleasure and also provided us with so many happy memories. Travellers on their 2nd & 3rd trips to NZ (from the UK) who chose to... More 

Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Ferry Landing Lodge is a tranquil spot for exploring the Coromandel Peninsula. We stayed two nights in the Harbour View Suite - a very comfortable room and a great place to watch the ferry criss-crossing between peaceful Ferry Landing and the attractive town of Whitianga. Pam and Rob are excellent hosts who took very good care of us; we also... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which we appreciate so much. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful area we live in. We hope the rest of your NZ travels went according to plan and wish you a safe trip back home. More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

We spent our last three nights, not counting a night in the busy city of Auckland, of a five week NZ adventure with Pam and Rob. Wonderful hosts, extensive information which was tailored to our needs and we also enjoyed the stimulating conversations. The music session was also appreciated! So sorry that in the years to come Ferry Landing will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ASH696
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for that lovely feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Rob was happy to provide his guitar so you could play! He knows that 'itch' well and after 5 months in UK last year, that was what he missed most about home!!!! You musicians are easy to please as long as there is an... More 

arlington virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2015

My husband, 18-year-old daughter and I stayed in the two-bedroom Bougainvillea room. The place was clean and comfortable, but we especially enjoyed being outside in the hammock taking in the gorgeous views or hiking around the grounds. Rob took us on one of his walks and shared his extensive knowledge of the area's history and plant life. Pam made a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank anastacey
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your lovely feedback. So glad you were able to enjoy the guava lemon jam whilst still in NZ. It was our pleasure to meet you all and show you the delights of the beautiful Coromandel region. Hope you had a safe trip back home and have wonderful memories to share with family and friends. Best wishes. More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2015

We were delighted to have found Ferry Landing as our base for our stay on Coromedel. A superb setting with great views and handy for Whitianga. Pam and Rob were friendly interesting and enthusiastic and provided a wealth of information. We particularly enjoyed Rob's walk, sharing his knowledge of the area with us and his tips for our onward journey.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith2704
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to meet you all and be able to share, for a short time at least, this lovely area & interesting history. So glad you enjoyed the 'tour'. Rob's amazing memory for facts and his passion for the place he grew up in, as a small boy, never diminishes. Sharing that joy plus helping tourists 'see' as... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We found our stay here poor value for money, ungenerous and a slightly odd experience. Breakfast of a little cereal and toast with no further choices was not adequate. We were given no peace at breakfast and felt talked at. The bedroom was out of date and like a dark and dingy cave. The accommodation was not up to description... More 

Helpful?
Thank JennyBurnsbob
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Jenny, Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We were very surprised to read your comments as your disappointment was certainly not visible. Its a shame you didn't say something at the time as we could have addressed the issues you raise which are addressed below. 1) Poor Value; we provide excellent value. 150+ reviews & 5 stars are... More 

Poissy, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015

very quiet, alongside the water, charming welcome from the owners, great breakfast, large appartment for 5 (sunflower), very convenient to go quickly for dinner in whitianga, available kayak and close to the beaches - we highly recommend !

Helpful?
Thank Jean A
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, kind words and for recommending us. It was lovely to meet you all and a pleasure to share our little corner of Coromandel with you. Best wishes for 2015 and your trip around New Zealand. More 

Makassar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2015

A fab trip to the Coromandel where Ferry Landing Lodge was the perfect base and Pam and Rob fantastic hosts. They were excellent looking after the littlest member of our crew (18 months) and we loved the breakfast spread and informative walk with Rob, as well as all the tips and maps to the local area. Great hosts and place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely words. We really enjoyed meeting you all and your little Henry 'captured' the hearts of all of us! Such a delightful little boy who is amazing for his age. Glad to provide the informative walk, tips and maps and glad the 'healthy' breakfast was enjoyed. Thank you for 'highly recommending' us. Happy New Year... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We were warmly welcomed by Pam and Rob who made us feel very much at home. We stayed in Sunflower Cottage, being part of the main house, which was very spacious for our family of four adults. Pam and Rob are very genial hosts around the breakfast table with a wealth of knowledge and suggestions for places to visit. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hakken-Krak
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. Its always been such a pleasure to meet travellers enjoying the beautiful Coromandel countryside so its been easy to share our little 'corner of paradise' with mainly overseas guests. New Zealanders have always known of the 'specialness' of the Coromandel Peninsula and in the last 13 years we have seen it grow as a tourist... More 

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferry Landing
0.7 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
439 reviews
2.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
292 reviews
11.4 km away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
300 reviews
1.6 km away
970 Lonely Bay
970 Lonely Bay
#3 of 23 in Whitianga
100 reviews
8.1 km away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family friendly, boutique B&B, centrally located between 'world famous' Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove and Whitianga restaurants. 2.5 hrs scenic drive from Auckland Airport, Tauranga & Hamilton. On a small Peninsula on the water's edge of Whitianga harbour, 'sits' Ferry Landing Lodge. No traffic noise or bustling crowds. Just peace & quiet, the perfect place to relax. We have 3 different family holiday accommodation; 12 mins drive to Hahei, Cathedral Cove & Hot water Beach. 200m walk to the Whitianga ferryboat. FREE WIFI in rooms. Delicious, organic, home-made HOSTED breakfast. Enjoy meeting other travellers? Ferry Landing Lodge is renowned for the friendships started around the breakfast table! SPECIAL MULTIPLE NIGHT BONUS; Guided walk/talk to Whitianga Rock Reserve. Be immersed in Maori & European history & culture during Wigmore's Walk. PLUS enjoy beach towels, spades for HWB, 2 person Kayak & bikes & more, FOC. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ferry Landing Lodge

Address: 1169 Purangi Road, Ferry Landing, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga > Ferry Landing
Price Range: ₹ 10,601 - ₹ 14,842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ferry Landing Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ferry Landing Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Harbor View room has the best views!”
 of 5 bubbles 182philb, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“No Comment”
 of 5 bubbles JennyBurnsbob, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
“If only 2 guests, Harbour Room is the recommendation. It has a great view of Whitianga.”
 of 5 bubbles Hasita, 22 Apr 2014 | Read review
“We loved the view from our 'top room' looking over to Whitianga”
 of 5 bubbles JillH278, 9 Apr 2014 | Read review
“The Harbor View room is great for a couple!”
 of 5 bubbles sfoblueyes, 15 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5