We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,025 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,015: English reviews
Start your review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was in town for a tournament and stayed at this property because of it was close to the convention center and the good reputation of Marriott. I was sadly disappointed about this property for so many reasons. The room was ok but there was trash on the floor upon arrival. The shower curtain rod was bowed but it drooped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ekaihatsu
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. We rely on all types of guest feedback to help us continue to improve our hotel operations. Our goal is to always provide 100 percent guest satisfaction, and unfortunately we did not do so in this case. I do apologize for the various issues you encountered...

Bellevue, Nebraska
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We loved our weekend in KC! The hotel was beautiful and clean and very accommodating. Great walking distance to all shops and restaurants. The pool was refreshing and staff so nice and friendly. We will be staying there in the future again!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenarnold54
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and found it very convenient to many local attractions. I am happy to hear that our staff gave your friendly service and that you had a chance to use the pool in our Fitness Center. We look forward to seeing you again in...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were in town to see The Phantom of the Opera at the Music Hall Theater. The Marriott Downtown is a one block walk from the theater. The room was very spacious, with a great view of Bartle Hall and the Allis Plaza as well as the rest of Kansas City. Bed was very comfortable with the firmness we like....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyatkinson1947
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your nice comments. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay and that we meet your expectations. I hope that you also enjoyed the show and hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is nice, the elevators a little challenging for many, ask for main tower, the adjoining tower is a bit of a walk. Problem with the hotel is lack of a good restaurant. There is a very limited menu in the bar with NO variations. Several items that include an egg but ask for just the egg and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steeleworker
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking he time to post your feedback. I do apologize that our new Fresh Bites program did not meet your expectations or needs during your stay. The program is different from a standard room service program but is designed to provide a more hassle free service by eliminating the trays, carts and signing a bill. We use...

Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ladies and Gentlemen: I was a guest in your hotel 1/23-27/17. I’m writing to advise you of chipped paint and a cracked ceiling. The staff was very nice and welcoming, the rest of the property was excellent as usual. However, I was very disappointed with the conditions of the bathroom. I took pictures. Sincerely, George Sneed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sneedgo
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking he time to post your feedback. I do apologize for the condition of the ceiling in your bathroom. We will research which room you were in and make sure that the issue is corrected immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for the nice comments about the staff and the rest of the...

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is outstanding. The service was top notch, the rooms delightful and the staff very accommodating. The conference sales staff, Dustin Holcumbrink was ver detailed oriented which helped the process run smoothly. The restaurant food was also very good. The bar in the Lobby is a bit pricey, but for an evening night cap it netbthe needs of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank atfcfices2
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that we took such good care of you during your stay with us. Thank you for the nice comments and I will be sure to share them specifically with Dustin as I know he will be pleased to hear that you were happy. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the...

Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were put up in the downtown Marriott for the week of our workshops at Cerner. The hotel staff were very good at managing large groups and the main hotel is pretty typical. There is a good lobby bar with light food as well as a coffee stand and formal restaurant. There is a connecting building kitty corner from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl B
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that we took good care of you and your group and look forward to doing so again next year. I do apologize that you were placed in an ADA room in the East Tower and the shower did not work out well for you. We will be starting major room...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The first thing you'll notice about this hotel is that there are no "traditional" elevator buttons in the elevator. You pick your floor from a panel in front of the elevator, and the elevator will come "on demand". It's supposed to be faster than a traditional elevator system, but nonetheless it was an interesting experience. The room was great, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank truthteller4life
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our new elevator system does take some getting used to but we have found that it is much more efficient then the old system and wait times for an elevator have decreased dramatically. I am also happy to...

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Marriott property is splendid, modern, and quite up to date. The snowy nighttime view from my south facing room on the 17th floor was beautiful. The service was spot on, attentive, helpful, and friendly. The room was a bit on the small side (no upgrade this time), but well designed and provided me a perfect night's rest after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasVoyager_BW
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room during the snow fall. I am pleased that our staff were brilliant hosts to you and assisted you with anything you may have needed through out your stay. We have received many compliments from our guests...

Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love Marriott hotels so I make this review not with any pleasure but because others should know how this hotel worked during my stay. Paid over $200/night in mid Jan 2017. Reception: they could have been friendlier. My reservation was for two double beds and after going to 17th floor it was one king. I love my mother but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lasameth
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction, and we failed you on that. I will address all of your concerns with the appropriate hotel teams to ensure that we make corrections moving forward and improve...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.4 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#17 of 109 in Kansas City
1,002 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#45 of 109 in Kansas City
508 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
BARCENTRAL
BARCENTRAL
Cuisines: American, Bar
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: ₹ 14,090 - ₹ 20,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kansas City Marriott Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Lombard, Illinois
7 months ago
Winnipeg, Canada
1 month ago
Colorado Springs, Colorado

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Kansas City Marriott Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a high floor room in the main building for the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles tonyatkinson1947, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for main tower”
 of 5 bubbles Steeleworker, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Convenient to downtown Kansas City”
 of 5 bubbles sneedgo, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Muehlebach Tower if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles KarlB852, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher the floor, the better the view. Ask for a southern view.”
  • The Auditorium
  • View from my room
  • The Plaza
  • View from my room
 of 5 bubbles TexasVoyager_BW, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5