We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greyhound Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Greyhound Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Greyhound Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 410: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Just called in sunday 7pm for somthing to eat, not much choice, only the carver. Went to help ourselves to vegetables, everything looked as if it had been there for a while, the stuffing balls were hard, just didn't look appetising at all. But we was really hungry so we stayed. Service wasent good, the girls were stood around talking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 47Eileen
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Eileen, Sorry for the delay in responding to your review. I am sorry your experience in our restaurant was disappointing and I would like to discuss your visit in more detail and would appreciate you contacting me direct on 01942 671256 or E-mailing me at greyhound.sales@hfyh.co.uk

england
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in room 207 for work purposes the room on the front and didn't sleep much as could hear traffic all night. The room was smelly, stained tea cups, bathroom tile missing, enamel paint peeling of the inside of the bath. Shower curtain didn't stop the water from going everywhere. Used the gym had modern equipment but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The3M's
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy many aspects of your stay. We value all guest feedback as it helps us to improve the products and services that we offer to our guests, please rest assured that your comments have been fully noted. We are currently refurbishing some of our bedrooms. You...

wales
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel and found the room staff and food all smashing. The carvery is great value for money and very nice. The issue is location! Great to find but right on the busy main road which has 24 hour non stop traffic. A shame because it really is a nice hotel. Sadly no sleep and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank demidrawers
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and if you stay with us again please ask for a room at the back which many of our guests prefer. Our location is on the A580 and is ideal for guests travelling in to the city and surrounding areas. Once again for taking...

Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

clean, nice staff, they even gave me a ticket for 2 pints for 2£ at their pub, few hotel have a gym..theirs is fine,english breakfast was great, it was included in my booking for an extra 10p...i have rebooked a few times..great price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marta b
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Linda

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 February 2016

This is fairly typical of a budget hotel - good without being special. Location is a bit out of the way but the staff are very pleasant and the rooms are comfortable, if functional. Breakfast is standard fair but of decent quality

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Michael, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Linda

Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

I had heard wonderful things about this place sadly it was destroyed. We visited the restaurant with family, it started ok, we weren't pressured straight away to order and given time to think about our choices, the order was placed with a slight disappointment of having no steaks with no prior notice of items not on the menu. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Caroline, Further to your review please can you call me direct on 01942 671256 so that we can discuss your visit further. It is always disappointing when our guests leave unhappy which thankfully doesn't happen very often and I now look forward to speaking with you soon. Regards Linda

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016

First time in five years of staying at this hotel that I had to chase the staff to order a meal and to then make things worse had to go to the bar to order my drinks for my meal. Waited 10 minutes to then get served only to sit down and see the new staff chatting on on their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Robin, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please can you contact me direct to discuss your last visit or drop me an E-mail to greyhound.sales@hfyh.co.uk. Regards Linda

Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

I paid for my Christmas do at the greyhound for the pop diva event. (Which was the more expensive one) Only to be told they had double booked and we were to be in a smaller room with Motown music. As I didn't book Motown I asked for a full refund to a woman called MARIA! and was told no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in December for one night. The reception staff were very polite and helpful however once we went into the room although spacious was very run down. The decor was in desperate need of a refresh. The bed/mattress was very rickety with very thin pillows. There was stains all over the under sheet and loads of cobwebs all over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaye577
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Not to bad, room was a good size. I didn't actually use the pool but I was told it wasn't to bad and had a sauna room as well. We only stayed the one night and we went to to the hotels restaurant (carvery) which was actually quite nice. If I was asked, would I recommend it I would probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen E

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leigh
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
8.0 km away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 km away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
12.3 km away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
6.0 km away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Greyhound Hotel

Address: Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Price Range: ₹ 2,882 - ₹ 5,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Greyhound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back of the hotel over look fields, so quiet !”
 of 5 bubbles chattypops, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“always read reviews”
 of 5 bubbles 1tonyhewitt, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 314 and 210”
 of 5 bubbles REBELWALES, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“suite sleeps upto 6 persons”
 of 5 bubbles O4529XBkevinh, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I doubt if there is one !!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles holidayqueenwales, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5