We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Greyhound Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Greyhound Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Greyhound Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 388: English reviews
Leigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Decided to stay here on the sat 18th with my partner! Never again! We was first in a double non smoking room however there was no signal from the TV so the lady on reception upgraded us to a smoking suite! The room itself felt so strange and draining had a very uncomfortable eerie feeling, when I say suite think... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank emily1066
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

One of the noisiest & most uncomfortable hotels I have had the 'pleasure' of staying in. It is situated directly next to a main roundabout with cars revving, screeching & beeping. The customer service was NOT welcoming either & I will not be retuning.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrBruce2015

Travellers are raving about these Leigh hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The restaurant facilities were almost non-existent due to Christmas parties. I've never experienced that before with a hotel. There was a sandwich menu available on the Friday and Saturday night until 8pm but no evening meals whatsoever. The weather was quite bad and the last thing we wanted to do was have to go and drive somewhere for food. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed their on sunday nite as we were going to corrie tour werent expecting to b anyfink special becuz of the price we paid but was shocked wen went into the room the walls were dirty skirting boards dirty ceiling was even dirty. The bath was cracked nd paint coming of and the shower curtain was stained so didnt... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
Horwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend have had a couple of excellent visits and it is value for money and the sauna and steam room are good we enjoyed a nice swim and the evening time we had a good carvery meal . I would highly recommend a visit here p

Helpful?
1 Thank David W
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2015

I don't really write many reviews but this hotel definitely deserves one. I have been staying here for the past few weeks with work moved from the premier inn as this hotel has fantastic facilities. A big thank you to Linda Toung as she has gone above and behond to make us feel welcome and been a great help looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahjakeman
Warrington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here after booking into a local restaurant. Paid a very reasonable price for B&B. Positives: The room was well insulated and quiet. Good provision of towels. Friendly, helpful staff. Free parking. Great buffet breakfast. Good price. Clean. Negatives: The pillows were wafer thin. The shower pressure was not good. A trickle at best. The rooms could do with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SAZ1975
Marlow, Bucks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Hotel needs a good makeover but then its not very expensive. On entering the room it was quite obvious it had not been made up from the previous occupants. A new room was given. The carpets were dirty and the it had a musty smell, the toilet hadn't been cleaner very well. We booked the carvery. It could have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I stayed here as part of a Coach Tour to Coronation Street, luckily, for just one night! The room was nice & big, with two large beds, but the beds were cheap & uncomfortable, the pillows & duvets were heavy & flat. There were cobwebs, a stained carpet, the lights were so dim you could hardly see after dark. Dinner... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank vivaro66
Linda T, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I am really disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are currently working on improvements to the hotel so your feedback is most welcome and will be considered whilst we're planning the refurbishment. If you come back to the Greyhound I would love to have... More 

North Yorks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Hm, well, I wouldn't stay here again unless I was desperate. The staff are very friendly and do their best to be helpful, but the rooms are crying out for a makeover. Our room door was as stiff as hell. A child could not have opened it, so it was a H&S hazard. There was no soap in the dispensers,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Redzed3
Linda T, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I'm really sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please be assured that the comments you have made will be relayed to the relevant department heads to allow us to improve on these and hopefully limit any future disappointments. I shall also be passing your comments to the Chef regarding your meal.... More 

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leigh
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
4.8 km away
Travelodge Warrington Lowton Hotel
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#6 of 21 in Warrington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.6 km away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
1,076 reviews
9.1 km away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Greyhound Hotel

Address: Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Price Range: ₹ 3,290 - ₹ 5,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Greyhound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I doubt if there is one !!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles holidayqueenwales, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“bring ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles craigharrison2016, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the back away from the A580”
 of 5 bubbles 305alang, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“our room ground flour op main road no probs”
 of 5 bubbles lynnew575, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“a room with a new mattresse.”
 of 5 bubbles U3456PEjuliew, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay