We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castaways Moreton Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulwer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Castaways Moreton Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Castaways Moreton Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff and a very relaxed environment. Food was delicious and very well priced. Unit was spacious and well equipped. Very happy with the stay. Easily accessible by 4 wheel drive and only a stones throw from the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clint D
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Glamping with the family for the 3rd time was amazing, always so much fun. Tents are clean and very comfortable. The tents are showing their age though, zippers are playing up but didn't stop the experience. Communal kitchen was clean and convenient. Thanks again for an amazing holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel R
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We spent two nights here and two nights at the resort. Staff were very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. Food was awesome. We got the vegetarian glamping pack and it amazing food and we had left overs. Staff was willing to share their local knowledge. It is also cheaper to hire equipment here than down at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heidi154
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review Heidi. We're glad that you had a good time unplugging on Moreton Island! We do have a great bunch of staff over there - I'll pass on your fantastic feedback. Hope to see you again soon!!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

was such a cool experience, I did this on my own while my friend had to work back in Brisbane. Pristine beaches 2 mins walk away, beach to yourself, the tents are gorgeous, I was lucky enough to have an impressive storm overnight I got to listen to. Definitely want to go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessANZ
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jess - can't wait to see you again!

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a long weekend in the glamping tents as a special treat for us! The tents are beautiful as is the manicured campsite. There are only a few tents on the site located right next to the store. The communal kitchen facilities have everything you would need with a gas cooktop stove, two 6 burner BBQs fridges and all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa M
Woolgoolga, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 in the glamping tents. We arrived early and was greeted with a smile and taken straight to our tent spacious large tents with comfy beds and a bathroom, only downfall was very dim light hard for reading, well equipped camp kitchen with everything you would need for cooking close to the tents. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelmummi
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time glamping here over the weekend. Tents are clean and spacious. Love that there is an ensuite. The tents are surrounded by beautiful well manicured gardens. Big trampoline for the kids to play on. The food was delicious and the serves are generous. All the staff are so warm and welcoming. Would recommend staying here to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingmika
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We stayed two nights without a car on the Island (car would be much better to have) - We loved the location, the safe beach for the kids to spend hours playing, fishing and just being kids. The accommodation was good and comfortable - to avoid being disappointed think of it as a permanent tented camp, rather than glamping (glamour-camping)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Our family of 4 tried glamping for the first time at Castaways in Bulwer Moreton island for 2 nights. First night and we're already wishing we should havr booked our stay a bit longer. True to what their website says, it's an experience like no other. Comfy and spacious accommodation for the four of us, tidy and functional bathroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felix V
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful review Felix, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. That is a great tip for young families, the tents you're referring to would be tents 1 and 2, although tent 7 is also close to the other carpark (outside the Castaways Store). We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 July 2016

To be honest we weren't expecting much and Brisbane was going through a cold patch so we were anticipating a miserable time. Couldn't be more wrong. Although there isn't a lot of signage on the island generally we had no problems finding Castaways and the drive in wasn't a big challenge except for some cut-ins off the beach where a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ken a
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Hi Ken, Thanks so much for giving us your feedback on your recent Glamping experience! Sounds like you had a great Winter getaway and you managed to keep yourself warm! We look forward to seeing you again next year when you do it all again. The Moreton Island Escape Team.

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulwer
11.8 km away
Tangalooma Island Resort
Tangalooma Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Moreton Island
1,366 reviews
30.6 km away
Oaks Mon Komo
Oaks Mon Komo
#2 of 4 in Redcliffe
353 reviews
34.2 km away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
On the Beach Resort
On the Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Bribie Island
82 reviews
21.1 km away
Bribie Waterways Motel
Bribie Waterways Motel
#1 of 2 in Bribie Island
55 reviews
16.5 km away
Fairways Golf & Beach Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you love the idea of getting out into the great outdoors but can't stand the creepy crawlies, sandy bed or thought of needing a shovel to go to the toilet, glamping's probably the answer! We've got 9 beautifully furnished tents, complete with a queen size bed, private ensuite and veranda overlooking the giant Moreton Melaleuca trees. When you're glamping, there's no tent to pitch, no sleeping bag to unroll, no fire to build! Glamping is a way to experience the great outdoors without sacrificing luxury. The beach is just a short stroll from your front door (well, tent flap), you can grab a meal at the on-site cafe, cook on the communal barbie in the camp kitchen or just put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine knowing you're not facing another night of sleeping on a half inflated blow-up! We have a mixture of 2 person and 4 person tents nestled amongst the giant Melaleuca trees of Moreton Island, with pristine beaches 100 metres from your door. A Glamp kitchen is also available for our guests to use, including tea & coffee making facilities & Barbeques. If you are bringing your own 4WD vehicle, Bulwer is a short drive to the Cape Moreton Lighthouse (see the whales in season)Champagne Rock Pools and Honeymoon Bay, which are some of the most spectacular sights on the Island. No 4wd? No problem, we can arrange on Island tours that include snorkelling amongst amazing amounts of beautiful fish at the wrecks and sandboarding down massive sand dunes. Castaways has an on-site restaurant so you'll never go hungry as well as a convenience store for all your holiday essentials. Moreton Island is a secret holiday paradise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Moreton Island

Address: 100 Moreton St, Bulwer, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025, Australia (Formerly Moreton Island Eco Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Island > Bulwer
Price Range: ₹ 6,697 - ₹ 9,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Moreton Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“as it is glamping it is tent accommadation with ensuite. We had tent 3 which we found to be in a good spot.”
 of 5 bubbles kerryn56, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent #1 is near the trampoline, so if you want to be close to the kids this is a good option.”
 of 5 bubbles don11Brisbane, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring own water, food and games/ball for the kids”
 of 5 bubbles frenchiet2014, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Tent 6 was probably the most private. We were in Tent 5 and it was fine. Probably avoid the tent facing the firepit.”
 of 5 bubbles 164kena, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Too hard to upload photos.”
 of 5 bubbles gavinross10, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5