We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2014

there was no place to sit and eat downstairs by the lobby. the "GRAB AND GO BREAKFAST" was a joke, it matches it's name, as there is no place to eat it. it consists of a granola bar,some fruit, muffins and coffee. oh, and oatmeal that you have to eat on the shuttle on the way to Mayo clinic. there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky H
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. The situation you described regarding your handicap room not being available is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am working to review our reservation system and procedures so that we can work to prevent this from happening again. As... More 

West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel is nothing fancy.. kitchenette, all working facilities (A/C, TV, shower, laundry) and convenient to the Mayo Clinic where we went daily. However, there is no fitness center, lounge or outdoor seating. The benefit is the price. Half of what most hotels charge if you book in advance online. If you're on a budget, I would recommend this place.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CBRabenecker
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel overall and that my staff provided you with such great service. I am so pleased to read that you found us to be such a great value. The staff and I would like to thank you again for... More 

Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the second time in five weeks we paid for a non-smoking room and received a room that smelled like an antique ash tray in a smoker's lounge. It will not happen a third time as this is our last stay at Extended Stay America South in Rochester, MN.

Helpful?
Thank Brad S
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Brad - We read your comments about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We can assure you that we have spoken with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Just so you know for future reference, if you book through a third party site, it does state that room... More 

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel staff are excellent - friendly and help you to the best of their abilities. The only draw back is the corporate office decided they were no longer going to have their kitchen amenities that they advertise. Poor decision on their side. I will no longer be staying at any ESA's

Helpful?
Thank Janet C
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Janet - We read your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff; however, we apologize that you were not informed of our customizable kitchen packs. We are now storing our kitchenware in a sterile environment to ensure our guest's receive the cleanest items possible. Our guests can customize their kitchen with whichever... More 

Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Rochester South Extended Stay America on July 17th. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel could use some redecorating & Updating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there since we had a family member at the Mayo Clinic. We would definitly stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Stanley V
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Stanley - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you were pleased with your clean, comfortable room and that our staff provided you with friendly service. We would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I like this hotel because the room is only cleaned once a week, I don't mind making my own bed. The hotel carpet needed to be cleaner, but other than that, it was fairly clean. Staff was very nice and the hotel was quiet. It's a bare bones place, the price was right

Helpful?
Thank sequoiababe
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our housekeeping service; however, I do apologize for the cleanliness issues with your carpet. I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. The staff and I would like... More 

Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
342 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

These lovely rooms, located a 5 min drive from the Mayo, are clean and well appointed and homelike, with cupboards and appliances and all the conveniences of a home. The staff is useful, courteous and welcoming and when our rental truck's roof collapsed, they were compassion itself and even extended the check out time for us! The breakfast is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KaTe2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm thrilled that our staff took such good care of you. We strive to provide our guests with all the comforts of home, so I am so happy to read that you had such a comfortable and home-like experience at our hotel. The staff and I would like to thank... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
196 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here one night. The carpeting had lots of stains and the beds were like sleeping on plywood. Would only stay here again if nothing else on the south side of Rochester was available. Staff were all very efficient and friendly. Complimentary coffee and fruit is a nice benefit in the morning.

Helpful?
Thank John G
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

John - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast and found our staff to be friendly; however, we apologize that our beds we're too hard for your liking, as well as, for the stained carpet you described. In response to your feedback, we are having... More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I like the kitchen in the room & the recliner, but my floor smelled of cigarette smoke (although the room did not), and the fluorescent lighting in the room was unpleasant. There were also a few carpet stains in my room & the hall (along with what appeared to be cigarette ashes in the hall which was never cleaned up... More 

Helpful?
Thank snowz451
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your fully equipped kitchen and the recliner in your room. Still, I am sorry to hear that you experienced cleanliness issues at our hotel. I am meeting with our housekeeping staff to review your comments to ensure your experience isn’t repeated. As well, I also... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a pretty bare bones hotel but the property is clean, the staff is friendly and I got a great rate ($50/night plus taxes). The rooms are spacious but you will need to supply your own toiletries, coffee and the morning breakfast is a grab-and-go with instant oatmeal, muffins, some fruit and coffee. Room cleaning service is included in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel and your stay. The staff and I are proud to have provided you with a clean room at a great rate. As this hotel's manager, I am especially pleased to read that my staff was friendly. The staff... More 

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
11.0 km away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - North
0.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Rochester South
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
10.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
1.4 km away
Comfort Suites Rochester
Comfort Suites Rochester
#22 of 53 in Rochester
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Address: 55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Price Range: ₹ 5,864 - ₹ 7,296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Rochester - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Extended Stay America - Rochester - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Rochester
Extended Stay America Rochester
Rochester Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Rochester - South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles RonG183, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stay on third floor. the floors are not well insulated and you can hear people above you”
 of 5 bubbles 815briank, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Even the highway side is very quiet. The all new windows is probably responsible.”
 of 5 bubbles T4888AWjamess, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you are a smoker go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 282conniec, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Make sure who u are booking it with”
 of 5 bubbles Peepsie71, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay