We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Snelling Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Snelling Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was clean. Improvements on the hotel were obvious. Close to the light rail station to head downtown. The shower was warm. The only complaint I have is its off the beaten path and no food options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Medcity
Lake Wissota, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We couldn't be happier that we found this gem!! It's right on the train route so we stay there for games, concerts, any event. The rooms are clean and recently renovated. The owners are absolutely amazing and we feel like we're home whenever we stay. We'll never stay anywhere else!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reyna Z
Jackson, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Stayed overnight for football game- Clean comfortable large room, super convenient to get to US Bank Stadium, Airport and Mall of America. If you can bring drinks and food because there is nothing around and seems like the town shuts down @11pm. Its not a 5 star hotel- so if that don't matter to you- this place is a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We spent 5 days at Snelling Motel. We were searching a hotel not far from Macalester College where our son enrolled, and the net informed us about Snelling Motel. It is a small motel run by a family. The motel doesn't have amenities, no even a small vending machine. The trains run all the time, it is so noisy. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elmoiz A
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Thank You Snelling Motel! - for providing a Clean and Safe place to stay on my visits to Minneapolis - your proximity to Light Rail Transit, which connects to the Airport, Mall of America and all the Downtown venues is a Plus - i also like that you are near the Hiawatha corridor but not on it - and also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip L
Dinup P, Owner at Snelling Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Stayed for 2 nights for football. Easy enough to get into town via tram. Lovely sized room which was very comfortable. I chose it as I had an early flight the next morning and this is ideal for the airport. The staff very polite and helpful. The only drawback for me would be there are no shops or anything around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil H
Dinup P, Owner at Snelling Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Snelling in Minneapolis to see Chelsea FC play AC Milan at the U.S. bank stadium. It was conveniently located a block away from the blue line train that took us straight to the stadium. The room was clean and the king bed was very comfy. Would def stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather S
Dinup P, Owner at Snelling Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 26 June 2016

My son and I stayed here two nights while he had an audition. We needed an inexpensive place to stay and I found Snelling Motel. They are doing updating but it did not disturb us at all. Our refrigerator was not working and we were immediately put into another room. We were offered bottles of water for the fridge. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AMS_Colorado
Dinup P, Guest Relations Manager at Snelling Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for sharing your experience. We always strive to provide the best customer service. We are glad that we've made your stay comfortable. Thank You and See you sometime soon.

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

After a terrible day of cancelled flights and long lines, and no available hotel rooms. My husband called around and found a hotel room for me. It was great to be someplace that was friendly and helpful. They are remodeling and this older motel will have a fresher look in the future. They truly care about their customers. Made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dwayne r
Dinup P, Guest Relations Manager at Snelling Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for sharing your experience. We are glad that we've met your expectations. We always want our customers to have a smooth and relax stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This hotel does not have 4 star amenities. The rooms are dated, the carpet needs to be replaced. But what it does have that makes it outstanding in my view is the kindness and understanding my family and I received from the owners. We were in Minneapolis reeling from a sudden death of a young person in my family. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Betty R
Dinup P, Guest Relations Manager at Snelling Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for sharing your experience. We are extremely sorry for your loss. Thank You and See you again.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Days Hotel University Ave SE
#33 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,018 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University / Dinkytown
University Inn
University Inn
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
261 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Snelling Motel

Address: 5346 Minnehaha Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55417-2329
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Price Range: ₹ 6,721 - ₹ 7,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Snelling Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Snelling Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snelling Hotel Minneapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Snelling Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
4 months ago
Duluth, Minnesota

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Snelling Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 29 has a good TV Bathroom and A/C slept right thru the Light rail noise”
 of 5 bubbles 785PaulB785, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“they have some newly remodeled rooms with great lighting and large tiled showers”
 of 5 bubbles philiplC2973VW, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not go to this motel!”
 of 5 bubbles 562tammyg, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room situated on the other side of the streetcar.”
 of 5 bubbles Raylan18, 22 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Stay away; new owners could care less about you or your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles ArtB27, 19 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay