We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embudu Village

Save
Share
20012
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2915)
Pool & Beach (746)
Room & Suite (300)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 14/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Embudu Village
Updated 14/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Embudu Village Situated in South Male’ Atoll, it takes 20 minutes’ speedboat ride from Velana International Airport to reach the island. This simple yet naturally beautiful private island is 3 km long and takes about 20 minutes to walk from one end to the other. Blessed with a beautiful white sandy beach, the island itself is an idyllic natural hideaway, with lush tropical vegetation and opal white beaches which can be considered as one of the most affordable resorts to enjoy the natural beauty of the Maldives. The hotel features beautiful 122 cozy rooms including Beach Bungalows and Water Villas. Being one of the first resorts in the Maldives, Embudu is famous for its stunning house reef and spectacular world class dive sites which 35 of them are in close proximity. Rays, sharks, turtles, morays and many other amazing creatures can be found in the house reef alone. With some of the most experienced dive instructors in the industry; Diverland – Embudu offers extensive range of scuba
Read more
Property amenities
Internet
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Darts
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German
1233Reviews224Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 656
  • 444
  • 99
  • 22
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kalpana G wrote a review 6 Dec
2 contributions
I visited with my 3 friends for 3 days in December2021. It was a wonderful holiday. We stayed in the water bungalow. Even sitting on the deck gave amazing sightings of tropical fish. We loved snorkelling in the house reef. Visit to sand banks was the highlight of the trip .We had lot of fun.The food was very good. The staff at restaurant was very polite and helpful. I wish to visit this place again with my family. On the whole it was a lovely 3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Water bungalows would be good choice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Mihaela C wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I had the best time at Embudu Village, and the staff is amazing. I highly recommend it to anyone, me and my friends stayed for 15 days and I wouldn’t have chosen to stay anywhere else. The food is incredible and there is a vast variety of options. If you do go, all inclusive is a no brainer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Michaela We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. And thank you for your heartfelt recommendation. Truly happy to know that you left with such a positive impression about our resort. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to know that you had a fabulous stay with us and loved the tranquil atmosphere and natural beautiful of the resort. Furthermore, we are truly happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality, service and the quality and variety of our food provided by our team of talented chefs. Thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our property and team’s exceptional service. Our team is highly motivated to accommodate the needs of our valuable guests, such as yourself, with the utmost care and services rendered straight from their heart. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and comfort they deserve. We cannot thank you enough for your very kind words and certainly we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Reservations Manager Rasheed
Read more
Emewee wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Embudu village was an absolute delight. I highly recommend. Given the fact it’s a 3 star resort, there’s going to be some facilities that are not available, but it makes the Maldives accessible without breaking the bank. Don’t expect what you would of a more expensive resort. The staff were absolutely on-point. They were attentive, friendly, and had a good laugh with me and my friends on a daily basis. From the bar staff, reception and the restaurant, they were all great. The general manager is also always looking out and making sure guests are satisfied too. Comparing staff at Embudu to the likes of a 5 star resort I stayed at , I found that Embudu staff were much more personable and friendly. Me and my fiends were lucky enough to be given a complimentary upgrade on our last night to a water villa which was just amazing. The reef is incredible and so close to the beach. Snorkelling was a breeze and you can see literally thousands of fish without the need to dive. I got so much epic GoPro footage. The stingray and sharks were a highlight! Many other guests confirmed Embudu has the best reef compared to other resorts. Food - oh my goodness. The buffets were faultless. Everyday a different theme is adopted, so the food never gets samey. I stayed for 14 nights and never got bored of the choice. Vegetarians are well catered for with plenty of dishes and salads. Everything is fresh and tastes great. They really knock desserts out of the park - I had to ask for the recipe for their cheesecakes because it was so good. We went for full board so this includes buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. There’s also a mid-afternoon tea for those all inclusive. The beaches at Embudu are clean, and picture perfect. There’s a variety of huge sandbanks or small coves to sit in with overhanging palm trees. Although the island is small, it doesn’t feel that way with so many spots to sit and sunbathe. Embudu village offers a number of excursions at reasonable prices, this includes stingray city, dolphin crusies, night fishing etc. they also have a on-site dive school offering excursions and diving lessons. The dolphin tour and 5min boat ride out to the stingrays and sharks were a huge highlight! No frills in terms of other facilities, they do have a brand new billiards table, table tennis, badminton court and volleyball court. We had so much fun using these on days where it was too hot to sunbathe. These are all free to use. They also have a spa on site. Rooms were clean and provided everything needed. No frills again, but the water bungalow is much bigger and airy, with a glass floor, balcony overlooking the sea, and jacuzzi bath with glass roof. The only fault I could give Embudu village is to liven up the bar scene a bit and change the playlist. Although they hold events on Friday and Sunday with live music, during the rest of the week it’s quite dull. Candles and more atmosphere needed. Overall an absolute fantastic stay was had at embudu village, and if you’re looking for a resort with great ocean life within easy reach then this is the place to go!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. Truly happy to know that you left with such a positive impression about our resort. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to know that your fantastic experience with us at our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and natural beauty. Furthermore, we are truly happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality, service, cleanliness and the quality and variety of our food provided by our team of talented chefs. Thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our property and team’s exceptional service. Our team is highly motivated to accommodate the needs of our valuable guests, such as yourself, with the utmost care and services rendered straight from their heart. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and comfort they deserve. We cannot thank you enough for your very kind words and certainly we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Reservations Manager Rasheed.
Read more
Lordv wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions6 helpful votes
I had visited this beautiful island in November 2021. I am writing this review based on my overall experience as an Indian tourist.My views might be helpful . Location Island is just 10-15 speedboat ride from Velana Airport.You can easily save atleast entire day if you choose Island near to Male airport. Staff : Staff are helpful but the room service with respect to housekeeping is very slow.I had to call 4 to 5 times just to get my room cleaned. Room: Rooms are good and airy.Lighting i the rooms are too less.Location of the rooms are just walking distance to the beach.I would recommend rooms near 50 to 60 number as the beach view is beautiful from there. Watervilla had one issue that u can smell diesel fumes from genset. Beach : Its beautiful lots of pointy stones and corals so swimming in some places is difficult but you will find all varieties of fish there.We saw fish turtles crabs sharks etc right from water villa. Water Activities: This place is meant for scuba divers .Additionally there are sunrise and sunset fishing.Dolphin tour was awesome. Food:Food was a major downside. There is hardly any vegetarian option.Same Dal and steamed rice with Papad repeated almost every day.If you are an Indian and vegetarian you will be pissed off with the sheer disrespect and bias shown by the management by putting the same daal and rice again and again.I wo der if it was even fresh.Yes they keep some sauted vegetables but that too so flvourless.I understand that majority of the guest are german and Russian But you cannot just be disrespectful towards Indians by serving the same daal and rice again and again. It would be better if you don't take Indian bookings if you have so much issue making basic indian food. Bar:Bar was good rustic vibes.Drinks were priced reasonable. Some advice to people booking 1.Dont buy Data sim.Internet works fine in most places on the resort. You will save 50 to 60 usd for the trip. 2.Go full board .(If you are Indian and vegetarian bring packed food otherwise you will feel pissed with same daal and rice.I wonder if they have heard of Idli samber poha etc ) Major charges Green tax 6 usd per person per night Covid test Usd 80 per person Transfer cost :80 per person 40 per child. Dolphin tour etc : 32 to 40 usd per person.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives. We absolutely value and appreciate your feedback as it helps to evaluate on what is important for our guests. We are delighted to know that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us and loved our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and natural beauty. Also, we are happy to know that you had enjoyed snorkeling in our beautiful house reef around the island with rich marine life. On the other note we regret to hear that in some areas we were unable to live up to our expectations during your stay and it is very disappointing for us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We are committed to achieving maximum guest satisfaction. and appreciate comments such as yours. Please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been highlighted to our Team for further improvement. Once again, we thank you for your feedback. We will surely work towards improving your experience during your next visit. Allow us the opportunity to serve you again. Reservations Manager Rasheed
Read more
Beshoy Elyas wrote a review Nov 2021
Hurghada, Egypt101 contributions104 helpful votes
Trip Advisor Review Hello There, I want to share my comprehensive feedback about this beautiful resort. First, of all the reservation manager was so cooperable to qll our requests and answered our inquires on daily basis via email After Arrival, the guys from the hotel were waiting for us for the speedboat transfer. The speedboat was neat and everybody was nice, they carried our luggage and delivered it to our rooms. The check-in process was smooth and easy. They offered a welcome drink which I didn't personally like actually. We stayed in the Water Villa. If you have the change to book it, never hesitate. It deserves every penny. The villa was clean and the experience of being over the water was unforgettable. House keeping used to clean the villa everyday and provide you with towels and water. There is NO iron. There was no electricity slots.only one in the whole Villa. So make sure to be prepared. The mattress was ok and the pillows were fine. Not super comfy but ok. The Balacony was amazing and it had a nice seating area. The window glass on the floor was a cool. We coud see fish 🐠 right below us. There are several beaches surrounding the Resort. Make sure to visit all. They are all accessible by foot not far away from each other. The sun ☀ is crazy there actually. It was just 30 but I got burnt as if it's 45 Celsius. However, when it's not clear you can't enjoy the snorkeling. So make sure to check the forecast to go on sunny days. It rained only at one night during our vacation. There was a big umbrella ☔ in our villa. There is a torch 🔦 inside each villa but without batteries. Make sure to take for regular batteries with you to use it. The food was beyond our expectations. We didn't expect much actually from a 3 star hotel regarding the food, but it was great. All varieties for all nationalities, good varieties for vegetarians as well. We took the full board option. This doesn't include any drinks even coffee or water at meal times. Only juice was included during breakfast. Drinks were available at reasonable prices. 6usd for beer and wine 🍻 / 🍷, 3 usd for water. There is a breathtaking bar there overlooking the beautiful ocean. You must have a seat there on sunset and enjoy your drink. At night they arrange disco night and some bands play music. There is a baby-foot /billiards 8/table tennis (but broken unfortunately) Snorkeling is a easy for beginners, you can see lots of colorful fish 🐠 At night you can watch the fish at the pier some sharks 🦈 as well Wake up a bit early before sunset to watch sharks around the pier. There is a shop for Souvenirs there with acceptable prices. But prices are much better in the airport shops before departure. The checkout process was very well organized and easy They granted us a free late checkout that was very nice actually. We arrived at the airport and met a guy who claims that he works for the hotel but he doesn't. He just got our flight data from the hotel ( without my permission but it's ok nothing bad happened). He offered a city tour in Male as we had 5 hours free before our flight. The tour was Ok. Don't expect to see much at Male. We left our luggage at the airport with a fee if 6usd oer bag. By the end if the tour we gave him 20 usd and ge was grateful for that. I didn't see a pharmacy at the resort. Not sure if there was one. I usually travel with my first aid kits. Final advice. Lool for prices at the hotel website as you might find extra discount there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We continuously strive to ensure all our guests have a remarkable experience with us and beautiful Embudu memories. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to know that you had wonderful experience with us at our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere. Furthermore we are truly happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality, service and the quality and variety of our food provided by our team of talented chefs. Thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our property and team’s exceptional service. Our team is highly motivated to accommodate the needs of our valuable guests, such as yourself, with the utmost care and services rendered straight from their heart. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and comfort they deserve. Once again thank you for you kind words. It was certainly our pleasure to take care of you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Rasheed
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$199 - US$545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
embudu village hotel emboodhu finolhu, embudu village male, embudu village hotel male
LOCATION
MaldivesKaafu AtollSouth Male AtollEmbudu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Embudu Village
What are some of the property amenities at Embudu Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Embudu Village?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Embudu Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kinkao Thai Bistro, Kebab & Kurry Maldives, and Hard Rock Cafe Maldives.
Does Embudu Village have airport transportation?
Yes, Embudu Village offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Embudu Village located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Embudu.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Embudu Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Embudu Village?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mulee Aage (10.4 km).
Does Embudu Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.