We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Rapids

Expedia.comUS$ 76*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Rapids
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Rapids
 Click to rate
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is being fixed up by the present owners. The room I was in is beautifully decorated and the bed was perfect. I would have like a bit more light but opening the shade meant looking onto an ugly industrial storage site. I had a quiet night's sleep. I recommend this place for the price too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madrecj
Reviewed 1 week ago

The renovated room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom towels were nice and fluffy and the shower had good pressure. I was surprised that there was a toaster in the room along with dishes and basic silverware for two people. The only thing that was missing was a hair blower. We mentioned that the lighting in the room needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived we were given one of the non-renovated rooms. It had a double bed (I had booked a queen) and was in really rough shape. It looked NOTHING like the online pictures. Uhh, no. After complaining to the front desk, we were moved to one of the renovated rooms, which was far nicer. Looks like they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl416
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed here due to a last minute change in hockey venues. Most places were booked. This place was very economic compared to others in the area. Front desk was very friendly. There was a flat screen TV, nice towels, and the AC worked great! It was 90 degrees so that was key! The beds were very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
Zumbrota, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Glad I stayed at this hotel! The lower price was great as I had to be in town a few nights on a budget. Comfortable bed. Very clean room. Nice, fluffy towels. Very helpful and friendly staff. Things are a bit rough around the edges right now, but they are obviously working hard to make it a very comfortable place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita-AW5450
Clinton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I stayed here in 2015 and came away with the feeling that for the price, I couldn't have done a whole lot better than Hotel Rapids. In fact, last year I stayed at another hotel in town a couple nights before, was charged a little more, and felt that place was terrible in comparison. Fast forward to this summer, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike S
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Decent clean room, decent prompt maid service. Terrible WIFI. The hotel consists of 2 buildings and we were in a room in the second building. The Wifi was spotty (even with the boosters). When we mentioned this the guy working said there was nothing he could do about it. Not in a bad or mean way...just in a truthful resigned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smillie-girl
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are working on our internet issues.

Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

I almost skipped this place because of the old bad reviews. I'm glad that the lady who works in the area wrote hers. All the other hotels in area were full and well over $100. I tried this little place to avoid driving more. It was older, but redone and very clean. Wireless, refrigerator, and microwave, and flat screen TV...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn T
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 March 2015

I’m working in the Grand Rapids area from out of town. I’ve heard ALL the “Horror Stories” for sure. I also know that this place is under new management, and working hard at it. I stay there by the week and don’t ask for much, but I find they work hard to meet my request when I do. They’re also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IronworkerThankUDave
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 July 2013

got a aarp discount on the room,very dated,but cozy & everything worked,bibbest & only complaint was the very uncomfortable bed.was like dumbo the elephant sat in the miidle.we both rolled towards the middle all night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff B
Management response:

We've currently replaced all of our old and damaged mattresses.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
3.2 km away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
2.6 km away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
208 reviews
13.0 km away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
316 reviews
1.3 km away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#8 of 11 in Grand Rapids
46 reviews
24.0 km away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Rapids

Address: 311 US Highway 2 East, Grand Rapids, MN 55744 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Grand Rapids)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Price Range: ₹ 4,536 - ₹ 5,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Rapids staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Duluth, Minnesota
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rapids staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a newly remodeled room. Hallways smell a little musty, but room was fine.”
Anita-AW5450, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just call them and ask about the other reviews. Like I said, they're making changes.”
IronworkerThankUDave, 6 Mar 2015 | Read review
“no pool,not a big deal-& many great restraunts in the area.”
JeffB633, 14 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Find another motel”
JustAnOldGuy, 12 Nov 2012 | Read review
“dont stay here”
guest0404, 26 Jun 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 76* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 76
Hotels.comUS$ 76
TravelocityUS$ 76
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates