We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Downtown Duluth Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Downtown Duluth Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 323: English reviews
Minneapolis
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Can't beat the price for the location! We walked to Canal Park and Bentleyville and the next morning replenished ourselves with a very hearty continental breakfast. It was perfect for our family weekend getaway.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 793mntraveler
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I always stay at the Downtown Duluth. Its a home away from home for me. The staff is helpful and the hotel is in a god location for walking to the waterfront. The beds are comfortable and the cleaning staff do a great job. I like the coffee maker in the room. One of the best things is the free...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianea926
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Diane Thank you for choosing us for all of your stays. We appreciate it very much. We look forward to next time Thank you

Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

No heat in first room we did get moved to a different room where the heat worked also phone did not work. Breakfast room is to small for how many guest you have. Check in staff was very friendly but not good with directions. Check out staff was to busy in the back area eating to notice that she had...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T6227OAmaryb
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for the disappointments you experienced and we will definitely check into this. Thank you so much for letting us know. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you Clindgren

Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

location was convenient. room was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. good breakfast; simple but a variety. quiet. Nice location to the harbor and restaurants. No frills, so if you are looking for a pool don't stay here. If you want a place to quietly relax in your room, then this is the place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikespats
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you were happy with you stay and you had some relaxation time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Baldwin, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

When I visit a city I like to park the car and walk to everything. The DDM is perfectly situated for walking to the lake and Canal park. The Bentleyville Christmas lights are just a short stroll down the hill. Even in the extreme cold we enjoyed walking along the lake to the lift bridge and other area attractions. Good...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dangeruss2017
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Dangeruss2017 we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Duluth can be pretty chilly but the cold is worth the walk to see all it has to offer. Thank you and hope to see you again in the future.

Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was great, but not happy without certain items not in the room and the noise of outside doors slamming all night long. People running up and down the stairs cussing. Not a good place for families with kids to stay. Very restless nights we had. :(

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gloriao979
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

gloriao979 First of all we would like to say thank you for taking the time to post your review. Secondly we would like to apologize for the problems you experienced. We strive for great guest satisfaction and are not happy when we fall short. Hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you

Anoka, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, close to everything, and very affordable! Hotel is within two blocks of the skyway system that can get you anywhere if the weather is cold outside. Within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and activities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlene913
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Arlene 913 Thank you for staying with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your review we greatly appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you.

Bemidji, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

I will stay there again. Our stays with you have always been very good and we've recommended you to friends and family. The location is great for our visits to Duluth for curling. Very easy to get to.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janfV9478XX
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

janfv9478xx thank you for staying with us. We would also like to let you know how much we appreciate you referring us to family and friends. Thank you.

Chassell, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Title says it alll. But heat problems caused lower rating and the fact that staff person did not know what to do. There should be a maintenance person on duty or on call. Or staff person should know what to do other than offer a blanket.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliot H
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

Eliot H I am sorry that the staff only offered you a blanket. I will share this with them and let them know what else they should of done for you. I apologize for this and I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you for staying with us.

Clearwater
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is old & outdated. Rooms were clean but definitely run down. Parking is very tight. The person checking us in was highly innovative. It was one of the cheapest places to stay in Duluth and that certainly is reflected on the place. The place looks a little scary.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 480angiez
Christina L, General Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review

480angiez We would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. It is greatly appreciated. We are sorry you were not happy with your stay with us and we apologize for falling short on guest satisfaction. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
4.7 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.8 km away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#19 of 32 in Duluth
331 reviews
0.6 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802-2193 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: ₹ 4,493 - ₹ 11,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Downtown Duluth Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the laundry and see if their wireless internet is working.”
 of 5 bubbles Teejaaa, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“IF you must stay here, ask for a room that doesn't smell!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 466kathryng, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Loved being able to park right outside the room. Very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles anitalubrock4556, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Preferred the rooms on ground level”
 of 5 bubbles CarverDude, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room away from the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles Karr, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay