We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We stayed here poolside in December. Staying in December you have the advantage of this hotel being part of the skyway. This means you can get anywhere downtown or even to Canal park in the warmth of indoors. Unfortunately that is the best part of the hotel. The room walls are paper thin and you could literally have a conversation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clive Z
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Clive Z, Thank you for your review of your stay and for staying with us. I'm so sorry that you didn't have a relaxing night at our hotel. Our two pool areas can be busy at times but we do want our guests to have a great stay and it sounds like it didn't happen while you stayed with us....

Rosemount, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here numerous times and although the rooms have been remodeled the rooms still had an outdated feel to them. This hotel is located downtown Duluth. The front desk staff is very professional and friendly. It seems that my luck always gets tested when I stay here. Last time I had what appeared to be a homemade bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike N
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Mike N, Thank you for staying with us while in Duluth and for taking the time to give us a review on your stay. I'm so sorry to hear you had an issue with your door lock during your stay. I'm glad to hear that our front desk and maintenance teams quickly resolved that for you as we do take...

Reviewed 5 January 2015

We had our family Christmas there and it could not have been better. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, house keeping was courteous and very helpful. Our room was large and clean. Kidd had a great time in the pool and parking wad great. This place is a gem in downtown Duluth!! Thanks to Matt and his staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdelamartre
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

mdelamartre, Thank you for celebrating your family Christmas here at our hotel and for providing us with a review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments and I will share these with my team. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Gerry Goldfarb General Manager Holiday...

Thunder Bay
Reviewed 28 December 2014

I've stayed here numerous times now over recent years, They offer a Canadian traveller special, which is definitely an incentive for us Canadians to stay here. Convenient location downtown, hotel connected to the skywalk system, awesome pools and hot tub. They also offer a shuttle service which I was able to utilize to get up to Miller Hill Mall meet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheMadmanThunderBay
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Madman ThunderBay, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay again with us and that you love the many conveniences and amenities our hotel has to offer including our shuttle service, Sneakers and Porters restaurants, and the skywalk system to go...

Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

First of all, the hotel is pretty good. It's clean, with the typical Minnesota decor (I.e., hockey, ice, trees). The rooms are clean but shockingly small. Functional for business and not exactly conducive to relaxing. The stainless steel pools are a nice touch. The staff was average, not super friendly but not rude either. The neighborhood really detracts from this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ecorafterguy
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ecorafterguy, Thank you for staying with us and for giving us a review on your stay. I'm glad you consider our hotel "pretty good" and you enjoyed your stay and our stainless steel pools on the 3rd and 8th floors. We are always striving to improve and want an "excellent" stay for all our guests so we appreciate your...

Silver Bay, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Although freshly remodeled, not refurbished. Friendly, professional staff. Front entrance sketchy, a lot of questionable types hanging around. Garage not meant for large trucks. No place for a nice dinner. Lounge needs attention, remodeling and cleaning, manager watching TV, staff busy with regulars, off duty staff. Room was dusty, heater/ac needed cleaning. Seal on window failed, had to look out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan M
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dan M; Thank you for staying with us and for giving us a review on your stay. I'm very sorry for your experience you had during your stay at our hotel. I realize you are the gentleman who had me come up to your room and I hope you received my letter I left under your door as you had...

Montrose, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We appreciated the newly renovated room and the location of the Holiday Inn, and the good customer service, but that's about it. The parking garage is a tad confusing with an odd entry that had many people almost entering the wrong way and then many people completely blocking traffic. The elevators are VERY slow - the slowest I've ever encountered....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ZephyrMarie
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ZephyrMarie, Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review on our hotel. I'm very sorry that your stay was not the best. I'm sorry that our parking ramp is confusing but that is due to our entrance being on a one-way street which changes how people enter and exit. We have many signs up at the...

Reviewed 12 December 2014

I stayed on the 16th floor with an awesome view of Lake Superior! It was a fantastic room, clean and well maintained. I also very much enjoyed the Keurig K-Cup coffee maker - much easier and more modern than the standard hotel coffee maker.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimie M
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Aimie M, Thank you for staying with us and giving us a review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive rooms on the 14th-16th floors that have the Keurig coffee makers! We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again. Sincerely, Gerry Goldfarb General Manager

Minnesota
Reviewed 5 December 2014

This is located in the middle of downtown Duluth and many attractions are walking distance from the hotel. The skyway system will get you most places out of the weather in the winter. There is an attached parking ramp, parking is free for hotel patrons. Staff are helpful, there is free daily paper and Starbucks coffee in the lobby for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deepwoods
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear deepwoods, Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn and for providing us with a review of your stay. We appreciate all the nice comments and for the positive feedback you provided. I do apologize for the slow Wi-Fi you experienced during your stay and we immediately looked into this issue. We met with our provider and...

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 3 December 2014

The ease of using the skywalk to the arena was great. If you have a full size truck the parking garage is not the that friendly. Also unloading your belongs is not the best . Not enough luggage carts. The pool in our area was very nice looking although we did not really had a chance to use it as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tom k
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Tom k, Thank you for your review on our hotel and for staying with us! I'm glad you liked the indoor skywalk system we have here in Duluth that connects you with the DECC arena/canal area, and many downtown restaurants and shops. I'm so sorry to hear that we didn't have enough luggage carts available upon your arrival as we...

426 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (300)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
King Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (63)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (47)
Viewed
Standard King Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Two Queen Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.8 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.6 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
404 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
318 reviews
0.7 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 km away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#19 of 33 in Duluth
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802-1921
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: ₹ 7,399 - ₹ 17,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Duluth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
4 months ago
Edmonton, Canada
Pelican Rapids, Minnesota
2 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view rooms are worth the price.”
 of 5 bubbles 641kayb, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is not right on the harbor but we had a harbor view and it was still beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles GingerLB, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Of course get lake view if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles 177bradfordw, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“they do have quiet room request.”
 of 5 bubbles Pmoore1st, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were given the room directly above the front desk 422? No view, but the room is quiet and has room darkening shade. We loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles Joana651, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay