We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Willmar, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 November 2015

This Inn is under new ownership since December, 2014. My wife and I stayed here Labor Day weekend, September, 2015 and had a very nice stay. The Inn has new carpeting throughout and recent redecorating. Our room was very clean, quiet and very comfortable. We were totally satisfied with every aspect of our stay here! I returned to stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dincau
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dincau, We always appreciate encouraging comments left by our guests the most important people in our world as hoteliers. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be warm and accommodating. We strive to make every stay memorable and look forward to seeing you...

Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The hotel was very clean and comfortable, but most of all the owner Paul and his wife were so friendly and went out of there way for us. We would love to go back and would stay here with out a doubt. Very reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Becky L, My wife and i feel honored by your kind comments and appreciates that you took the time to share them on TripAdvisor. As hoteliers our mission is to ensure guest satisfaction and create memorable moments in Detroit Lakes Minnesota. Please come and visit us again warm regards.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 September 2015

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago while on a trip for work. The hotel was very clean, very comfortable and everyone was very friendly. I enjoyed chatting with Paul, the manager, very much. The free breakfast was great. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Timothey G it a pleasure to hear that you had a memorable stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes and thank you for praising our rooms and service. We invest a lot of time in effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of personalized guest experiences. All the best and hope to see you...

Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

This property was exactly what we were looking for. And affordable place to stay a nice assortment of hot and cold breakfast foods. Clean and comfortable beds, with multiple pallets per bed, clean bathrooms, welcoming management and right off the main highway's. It's not a five-star class hotelbut I give it five stars because it's exactly what we were looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmywapp
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Jimmywapp thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share them on TripAdvisor. I'm elated to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with Americas Best Value Inn in Detroit Lakes. I will take your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your next visit.

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Best value?? It was my mistake not to check on other properties in Detroit Lakes when booking for a wedding in the area, but I felt that the stay was overpriced. The proprietors stated that in Detroit Lakes in the summer that is what it cost and we did get a reduction because of the wedding. On a recent vacation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janemm56303
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

"Dear Janemm56303, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience at our hotel. We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing excellent service and quality accommodations at affordable price. I appreciate your willingness to take time to let us know where improvement is...

Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Breakfast should go longer so like 6-10 I thought it went until 10 because that's how long my hotel goes until because people done get up by 9am the bathroom was dirty and it just doesn't feel clean the pillows r not comfy I grabbed French toast and now I am just eating it plan and it would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn M
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Katelyn M Thank you for taking the time to wirte a review. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn. I'm very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to your rooms bathroom and the hotels breakfast. I will address your concerns with the Director of Housekeeping and take your comments...

Warren, United States
Reviewed 17 August 2015

The hotel at 400 Morrow Ave., Detroit Lakes, MN was a pleasant surprise. The proprietors were the best! They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They even drove us to the WE Fest site and picked us up when we were done on our first night there. The room was very comfortable. They are really remodeling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hello Paula, Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to WE Fest in Detroit Lakes. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Americas Best Value Inn. We work extremely hard to provide best customer service and comfortable stay. Once again thank you for taking time to write a wonderfull review....

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 May 2015

My stay this past weekend was simply delightful. It was (apart from a Marriott Courtyard I'd stayed at a few years ago) the loveliest little inexpensive hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff were simply delightful and so personable, and made me feel so much at home. I rarely say this about Anything - but I would (and will,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David F
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful note. I am very happy that you were given the service that a guest deserves. We hope to see you again.

Maplewood, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Although there are fancier places with more amenities, this one will please you if you don't want fancy. Clean room, comfortable bed, good wifi, nice continental breakfast. Right next door is a convenient Perkins, so you just have to walk across the parking lot to it. They were in the middle of remodel but did everything to make my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ken L
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect. Now...

Fulton
Reviewed 2 December 2014 via mobile

Allthough there are fancier places whith more amenities, this one will please you if you don't want fancy. Clean room, comfortable bed, good wifi, nice continental breakfast. Right next door is a convenient Perkins, so you just have to walk across the parking lot to it. Stayed there 5 nights last summer (2014).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
184 reviews
3.1 km away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
21 reviews
2.8 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
#2 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
311 reviews
34.3 km away
Super 8 Perham
Super 8 Perham
#2 of 2 in Perham
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 400 Morrow Ave, Hwy 10 & US 59, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-2212
Region: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: ₹ 5,186 - ₹ 9,918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“May wish to look at offered room before settling in, ours reeked of smoke”
karenjT5827YO, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Owner will go out of his way to accommodate any special requests.”
ShellyL719, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Paul and his wife will give you great advice. We had a corner room and would recommend it.”
beckyl756, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We had the room at the top of the stairs - very convenient.”
paulacU4037MU, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“resturant and gas right next door”
margaretw422, 29 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5