We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Somerset Inn

PricelineUS$ 167*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 191*
US$ 167*
Great Deal
US$ 169*
US$ 169*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Somerset Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Somerset Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
florida
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

It's a blah look hotel, nondescript rooms, even the grill room food awful, a rubber recycled hamburger, if your depressed and want to keep the mood going perfect place. The one thing going for it is the nearby shopping and mall

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBetterhalf
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Wow!!! We couldn't disagree more, nor could the majority of our guests! We hope you have an enjoyable day! Kind regards, The Somerset Staff

Traverse City, MI
Reviewed 3 November 2016

One big advantage to the Somerset Inn is location, it’s almost part of the Somerset Collection, an upscale “Mall”. The Inn has a very courteous staff and onsite restaurant. Our room was in the circular portion rather than the high rise and overlooked a beautiful large patio. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the pie shaped...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MITraveler307
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and our proximity to the Somerset Collection. We are also pleased that you were happy with your room and the restaurant. We are planning to update some of our sleeping rooms in the first quarter of the year, and we'll look into the possibility of a make-up mirror....

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2016

First time that I stayed at the Somerset Inn. I was pleased with the accommodation , the room had 2 double beds. The room was spacious to work at the desk as well. Very clean and quiet. I used the dining room for breakfast, dinner and bar, the service was pleasant and no complains on the quality of food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barolo20162016
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our accommodations and restaurant pleasing! Thank you again for staying and the Somerset Inn and we hope to see you again in the near future! Kind regards, The Somerset Staff

Michigan
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We had a big issue at a different hotel with the block of rooms we booked for my daughter's wedding last weekend. Three days before the wedding and arrival of out-of-town guests, we were calling everywhere in a panic to find a block of rooms. Thankfully, my daughter talked to Dave and he said "give me 10 minutes." He called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonesy806
Port Huron, Michigan
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

So I was skeptical to stay here because of the reviews but unless you want free cheap food and a watered down drink you won't be disappointed! This place met every expectation! Very nice rooms, you can tell they are nicer quality than other hotels around but they are older. That didn't bother me at all, and I stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amy D., We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We agree, our location and our food (Eggs Benedict is one of our favorite's too) is second to none! Our Bed and Breakfast Package is not only popular but an excellent value as well. You’re obviously a very savvy consumer! Thank you for choosing the Somerset Inn to celebrate your...

Fort Smith,Ar, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is the first time I have traveled to this part of the United States and I find it very expensive to do anything. Fortunately this was a business trip and a lot of the things I bought were going to be reimbursed. I bought a steak dinner and paid way to much for the quality of food I received....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Farris, Thank you for staying at the Somerset Inn. We are thrilled that you liked our location. It's definitely one our best attributes. Considering that you haven't traveled a lot outside of your region, (according to your review), you may be happy to know that the package that you received here was a great value for our area....

Windsor
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The Somerset Inn is a great place to stay if you want to shop at Somerset Mall. There are also many terrific restaurants in the mall and close by. We got a room with Breakfast included and it was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annewindsor
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we couldn't agree more -- our location is second to none! Please visit again soon. Kind regards, The Somerset Staff

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We had to book this hotel very last minute, and after staying here, I am not surprised that it was the only thing available for our family. Room was spacious, but outdated. The onsite restaurant was, I hate to say, awful - had both breakfast and dinner there. Food was greasy, overpriced and nothing special. This area north of Detroit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MomOfEMM
Helena, Montana
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I'm in the middle of a 3 day stay here, and if I weren't here with on my corporate rate, I'd probably move hotels for the price. As others have said this is an extremely out dated hotel. That aside there are many places where they could improve: 1. the current pillows are lumpy and polyester - almost impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PattersonBoston
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations with regard to some of our small details, but glad to know that our staff was "professional and friendly." You’ll be happy to know that we're making some updates to the items that you had concerns with. We're changing out some of our current work-out equipment...

Merrill, Oregon
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Room was dirty, wifi is very slow. The onsite restaurant is expensive for the food quality. It is very outdated. It was probably the nicest place around in the 80's. Front desk people and hosts in restaurant are not very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott M
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our Front Desk Staff would have gladly moved your room had we known that you were not happy with your accommodations. We also have a "hotline" (this information is in every guestroom) that connects directly to our General Manager and had you opted to use that function, I am certain that...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Detroit Marriott Troy
2.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.7 km away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Price Range: ₹ 7,299 - ₹ 11,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerset Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Detroit, Michigan
13 days ago
Seattle, WA
over a year ago
Nashville, Tennessee
over a year ago
Nashville, Tennessee
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Somerset Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the floor one below the penthouse, it had a decent view and was quiet.”
joelW1585XW, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“I don't think the travelers make more noise than usual, I just think the doors and walls are thin.”
rmnpoore, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was midway in the circle and a long walk from the elevator.”
MITraveler307, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor and not beside the elevators”
barolo20162016, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room would do”
shsu517, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 167* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 169
Booking.comUS$ 169
Preferred HotelsUS$ 191
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates