We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quality Inn By the Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Inn By the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn By the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 195: English reviews
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is the second time staying at this location and we will stay again next time we visit this great city. The rate for our room was very reasonable and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We travel with our dogs and were happy to find our room to be clean with no trace of being a pet friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank steelergrrl7
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts regarding your stay. We are thankful for your choice in our hotel each time you visit Traverse City. We are proud to know we meet your expectations each time and that you have enjoyed the clealiness of your room, beung pet friendly, our complimentary hot deluxe breakfast,...

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We arrived late in the evening in Traverse City on a weekend in the leaf season, without reservations. Realizing that we were traveling in the high tourist season, we expected higher rates. The only place we could find to stay was the Quality Inn. We would not have had a problem with the rates had the place been basically clean...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BeverlyL3
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time in sharing your feedback. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We hope you had a chance to bring this concern to one of our staff at the hotel during your stay. We would have made every effort to...

Flint, Michigan
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It seems when we want a quick, nice, quiet, getaway at a good price, and easy access to walk our pet, we come to this hotel, the room was clean, bed was comfy, shower nice, ground floor drive up entry to room, and door in rear of room opens to indoor hall that leads to front lobby of hotel, or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank its4hisglory
ram33, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with family while traveling during thanksgiving. I knew "by the bay" meant across the street and it's just a short walk for beach access. The building is aging, but seems to be well maintained. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the amenities were spot on. There are a few restaurants close by and two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChuckMosher
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Vakued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are grateful you enjoyed your stay during the Thanksgiving Holiday. We hope your experience with us was an added enjoyment to your travel plans. Please spread the word and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you. Management

Plymouth
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Really thought we were upgrading from a hotel down the street, what a disappointment ! Very overpriced. Not only is it small, it hasn't been remodeled in years. The carpet was dirty, the bathroom sink and counter were tiny with little room to put any thing. There was a pole on a slant holding up the sink. The toilet seat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Than you for sharing your feed back regarding your recent stay. First, we would like to extend our sincere apology that you had an unpleasant experience with us. Rest assured that the hotel contnues to go through updatesand renovations. We just completed updating every room with 32" Flat Screen Tv's, new beds and beddings. We are onhe...

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Room was clean. The bathroom was way too small. When I was is the shower, if someone flushed their toilet, the water would get way too hot. Staff was very pleasant. Would stay again if we had to. Breakfast was small, but ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D H
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay but thank you for bringing to our attention what we can improve on so that your next stay will be more enjoyable. We are excited to share that we are getting a make over on our breakfast area...

ETNA
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was very clean and small. The bed was lumpy and only a double. That's all they had left. This location was not what I expected for a Quality Inn. A little deceiving when it's titled "By The Bay". And you can almost see it from the parking lot around the buildings across the street. The room was way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLKnapp
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us. We are soory to know your experience was less than what you expected. There have many confusion regarding our lable "..By The Bay". Unfortunately we are not on the water and none of our rooms have view of the water or beach. However, we are just a block walking distance away...

Annapolis
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were very happy with our room at this hotel. We stayed in room 218, which was a king bed suite, with the bedroom separate from a good-size living area. The bathroom was extra large and included a jacuzzi tub, which we did not use. The living area included a queen-size sofa bed, comfortable chair, desk, decent size frig with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelinaround
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feed back on your recent stay. We do agree the two room suite is our premium rooms available. We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed the emenities the room and the hotel had to offer. We can agree the breakfast area is small but we are excited...

Warren, Michigan
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was hesitant to stay here after seeing some of the not so favorable reviews, but I booked 2 nights here on August 11th, 2013. I was glad I did, the hotel was very clean, the staff was very accommodating and although the breakfast area was small, they had a lot to choose from. I feel for the money we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan G
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking a chance in staying with us. We appreciate your business and we are happy to announce we just broke ground in new renovations to make a bigger and better breakfast area. We hope to see you again so we can share this new and exciting change and...

Henderson
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Room was clean but could not cool it down ac just didnot want to work right.For what they charged was not worth the money Breakfast was not great seen and had better at cheaper hotels would not stay again unless only place with room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are sorry you had a disappointing experience during your stay. I wonder if you had a chance to let the front desk know about the A/C not working properly in your room. We are sorry you felt the the price of lodging was not worth your stay. We are confident to say that our rates are...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.2 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
453 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
100 reviews
1.3 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
739 reviews
3.3 km away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: ₹ 3,755 - ₹ 17,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Byron Center, Michigan
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles E7798EAgregg, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Easy unloading on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles J3126PRkarend, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“when leaving, turn right and go to a traffic light. less headache or possible accident”
 of 5 bubbles shrewdgrud, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“The upper floors is quieter, but the first floor has doo rs to each room with direct access to the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles chasf64, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We were on bottom floor and you could hear people walking around above room”
 of 5 bubbles martinzames, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay