We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Inn By the Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn By the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn By the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately that's about the extent of what I can say positively about my family's stay here. The room wasn't cleaned very well and our sheets had quite a few stains on them. The food for breakfast was low quality and there wasn't much of it- it's first come first serve and they put very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding yur recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. We are proud to know you were satisfied with our staff's service but we are sorry for falling short in our housekeeping department. We strive to offer a clean and comfortable hotel backed by...

North Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 18 July 2016

we were 'upgraded' to a suite due to some problem with the property...should have left instead. it seemed like the suite hadn't been opened in weeks or months - musty smelling and hot inside. (it was 92F outside when we arrived) only a small wall unit in the bedroom - not nearly large enough to cool the suite, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnelrog
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Johnson, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback. On behalf of my entire team, please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. We wanted to offer to upgrade you to a larger two room suite dur the our hotwater boiler system was having trouble and we ewanted to provide an better alternative. We...

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

I made a reservation earlier tonight and even had a confirmation email sent to me. At 10:30 this evening I get a phone call that they cannot honor that price. I had already cancelled a previous reservation at another hotel and now I'm left without a room for a family vacation. I'm furious!!!! If you make a reservation be where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sir, When you made your reservation with us, my front desk agent tried to explain to you that our rates changed from weekday (Sunday through Thursday) to weekend (Friday & Saturday). You demanded to have the lower rate that was for Thursday to be applied to the Friday & Saturday night rate. My front desk agent was so shaken...

Adrian, Michigan
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was cheaper. The room was clean, but no frills. The toilet and sink needed some work. Breakfast was pretty standard hotel food. This hotel was fine for one night, but I would not want to spend a week's vacation there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura7171
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your ecperience and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Ray M. Manager

Rock Mills, AL
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Quality Inn in North Traverse City. There was one small air conditioning unit in the bed room in the back....and a box fan....I got the couch in the front part of room. The first night I thought I would suffocate. There was only a blanket for the couch and it was hot! Second night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen K
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry you had trouble with getting the room at a comfortable temperature. I'm glad the second night was better. It is challenging when the only a/c unit in the room is located in the back bed room. We are happy to know you were satisfied...

Maumee, Ohio
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

It was a haven in the summer time over priced hotel market in Traverse City . The Quality Hotel is easy to get to, it's right off of M31 across the street from the bay and It's probably an extra 3 to 4 mile drive into downtown from there. For lunch or dinner there is quite a variety of known...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pattyann0724
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Patty, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you enjoiyed your stay from the location to downtown and area restaurant. We are in the process of updating and paiting the hotel. We are looking to get new furniture in the fall. We are also in the process of updating...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We had another good stay at The Quality Inn by the bay. They don't hane a shuttle so it cost us $30 to go down town and back. Everything was good as per previous visits. Clean and well kept. The breakfast is still very meagre, not even bagels. We skip the breakfast and go other places. Wifi worked well.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Summer5
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay but are sorry the hotel does not have shuttle service. For the most part we are centrally located but it does help if shuttle service was provided by the hotel. Also, we are sorry you did not enjoy...

Adrian, Michigan
Reviewed 17 May 2016

First time staying at this property and we weren't sure if any of the favorable reviews were believable or not. turns out they were ast his hotel was better than expected from the friendly staff, clean room, well lit and ample parking, the convenient location and general overall value. We arrived earlier than planned and the front dest staff allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shrewdgrud
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. Thank you for deciding to stay with us and we are proud to know you were pleasantly surprised by the level of service you received from our friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and the overall convenience of our location. We are proud...

Buckley, Michigan
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We had to leave our home for a few days while our floors were being done. We felt safe. Loved the microwave and fridge. The pool and hot tub were nice. Pool is on the small side, but still nice. Will stay there again for a many get away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssvec90
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We hope the floor project at your home was successful and complete. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while your family went through the repairs at your home. We are proud to know you and your family enjoyed...

Michigan
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Hotel is rather old, and the rooms are out dated, however the beds are new and very nice. The staff is very friendly, helpful. Breakfast is normal, hot and cold, however the coffee machine is available all day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grannytoni
ram33, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us. Second, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience, your survey responses regarding the great staff will serve as encouragement for our team as they endeavor to provide exceptional service for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the newly installed Serta Perfect Sleeper Quality...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
114 reviews
0.2 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
459 reviews
8.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
242 reviews
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
752 reviews
0.2 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: ₹ 3,865 - ₹ 17,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Byron Center, Michigan
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't expect a decent breakfast. We had to drive to McDonalds to eat.”
 of 5 bubbles Sue14SaultSte_Marie, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a in room Jacuzzi room, fo sho!”
 of 5 bubbles stoneph, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles E7798EAgregg, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Easy unloading on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles J3126PRkarend, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“when leaving, turn right and go to a traffic light. less headache or possible accident”
 of 5 bubbles shrewdgrud, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5