We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

374 reviews
Save
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (36)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“great beach”(23 reviews)
“sister property”(5 reviews)
“waffles”(28 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Special Offer: Winter Escape
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (374)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
168
118
47
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
168
118
47
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat beachsister propertywafflesgrand beachbeachfront roombeach viewindoor poolplenty of chairscontinental breakfastfirst floorbeach chairsboiled eggsfamily suitesmall balconynice resortrooms were cleanthe breakfast area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel in Traverse City. The interior of the hotel and rooms have been tastefully refreshed. They asked for a mobile phone number at check in and sent us text messages and answered any questions we had via text throughout our stay; a...More

Thank Tres K
Response from Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort HotelResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your visit to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. It is superb that you are pleased with our new renovations and updates to the property! Our mobile texting service is a favorite of ours to make sure that we are here for you at...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Love it every time I stay! This stay was treat after picking up and reuniting with a former shipmate; and what better place than by the water (although shark & salt free;)!! Comfortable beds, clean facility- including the pool area, and a friendly staff.

Thank BeeEwe
Response from Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort HotelResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. I am delighted that we are able to keep you coming back and remaining a treasured loyal guest. We hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! Bright, beachy themed inside and out. Clean rooms, comfortable bed. The complimentary breakfast was ok. It got us started on our days- cereal, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, breads. The people behind the desk were all...More

Thank MikeinOH
Response from Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort HotelResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us at the Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. It is wonderful that you were pleased with our newly renovated property and rooms. I am glad that our staff was welcoming and friendly during your stay here. We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Last year we endured the power outage and unusually strong storm. We gave them the benefit of the doubt and returned this year. Over the winter they remodeled and neglected to tell us that they did not have two beds but a king size bed...More

Thank Dbrownl
Response from Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort HotelResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were not able to have the room type you would have preferred. We did renovate over the winter, however, we do still offer 12 different types...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sugar Beach Resort. The location is perfect for exploring all that Traverse City has to offer. We had a king size bed and everything was very clean. The linens were immaculate and smelled so clean and fresh. The room...More

2  Thank imgram
Response from Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort HotelResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you were very pleased with the set-up and accommodations within the room. We hope to have you back as our guests soon!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
13456775
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 77 - US$ 210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 77 - US$ 210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (36)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
robertmccoy1983
6 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Justintraversecity | Property representative |
Unfortunately due to city ordinances, fires are not permitted on our beach.
0
Votes
aen78
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Justintraversecity | Property representative |
Hello! Thank you for the great question. Our family suites only have one bathroom.
0
Votes
Christina C
3 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Justintraversecity | Property representative |
Unfortunately we do not have a lounge or restaurant right on the property, however there are restaurants within walking distance of the resort. There is also a wide selection of restaurants and bars 3 miles down the road in... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Lake side rooms have a great view."
Read review
"The beach view rooms cost a bit more, but they have a balcony. It's great to wake up and be able to look..."
Read review
"Choose an upper level corner suite facing the beach."
Read review
"They are all suites and we stayed right on the beach"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing