We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountain Valley Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thompsonville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mountain Valley Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Traveling in Michigan in October without advanced hotel reservations, is a risk. Especially during fall colors. We struck out in Traverse City, Charlevoix, and Frankfort, MI. So we decided to head inland. We found a vacancy sign at Mountain Valley Lodge. It's a basic one story motel in every sense of the word. The lobby was attached to the owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank twdenman
Andover
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Good and bad at this no-frills motel: Good: Friendly, helpful staff, super comfortable beds, rec room with ping pong, pool, pinball, cards, and full kitchen; patio with grills and picnic tables, two luggage racks in room, large bathroom, great towels, clean room Bad: wifi did not work in our room on the end of the motel - you had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank OneAnonTravel
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Just to let you know, we did fix the wifi problem by extending the signal. Wifi is still slow, but that is due to not having many options in this area. The Rec Room is usually clean, as we clean it often and sweep and mop the floors, however the... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We were called to town on a family emergency on a busy summer weekend. We submitted a request for housing to the local tourist bureau after many calls and not finding anything, and within 10 minutes we got a call from Mountain Valley. Not knowing what this place was or exactly where it was we booked it! Boy am I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

I am so glad that we were able to help you out during your time of need and we really enjoyed meeting you and getting to know you. Thank you for leaving a review, we appreciate hearing from our guests and getting feedback. More 

Detroit area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had attended a wedding at Crystal Mountain and found this motor inn a few months before our arrival. The new owners are friendly and very helpful. The price can't be beat for a 1/3 less than Crystal Mountain. Very basic with new carpet and beds. Save money and stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Denise Z
Kym R, Manager at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to save you a little money. :-) More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Nice little motel. Nothing fancy, but can't beat the price. Clean, comfy bed and pillows. Flat screen TV, mini fridge. Clean bathroom and the shower was hot with decent pressure. Didn't spend much time there, only to lay our heads so I can't speak for the rec area. When we were there it was very quiet.

Helpful?
Thank LauraL1972
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are just a little family owned lodge, but we try to insure that the rooms are very clean and that the beds are comfortable. More 

North Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2016

A large group of us head up to that area for a 3 day golf outing. While the condo's at Crystal are certainly nicer, you can't really gather all together in one area. Mountain Valley Motel is a venue that let's us do exactly that. While the rooms are small and simple, they fit what we need; simply a place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Goranevo
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you like the rec room. Many guests love having the rec room as an area to gather together. We are gradually adding to the area in the rec room, we have recently added a pinball game and have... More 

Gladwin, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We were up here two other times and are returning this Monday to salmon fish. Our room both times was clean, clean, clean! The new owners (just 2 months) are upgrading the entire place. There is very unusual rec room with a completely furnished with dishes, silverware, and glasses. There is a stove and refrigerator and coffeemaker to use. There... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bootiful1
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are trying to insure that we can accommodate the needs of our guests as best as we can. Many guests use the fish cleaning station and freezers and they enjoy having the rec room to gather and relax in. We will continue to update our services and try to... More 

Ravenna, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Owner was very friendly and helpful after a bad experience at another place! We were stuck out of town with no place to stay and we were able to get a room here and prices were not jacked up as were other motels in the area. Very friendly and clean!

Helpful?
2 Thank shel0780
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Nice place to stay. friendly staff. clean rooms, fresh air plenty of things to do, and close to Crystal Mountain for skiing and close to beach and Lake Michigan in summer. Nice Golf courses and plenty of woods and forests to walk in. Room were clean and nice recreation room for guests with complete kitchen , pool tables and plenty... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mx198dad
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We have a group of about 15 men who annually go to Benzonia, MI for salmon fishing. We aren't looking for a place with frills, but want a clean, no nonsense, friendly place to stay for the week. When our old go-to in Elberta was sold, we thought we'd try MVM. We have regretted our choice since. At first, we... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Chip B

Travellers are raving about these Thompsonville hotels

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
14.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scenic Hill Resort
13.2 km away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
45 reviews
21.7 km away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
674 reviews
14.5 km away
Honor Motel
Honor Motel
#1 of 1 in Honor
74 reviews
13.2 km away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
we are a family operated, 20 room lodge nestled in the woods. We have a recreation room for our guests that has a full sized kitchen for guest use, as well as ping-ping, a pool table, a pinball game, card table and televisions. There are charcoal grills and a large fire ring for campfires. located near Crystal mountain, many lakes and rivers, hiking/biking trails, and snowmobile trails. we are just a short drive from Lake Michigan and the Sleeping Bear Dunes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Lodge

Address: 10422 M-115, Thompsonville, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Mountain Valley Hotel Thompsonville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Valley Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mountain Valley Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you want wifi, get a room near the office”
 of 5 bubbles OneAnonTravel, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It's all good....”
 of 5 bubbles kathylL2074DF, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“3 miles from Crystal Mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles 879denisez, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A great plce to stay when yu are up there salmon fishing.”
 of 5 bubbles Bootiful1, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“And BTW...there's a little gas station a couple miles east on 115 that has the best Sicilian pizza you have ever eaten! Happy Trails”
 of 5 bubbles TimG137, 5 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5