We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Coach & Horses Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerwent
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of The Coach & Horses Inn
 Click to rate
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Even though we hadn't booked, we were welcomed in and given a table for lunch. We were seated in the conservatory, which was clean and warm and comfortable. Food well cooked and brought quite quickly by friendly smiling staff, who made sure that we had enough of everything and that we were enjoying it. Well done everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackieandMike59
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Nice place in interesting surroundings,within easy walking distance of both a Roman City remains and a Roman Temple.The gardens of the hotel are very good if you have young children with you,there are many things for them to do lots of games and play items.The hotel itself is nice.The bar is very pleasant,eating is good,breakfast is fairly standard with nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBXXX2015
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Had business in Chepstow so very local, very friendly welcome and super, spotless room, bonus was real ale here, a good pint indeed, food excellent good portions and tasty. Locals were also friendly, the only bit that took the icing off the cake was a breakdown in communications somewhere, as I was pretty much chased across the car park in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmike234
West Midlands
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed overnight after meeting up with friends. Our room was lovely, we were given a double room with double aspect Windows overlooking the Garden and children's play area. The bed was comfortable, the room was tastefully decorated and there was a small but more than adequate shower Room. It's a pity the food wasn't as good as the accommodation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauline m
Coachnhorsescaerwent, Manager at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this review

Thank you pauline for taking the time to leave feedback. I can only appologise for the horrible night you had when visiting us, I wasnt here this evening due to a family wedding i thought i had left it in capable hands as 2 of my waitering staff have been with me for a while i did how ever have...

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Great for families, the big beer garden is safe for children and has lots of toys to keep the kiddies entertained. Everything in the garden is served in plastic glasses and basket meals are for outside. If you did fancy a meal the marquee is the best option looking out on the children's play area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate I
London
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Oh dear. The food outside used to be the same as the indoor menu. Good value pub grub. They have now introduced a garden basket menu for outdoors only - it's dreadful. I had a burger with chips - literally an over-cooked burger in a bun - no salad or relish just a tasteless burger in a dry bap. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nMan
Coachnhorsescaerwent, Manager at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We had to introduce a garden basket meal due to many factors, Health and safety the main one! We are developing it, we have kept everything plain as it states on the menu. We have added a garden room on our restaurant which over looks the beer garden to give customers...

Newport
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The menu is well cooked and we have eaten here several times in the past. There is a two for £12 offering which although an increase of £2 on last year still seemed very good value. As there were 5 of us one had to order a full price curry (still good value at £8.95). What they failed to mention...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele B
Coachnhorsescaerwent, Manager at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback Michele I can only Appologise you felt like you were duped, All you had to do is mention to any member of staff you felt like this and we would have corrected it straight away. I encourage feed back it helps us improve, We are still developing our menus and have...

Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Where does one begin when writing about one's "local". After 10 years of imbibing here I can say with great confidence that it's the best real ale Inn I have ever frequented. The Coach has the Casque Marque award and the ales are kept absolutely perfectly. At the time of leaving Caerwent the Coach served no less than 5 strongly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian379
Coachnhorsescaerwent, Manager at The Coach & Horses Inn, responded to this review

Mr chedders You are missed very much by myself and cannot wait to see you again. Wishing you all the happiness in your new adventure.

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Sorry to say but the food is dreadful, we ate outside and the kids had literally 5 greasy uncooked chip things. We asked for bread & butter and that was too complicated for outside eating....no flexibility at all. Come on if you want to attract families you need to be flexible & quit with the stingy portions of dried up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexjones2
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Whilst visiting Caerwent to follow up some family research, my wife and I happened upon the Coach and Horses. We were only there for coffe but will certainly return to sample the food offering. The staff were exceptionally friendly and we were very impressed with, not only, the extensive outside play area but also the thought put into both toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 187047PeterR

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerwent
0.0 km away
The Coach & Horses Inn & Restaurant
0.0 km away
Northgate House B&B
Northgate House B&B
#1 of 2 in Caerwent
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Coach & Horses Inn

Address: Caerwent NP26 5AX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Caerwent
Price Range: ₹ 4,059 - ₹ 6,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach & Horses Inn 3*
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coach & Horses Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only called in for Sunday lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles JackieandMike59, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rear room has good aspect, its bright and plenty of space. bed very comfy”
 of 5 bubbles jmike234, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you stay here ask if you can just have a room and eat elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsMog22, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Having lived in the village I haven't had the need to stay here but all the rooms ha ve superb country views and the place is very quiet,”
 of 5 bubbles Brian379, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only three rooms to choose from but our double room no 1 was fine for us, very comfy.”
 of 5 bubbles HelenC807, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5