We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant

Expedia.comUS$ 88*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 88*
US$ 88*
US$ 88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 307: English reviews
Enterprise, Florida
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Located in a historic house and neighborhood was different. Rooms with one queen were small. No new toiletries were left the second day and had to take a roll of T.P. off a housekeeping cart. The lady working the front desk can multitask and still have a great attitude. i think her name is Belinda. The part I liked best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlbaker55
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will address the toilet paper issue with the housekeepers. We do not leave toiletries the second day, but they can be requested. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and yes, Belinda is amazing!

Reviewed 18 October 2016

We visited Petoskey and stayed here, based upon Trip Advisor reviews. The Inn and Restaurant did not disappoint. While it was quite hot when we were here, each room's air conditioning unit solved our sleeping problems. We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay and found the food to be good. We especially loved their watermelon salad.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank becpen
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry I didn't respond sooner! Just wanted to thank you for your time for this review and for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed the restaurant!

Detroit, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay in the Petoskey area. Quaint, warm, very comfortable, and great breakfast. We had a 3rd floor room. I had read some previous reviews that said 3rd floor was the quietest. I agree. Slept until 8 both mornings without a sound. Room was comfortable, wifi slow at times. Breakfast included fresh fruit, breads, yogurt, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurie D
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review...Happily you got a good nights rest..I will talk to my I.T. guy about the slow wifi..because all new routers were put in throughout the building and this shouldn't occur.

Sebastian, Florida, United States
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We went for a fall visit to see the color through the Tunnel of Trees. Great trip, unfortunately we were a little early for the color. The Terrace Inn was a quaint and wonderful place to stay. The owner and staff were all friendly and very helpful as we knew little about the area. We would go there again for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Oh.thank you so much for your review! I'm sorry the colors weren't great yet..but if we could we would change them for you! We hope you can come again next year! Patty and all the staff

Reviewed 13 October 2016

We read about a 1911 Inn, decided to check it out. It's located in a quite neighborhood, on street parking, but I would say safe. No elevator, but it was a treat to be able to get a room, it fills up quickly. We'd been touring Michigan 10 days and I was a little skeptic at first, but my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Q5823QDwilliamr
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate the time you took to let others knew about your experience and we look forward to making sure you enjoy your future stay!

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed in the Serenity Suite for one night. It was exactly what we needed. Quiet with original details. They give you a big old key, none of that electronic stuff here! Our room had some nice antique pieces as well as a big iron bed. The Jacuzzi was wonderful and the updated bathroom had a 5 headed 2 person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle19642016
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Oh..thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Terrace Inn! and ..so happy you felt relaxed and enjoy the shower and hot tub..I tell all the guests they "have" to use the hot tub..even if only for their feet!..and I wish there was something we could do about the parking..we would have to buy...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Terrace Inn is located in a very residential area just off Lake Michigan. We found it to be unique, quiet, comfortable, and filled with charming people. The desk clerks that checked us in were full of ideas about what to do and where in Petoskey to do them. The restaurant, unfortunately, was on winter hours and only operating Thursday-Saturday. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chev662015
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Terrace Inn! I think we may keep the restaurant open longer next fall if it is anything like this year..we have a bed and breakfast feel but are "classified" as an Inn because there is a restaurant. So happy the desk clerks were helpful! That is what I want...

Macomb, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed one night at the Terrace Inn. It is a historical place so it I old but the rooms and hotel are very nice and up to date. We stayed in room 211. We found out later that the hotel has a haunted history and the most activity has been in that room. We didn't experience any paranormal activity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review the Terrace Inn..I'm glad you didn't haven't anything paranormal happen during your stay in room 211 !...We hope you will have an opportunity to stay again..you know we keep track and add up your stays so eventually you get a free night! Thanks again!

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Reserved room 205 with two twin beds. Things were cramped and the floors seemed slanted. A light in the shower and closet would have been nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our stay on a Monday night meant no dinner served in the hotel, but the staff helped us find an alternative downtown. The complimentary breakfast was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette K
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! I will definitely look into getting a light in that bathroom! you are right about that! Not sure how to put one in the closet..but good idea..We have added lots of outlets..I think the rooms had one and only one when we got the Inn..they weren't built for electricity! ..Sorry..nothing we can do...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

While the Terrace Inn is a few blocks from the water, it's ambiance and charm are irresistible. As we listened to some of the history from Patti the owner we realized how much love and care has gone into this Inn to keep it authentic yet modern. The original oak is everywhere. Our queen room, I think was 209. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
Patty R, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Yes..I wish we had great views from every room..but so glad that you liked the bacon! and of course we want everyone to feel part of the terrace inn family..you are always welcome back!

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.5 km away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
576 reviews
3.2 km away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
416 reviews
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
3.9 km away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
716 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant is located in the Bay View Association near Petoskey, Michigan near Lake Michigan and Little Traverse Bay. The Inn has been in continuous operation since 1911 with a restaurant on site and more recently a full bar. Bay View is a Summer Chautauqua and part of the National Movement that began in the late 1800's when culture and a holistic approach and bringing it to the people was as important then as it is now. Transportation was by railroad and ferry as cars were not popularly utilized until the 1930's in this area. The Inn has 38 rooms on four stories. The main floor has 5 rooms, the second and third floor 19 rooms and the lower level tea room was converted to a pet friendly apartment in 2014. The Inn must maintain historic preservation guidelines..therefore all windows/glass is original with ropes, dressers are 1910 and original, many iron bed frames are authentic and air conditioners are in the windows except the dining room which has a mini-split unit. Rooms have electric heaters built in the walls and some suites were created from 2 rooms joined together. Wifi has been updated, small LCD TV's added and private bathrooms in all room. Suites have jetted tubs, mini-frig, microwave, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant

Address: 1549 Glendale Ave, P. O. Box 266, Petoskey, MI 49770-5021
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Price Range: ₹ 5,606 - ₹ 13,468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Petoskey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are 3 floors so if someone has a problems with the stairs you can stay in a room on the main floor”
D8958MSnancyl, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the ground floor, but it was very quiet and comfortable.”
chev662015, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Read the hotel website history on haunted rooms.”
ReneeC638, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“203 kind deluxe was small but comfortable and adequate. if budget allows go for 215 or 315 king whirlpool room, very large!”
  • room 203 king deluxe
michigan392, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be aware you'll need to carry bags up as far as three floors or request the bellman.”
Duchesse, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 88* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 88
Hotels.comUS$ 88
TripAdvisorUS$ 88
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates