We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kritter\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We really loved this place, our only complaint is that we were not able to stay longer. Very quiet, very rural, we loved it!. convienient location to falls and to pictured rocks. Sites are large & level. Perfect spot.

Helpful?
1 Thank BGJ182
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

We try not to repeat ourselves on these responses, but it happens, so we just want to say THANK YOU! For taking the time to post a review, for the kind words also. We wish you could have stayed longer too, but we hope maybe one day you will make it back up to see us again. Take care and... More 

Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Spent three nights at Kritter's and have absolutely no complaints. It was clean and quiet, the owners were helpful and friendly, and the central location gave us plenty of exploring opportunities. We're spoiled RV'ers and enjoy our sewer hookup, so we were lucky to get one of the 9 spots with full hookups. If you don't need a pool, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank 665darryls
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our park. It is our goal to provide the best camping experience for our guest. There is a lot to see and do so we like to offer up our favorite scenic spots for our guest to enjoy. We hope to add 8 more Full Hookups in the coming year as well... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Okay so I didn't actually sleep at this campground but my car randomly broke down in front of it and the owner (Larry, I think) helped me get the car towed and gave me a ride 15 miles out of his way and he offered to let me stay at the campground for free if I needed, so I imagine... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin S
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

Caitlin you are more than welcome! Being broke down and a distance away from home is a terrible feeling! We were more than happy to help you out and provide some kind of comfort in a (I am away from home and don't know where to go or what to do situation). It was a pleasure meeting you, Josh and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We loved the parks atmosphere. We were broke down for 10 day's, people loaned us there truck to go into town ask if we needed anything people were very friendly the hole park was very clean the bathrooms the shower were nice and the water hot.We did laundry. This is a very nice R V Park also a good Sam's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronald W
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you Ronald for taking the time to post a review here as well as on our facebook page! Your struggles touched us and we were happy to do anything we could to help make your time here, even though you were stranded, an enjoyable one. We were happy to help!!!!!! Your extended stay allowed us to get to know... More 

Levering, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Central to many attractions in the U.P. Clean and quiet. Owners very friendly and accommodating. Many choices, from rustic camping to cabins. Easy to find, and price is comparable. Nature trails, playground equipment, planned activities throughout the week.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again next year. Our events and planed activities will post for the 2017 season in December. More 

Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

To give you some perspective, I will start this review by saying that we are tent campers, and it was me, my husband, and our 7 year old daughter who camped here in our 10-person tent. This campground is privately owned and has plenty of space. It has 55 lots and you have your choice of rustic, water, electricity, or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

Hello Theresa C. thank you so much for taking the time to post such a well thought out and kind review of our park! Let me also say that we are thrilled your family had such a great stay. We did have some rainy weather when you were here, strange for August and after such a dry summer, but you... More 

Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The owners of Kritter's could not do enough to make you feel welcome. We wanted to stay a week to see all the attractions in the area. Not being a large campground (the last one we stayed had 600 sites) they placed us on a site for one night and another site for the remaining 6. Our site, 33, was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scheinin
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

First of all, let me say that it was a pleasure to meet you and your wife! She and I had a chance to chat a bit and that was nice, I enjoy meeting a fellow reader! I'm not sure when you made your reservation, but this has been a very busy summer for the U.P. and the sites with... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Campsites are generous size and well kept. Restrooms and showers were tidy and cleaned daily. Owners were attentive and pleasant. Good location to go out and see the Eastern UP attractions. Nice to find a budget priced camp site with restrooms, showers and laundry facilities.

Helpful?
Thank pippijonjones
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

Hello, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it!!! It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to make sure everything is clean and stocked and well kept. And we love people and try to make sure we take care of any needs you have and... More 

Northport, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed here for several nights. Owner is a little TOO visible driving around in his golf cart and on occasion, right through our campsite on multiple trips ... hmm? Campground was noisy at night and the owner was NOT visible then. Facilities were OK (unfortunately they are short on full 3-way, serviced sites) so we had to use the dump... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TomGNorthport_Ny
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

Sorry to say we do not have a golf cart at our location and we would not drive through our guest campsites. Making ourselves visible is what our guest appreciate the most. As for the noise you can hear a pin drop at 11:00pm here and we do walk at 11:30pm to make sure other guest privacy is being respected.... More 

North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I want to start by saying the family running the place is extremely nice, very pleasant and accommodating. The camp ground is located 15 miles from the falls, and there is plenty to do in the area for families, please reference Tahquamenon Fall State Park's website for maps, trails, and activities. A couple issues that might be seasonal, include; a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin Q
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this review

Mother nature unleashed here wrath while you were here and did not have that type of rain all season. Any place that receives that much rain that fast is sure to have standing water, however it soaked in within the hour. We love grassy campsites and do not want to put gravel down. The cable TV works good and we... More 

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
13.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
161 reviews
9.3 km away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
62 reviews
13.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 km away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
29 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are centrally located to the Eastern Upper Peninsula attractions! Not only do we provide lodging but we also have a very nice, modern campground to service everything from tent campers to big rigs! For our camping guests, we are a Good Sam park which entitles Good Sam members to a 10% discount! Lodging guests will realize a savings by staying longer than 4 nights. Camping season runs from Mother's Day weekend to October 10th. The Little Lodge is open thru snowmobile season. We hope we can be a part of your Upper Peninsula experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins

Address: 13209 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Price Range: ₹ 5,141 - ₹ 7,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book ahead as this campground is popular and well situated for exploring the U.P.”
 of 5 bubbles TomGNorthport_Ny, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It is a campground so you need to bring your own room!”
 of 5 bubbles SFF727, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Sites facing away from the general park are bests”
 of 5 bubbles CrazybearEscapee, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Call early if you want FULL hookup.”
 of 5 bubbles donnan534, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Stay at the State Parks! Anything is better than here.”
 of 5 bubbles keepsusgoing, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5