We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Halfway Lake Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Halfway Lake Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Halfway Lake Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Shelby, Michigan
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This place was great. It was very relaxing and peaceful. I loved the time I got to spend time eithy family and got to meet new people. I will definitely plan a trip in the future. I think it would be great place for winter time as well as summer. Thanks for a great getaway.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmmhubbard
Nicole M, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

If you enjoy the outdoors, our area has a lot to offer during the winter, which is my favorite time to visit Tahquamenon Falls. I hope you are able to make time to visit us again. It is always nice to get away and spend time relaxing and reconnecting with family. You are welcome for a "great getaway" and I...

Ohio
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Overall quite, beautiful place. Had an issue with cleaning staff limiting a family of 5 to only one hand towel and how they spoke to myself and children. But the owner Dee came to our cabin after incident and apologized for inconvinence she was very kind and professional. That kind of treatment makes us want to return again. Also would...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank osbfam2016
TBWare, Front Office Manager at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

So happy to know that you would like to return to our beautiful little piece of Heaven on Earth. We apologize for any misunderstanding. We would love to have you bring your family to stay with us again.

Belleville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 August 2016

My family had a wonderful experience at Halfway Lake Cottages! Everything from the cottages to the lake were beautiful. Our favorite part was that row boats, kayaks and canoes were provided as well as life jackets! We used the lake every day whether it was to Kayak or fish and we were never disappointed. Our children are 17, 14 and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
TBWare, Front Office Manager at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review! In an electronic age when so many youngsters are wrapped up in phones, laptops, handheld games, etc…it is wonderful to know that Everyone had a great time. We certainly hope to see you return for more family fun!

Caro, Michigan
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We had a blast staying at Halfway Lake Resort. The owners of this resort were very friendly and even moved our stay to a better cabin so we had a better view of the lake. My wife and Kids had never been to the U.P of Michigan so I wanted to make sure that wherever we stayed that we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonterryus
TBWare, Front Office Manager at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Such a sweet review! Thank You! First impressions can make for lasting impressions. We are so happy your wife and children, and yourself of course, were able to leave the UP filled with great lasting memories. We certainly hope to see you all again soon!

Shelbyville, Michigan
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the double/ split cabin with several families. Perfect for all the go between. Power was out for 3 hours due to a storm, but the owners were extremely helpful delivering drinking water and fresh water for cooking/wash. Gorgeous and relaxing views!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank huycka
TBWare, Front Office Manager at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review! We are happy that we could help you out during the power outage and that it didn’t spoil your family fun. Hope to see you again soon!

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Great cabin and very clean! Enjoyed the free use of row boats and kayaks. The owners were very friendly and helpful. A great family place. No tips for improvement. Would definitely recommend it and go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 951dianej
TBWare, Front Office Manager at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed and certainly hope to see you again soon!

Traverse City
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We, grandparents and grandsons ( ages 7 & 11), stayed at Halfway Lake Cottages in July of 2016. Overall, I'd say this was a nice experience. We booked because of the high Trip Advidor ratings. PROS: Bedding was great and the beds were very comfortable. Bathroom and kitchen were clean. If beds, bathroom and kitchen are clean and comfortable, it's...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaxnonie
TBWare, Front Office Manager at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your very comprehensive review. We are happy to hear you found Halfway Lake clean and comfortable. I do apologize we were not able to live up to all of your expectations. Hope to see you again soon.

Rochester, Michigan
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This was exactly as I expected. Cute little cottages. 2 bedrooms with a kitchen a sitting area. Worked out well for our family of 5. No ac was a little challenge the first day as the Windows had been closed all day. Once it cooled down it was great. Beautiful lake. Made use of the boats. Location was decent to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
Nicole M, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

So happy to hear that we lived up to your expectations. It means a lot to know that you would have extended your stay, if possible. Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Halfway Lake.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one week. The pros, nice size cottages, beautiful lake, boats available. Cons, cabin 6 wifi was mostly not available. Had to go close to owners home and then sometimes not available. Not good if you have to do business on your computer. Hot tub advertised was no longer for the public. On the whole, we enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nicole M, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review and sharing with potential guests that we no longer offer a hot tub. I am glad to hear you found your cottage comfortable and enjoyed your time at the lake.

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Not bad. Had a few issues. Wireless service is listed as one of the amenities and was not consistent at all. Had to kill a handful of bugs and spiders in our bed and living area but to be expected in the wilderness. Some of their "old" brochures list a hot tub on property-it's there but not available to guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJames23
Nicole M, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you found Halfway Lake clean and peaceful. I do apologize we were not able to live up to all of your expectations. We try to balance our fear of using chemicals and hatred for bugs by spraying periodically, when necessary. That being said, we would have happily sprayed the cottage for bugs at your request....

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
20.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
164 reviews
20.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
16.3 km away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Hilltop cabins
Hilltop cabins
#1 of 3 in Grand Marais
104 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family owned resort in the heart of the great waters of Michigan's Eastern Upper Peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Halfway Lake Cottages

Address: 16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868-7643
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Halfway Lake Cottages staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Halfway Lake Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cabins are great.”
 of 5 bubbles stevenbN6969GR, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“air would be nice”
 of 5 bubbles 713calvinn, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2-bedroom cabin big enough to sleep 4A and bunkbeds for kids - We are planning our next trip already and have recommended Halfway to others. ”
 of 5 bubbles bonnier998, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very nice cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles johncsjackmi, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cottages were clean, well equipped, very comfortable. This place is a great value for your dollar. Nicole was very friendly and accomoding.”
 of 5 bubbles 15arlenec, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5