We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel El Convento

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel El Convento
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, as many have stated, with a gorgeous patio and refreshing pool. The decorations are museum quality; what isn't displayed here is at Museo de Arte Fundación Ortiz-Guardián. We had a problem with our air conditioner (a necessity in León's heat). The staff immediately attempted to remedy it, and when that proved futile, we were moved to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are thrilled that you fully enjoyed. Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. We have shared them with our staff to best understand what happened in the breakfast, Heartfelt hospitality and attentiveness are the signature qualities of our team so we will take your feedback in a very positive way. Warmest regards and we hope to... More 

USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

This is the place to stay. It is a great location and very affordable. The rooms are spacious, well managed and the hotel provides excellent room service. Guests safety is a priority. There is an outstanding restaurant staff. They are most attentive to all guests.

Helpful?
Thank CowboyJosh
adminconvento, Gerente at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Mr CowboyJosh, Thank you very much for your comments, I will share your words with the rest of the staff so they know that they are doing things well. We hope to serve you again soon and to continue providing the best alternative of accommodation in León. More 

Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were here for two nights. It is a perfect location for exploring Leon. The grounds are gorgeous and the appointments throughout the hotel are really interesting. We enjoyed the food in the hotel restaurant both nights. The pool area is small but nicely done. Choose a room facing the courtyard to avoid street noise.

Helpful?
1 Thank gagardener
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. I am pleased that you found our location and rooms to your liking. I hope the minor inconvenience did not detract from the overall positive experience you had with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with... More 

Stockholm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2015

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel which is very well situated in the centre of Leon. Don´t be afraid of city alarm that goes off every morning at 7am! Nice and clean hotel with a small pool, we didn´t use it though. Decent breakfast, didn´t try the restaurant at night.

Helpful?
Thank StockholmKat
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are appreciative of your kind words regarding your recent stay. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2015

This hotel located very centrally in old Leon was, in reality, only built less than 20 years ago on the site of the old Franciscan convent. It has been done very well, however, & captures the feel of an old colonial building around a pretty garden courtyard. I think the best rooms are those that face that courtyard. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank PetroniusMinor
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Deasr Guest Thank you for your review of the Hotel El Convento. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed information regarding your stay. We disappointed to see that the service from our staff was not up to our usual standards. Our team are often praised for their friendliness and helpful attitude, so I apologise that you did not... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We started our 8 day Nicaragua vacation in Leon, and were recommended the El Convento by Nicaragua Adventures. The hotel used to be a convent (hence the name), and the interior courtyard and hallways were all beautifully decorated with religious art, sculptures and figurines. Our room had a very comfortable bed and ice cold A/C, which were welcome after a... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJPHughes
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear PJPHughes Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and thrilled to hear the location met your needs. We apologize for any inconvenience may have caused you during your stay. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights - great location and lovely setting with a beautiful courtyard. Usually would have marked this lower but Leon is sparse for really high end hotels. Staff did speak English but was difficult to ask for help...but with the pricing pitched at the high end that's not quite fair. All in all would return - just felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kungfuchoirboy
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for sharing such feedback with us. I would like to thank you for visiting us and stay with us during your trip to Leon, we apologize for the inconvenience, but thank you for making the comment as this helps us find areas of opportunity in which we can improve. I hope you visit us soon. Kind regards, More 

Dorset
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2015

This is a beautifully restored courtyard building surrounding a delightful garden, located close to the centre of the city. It has good modern facilities including a decent-sized pool and a fitness centre (neither of which we used, although they looked fine). The whole place is stuffed with paintings, artefacts, statues and old furniture; the owners also own (or at least... More 

Helpful?
Thank DorsetHedley
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. I am pleased that you found our location and rooms to your liking. I hope the minor inconvenience did not detract from the overall positive experience you had with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

The El Convento is well situated, and beautifully decorated with art and antiques all along the corridors and the courtyard in the centre. We had a great stay in clean, airy rooms. The staff were very helpful. The only thing is the food for the complimentary breakfast buffet was fairly plain, and not hot. Granted we came near the end... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColinBaril
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank for sharing such great feedback with us. Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. We have shared them with our staff to best understand what happened in the breakfast, Heartfelt hospitality and attentiveness are the signature qualities of our team so we will take your feedback in a very positive way. On behalf of our staff... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2015 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights at Hotel El Convento and were very happy with it. We had a suite so there was plenty of space. We had French doors opening onto the front lawn, and though we were right on the street we were never bothered by noise. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was a decent... More 

Helpful?
Thank BAM1113
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for visiting us and stay with us during your trip to Leon, we apologize for the inconvenience, but thank you for making the comment as this helps us find areas of opportunity in which we can improve. I hope you visit us soon. More 

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Viewed
Executive Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Suite (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 km away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 km away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
263 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
0.8 km away
San Juan de Leon
San Juan de Leon
#6 of 15 in Leon
57 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#8 of 15 in Leon
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Price Range: ₹ 7,660 - ₹ 9,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Convento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Convento staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Granada, Nicaragua
over a year ago
Granada, Nicaragua
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Convento staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are of equal quality; I prefer not to be located in the front of the hotel near the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles CowboyJosh, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“"Interior", non-street-side rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles AlyssaM521, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Habitaciones frente al jardín son tranquilas”
 of 5 bubbles Testimonials_Tours, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“My room had 2 double beds, and I was alone, so it felt very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 392russw, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room towards the interior yard.”
 of 5 bubbles casskamon, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay