We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peacock Guest House

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Peacock Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Start your review of Peacock Guest House
 Click to rate
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After a trekking tour in solokhumbu, we spent some nights in peacock guesthouse. Very beautiful and historic building. A very nice family run place, calm and peaceful. Very friendly owners and the best food in bakhtapur, too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iujunterwegs
Quezon City
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the annex (a short walk from the main peacock guest house) and it was equally as wonderful. The annex has a marvelous rooftop where we had an unforgettable meal. The staff was warm, hospitable and very professional. My favorite spot in the whole of Bhaktapur was the bench in front of the square where I could watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert_the_dreamer
Arunodaya P, Owner at Peacock Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and Thank you so much for your feedback staying with us at Peacock Guesthouse. We are glad that you enjoyed the Annex Building which is a new addition to Peacock Guesthouse. It is a modern building with simple modern decor.However it has one of the best views from the rooftop. You can view the sunrise and sunset...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Adored the Peacock Guest House, so friendly and welcoming, with a lot of attention to providing a high standard of service. It is a beautiful building with so much character, the rooms are truly unique rooms and don't worry about being cold - we anyway had electric blankets!. The main building surrounds an open air courtyard, where there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
Arunodaya P, Owner at Peacock Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Annie, Its was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Peacock Guesthouse. We are glad that you enjoyed our company and the environment of the guesthouse. Its guests like yourself who makes us work harder and provide better service. Thank you for the warm encouragement and advice.

Russia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great coffee and muffin break in the courtyard of the guest house. The atmosphere is magical and muffins to die for! Perfect place for a break. They also have a wood carving workshop inside the courtyard, it gives a very unique vibe to the place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8_wanderluster_8
Arunodaya P, Owner at Peacock Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Namaste and Thank you for dropping in at the bakery. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are glad that you enjoyed both the baked goods and the environment. Thank you so much.

Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Let me be clear, if you stay in the central building it's fantastic, if you book my mistake the annex, it's a lousy place. I'm giving 1 because of the misleading info. It's just a normal room of a normal hotel, nothing to do with the newar architecture.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gastón M
Arunodaya P, Owner at Peacock Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Gaston, Namaste from Peacock Guesthouse. Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us. Please note that we have clearly shown the pictures on Booking.com from where you have booked the Annex building. Yes the Annex Building is a modern building and we have clearly mentioned in the description on the online system. We are disappointed that you...

Olinda, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall an underwhelming experience. Cuisine was overpriced and most importantly the owner was arrogant.. although the rooms are traditionally styled, they lack basic air conditioning and the beds are super uncomfortable. Even after booking a week in advance, Peacock Guest House failed to inform us of the noisy renovations occurring in courtyard... just go somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank contact222
Arunodaya P, Owner at Peacock Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste and Thank you so much for the feedback staying at Peacock Guesthouse. Firstly of all, we have clearly mentioned that we do not have any modern amenities like the TV or AC in all our rooms. It is only recently that we do not have load shedding before a year back we used to have load shedding...

Lebanon
Reviewed 16 April 2017

The guesthouse was unfortunately,for me anyway,fully booked during my dates to visit Bhaktapur,but I went by to say hello and to enjoy the lovely ambience inside including the coffee shop and the peaceful courtyard.The owners are gracious and kind and the owners wife makes maybe the most sinfully delicious muffins on the planet.These should be declared illegal because they're that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoachPaulbball
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We had a very lovely fresh pad thai here. The staff are lovely too. The only thing is that the prices aren't cheap for Nepal. 500rs for a pad thai I think is a little steep. The setting is lovely though, you eat in a courtyard within this lovely old building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
Arunodaya P, Owner at Peacock Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaste from Peacock Guesthouse. Thank you for dropping into Mayur Restaurant and enjoying our thai cuisine. Yes the Pad Thai are bit expensive as the cuisine is from Thailand and all the ingredients are brought into the country from abroad, mainly from Thailand. Thank you so much for enjoying the environment.

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

During A day trip to this really nice ancient town we found Peacock Guest House by accident. The court yard is so quiet and peaceful that it seams to be Paradies but just a step drum buzzling city life. We had nice coffee and lassi in the tastefully arranged surroundings and enjoyed relaxing. The ancient architecture of the building is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erdmann78
Wyoming, Ohio
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Visitors who enter through the low cut historic doorway of Peacock Guest House are greeted with a very homey and cozy open area inside, with historic wood stairs and balconies. The hosts are super helpful, and the menu at breakfast and lunch is healthy and reasonably priced. There is a wood carver who works on traditional crafts who works on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danjiro

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
0.7 km away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
286 reviews
1.1 km away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
395 reviews
2.0 km away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
134 reviews
9.8 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 196 in Kathmandu
1,062 reviews
9.1 km away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 196 in Kathmandu
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peacock Guest House is in the oldest Square of Bhaktapur, Dattatraya Square which houses the famous Peacock Window. The building is part of UNESCO World Heritage Site. Experience the era of traditional Newari architecture with added basic modern facilities. It also has a Wood Carving Shop where workers carve 100% by hand intricate newari designs on windows/furnitures. And it also has a Bakery where you get Illy Coffee and freshly baked muffins every day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peacock Guest House

Address: Dattatreya Square | Tachupal Tole, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Price Range: ₹ 1,939 - ₹ 3,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peacock Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Peacock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peacock Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Peacock Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best you can find :))”
iujunterwegs, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the annex. We would have preferred the main building if we had it tot do again.”
  • View of temple in square outside the hotel
Danjiro, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a room on the principal part and not on annex”
DanicarO886318, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are very traditional with low ceilings.”
diabloglo, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better”
586julieo, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 43* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 45
Hotwire.comUS$ 44
Orbitz.comUS$ 44
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates