The H Hotel

The H Hotel

Traveller (253)
Room & Suite (75)
Cafe Zinc
Dining (24)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 9 hotels in Midland
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Located in the heart of downtown Midland, Michigan - the award-winning H Hotel combines comfortable luxury and personalized service to create an elemental experience in a setting designed to inspire and engage you.

Our Main St. address provides the ideal setting to discover all things Midland. Inspired by Midland's rich history in Chemistry, we invite you on a journey of discovery, where everyday experiences are transformed into moments of learning, creativity, and reflection.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Patio
Free shuttle or taxi services
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

111 W Main St, Midland, MI 48640
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Tri City Airport
15.9 km
See all flights
Bishop Airport
82.8 km
See all flights
1,826Review3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,516
  • 222
  • 58
  • 22
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tamra F wrote a review Jul 2020
Detroit, United States23 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So, I didn't know what to expect when I booked H Hotel. I'm certain there are those who look at pictures of the hotel rooms and then you go and you learn the pictures were taken 30 years ago and hotel is a "HOT" mess.

NOT THE H HOTEL - it is everything it claims to be in the pictures and on their webpage. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are clean and well updated. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised. The staff was accommodating and very nice. The food was wonderful. From the time we arrived until the we departed the hotel, the staff was exceptional. Additionally, we thoroughly enjoyed dining in the courtyard and eating breakfast - the food was very good. We had no complaints.

Finally, I was thankful of the care the staff took to ensure all our dining locations were clean. They took time to thoroughly wipe down the tables. We were well spaced from other diners and felt comfortable and safe eating in the courtyard. Not only is the courtyard beautiful, but it is relaxing and is perfect if you want to enjoy a lovely dinner with your significant other. I admit, I was a little nervous eating in the restaurant because I didn't feel we were adequately spaced from other diners, but my nervousness subsided as diners begin to leave. I would have appreciated more outside dining with umbrella coverings. The one recommendation I would like to offer is that the restaurant invest in table umbrellas. There were several tables that were open outside, but they did not have umbrella covering to protect from the sun and elements. It was too hot to sit outside directly in the sun without an umbrella.

I appreciate all the care given by the hotel to ensure guest had masks, additional cleaning wipes, and gloves it needed.

We will definitely return in the fall to take advantage of the trails and to return to Dow Garden, which was absolutely beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The cost of the room was fair. I'm not certain if room costs are low due to decreased travel...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Horton, Owner at The H Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Thank you so much Tamra for taking the time to write this review! We appreciate that you and your husband took notice of the steps that we have put in place to ensure the safety and health of our guests. Your recommendation will be looked at, thank you for that. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin B wrote a review Feb 2020
Mount Pleasant, Michigan1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The H Hotel in Midland, MI is top notch. The room was clean and well appointed. My room and the floor was very quiet making it easier to fall asleep. The Zinc Cafe was amazing. The food was unique and very tasty. Had dinner at One Eighteen and it was as a wonderful evening the food was very good and the service was very helpful and pleasant. It was a marvelous evening. The Oxygen Lounge was well appointed and the bar was well stocked the service was a bit slow and this was at a time when the bar was nearly empty.
All in all, I would highly recommend the H Hotel and downtown Midland as a nice weekend getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda H, Administrative Assistant at The H Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2020
We are so happy you were able to visit! Thank you for this review and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack wrote a review May 2021
Traverse City, Michigan1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nearly top marks for The H Hotel. The hotel was spotless and impressive looking. The exterior resembled a stately college building and the inside was similar to some of the Four Seasons I have been to in the last 5-6 years. There was an easy parking option (free) in the attached garage. The front desk service was very friendly and informative. The food service on the patio was superb. The patio had multiple table propane fires and socially distanced dining pods. The food was very good, but more tavern-like than fine dining, and the wine list fit within that vibe. One minor disappointment was the rooms with two beds had only double beds with no option for two queen or two king beds. The shower door was a bit odd too. The shower door was a fixed glass wall that extended only about halfway (think a hockey rink glass pane). A town full of engineers and that was the best Dow could come up with to keep water from splashing onto the floor? All in all, a very positive experience. If I have reason to return to Midland, I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The H Hotel, Other at The H Hotel
Responded 27 May 2021
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Midland! The feedback from your experience is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vbianco714 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They did not explain anything that was included in the hop to easter package. Started off our stay by ordering 2 glasses of wine from Cafe Zinc, could not get through on the phone so my husband went down to the cafe to order it and when the wine came to our room it was a bottle not 2 glasses, not a big deal but the canister that they use to chill the wine was obviously not clean. The canister leaked/dripped BROWN WATER not only on the floor, but also my arms and clothes. When I went to take a shower there were yellow spots all on the floor of the tub, and there was no shower cap in the shower cap box. The room was obviously not completely clean!!!!!! As for the package that we went with for the room, it was described as an easter basket, and egg hunt that would be happening. The "basket" was a paper bag that had crayons (to color the bunny on the bag) and about 3 eggs with one piece of candy in it. There were pool noodles in the room and deflated beach balls of us to use if we decided to schedule a 30 min time slot to use the pool, but that was something that I called ahead and let the know that we would not be utilizing. I had also called ahead to schedule when I wanted the soda and popcorn delivered to the room since we did not have our kids with us both nights and that was never noted on our reservation. When it came time for the soda and popcorn to be delivered to the room it was 15 min past the time we requested. As for the Egg Hunt it turned out to be a scavenger hunt. There was no egg hunt and I have younger children who do not read so a scavenger hunt is not something that is fun for them. I am sure I could go on with how wrong things were with our stay at the H hotel, but I will stop here. I have stayed at the H before, but after this I will not be staying there again, and I would not recommend it to others. There are many other hotels in the area that are just as nice if not nicer. In my opinion the H is not worth the money!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The H Hotel, Other at The H Hotel
Responded 7 Apr 2021
We would like to thank you for staying with us and express our sincerest apologies for the issues that were encountered during your getaway weekend. Thank you for sharing your comments above and speaking with us earlier today to discuss further opportunities for improvement. Your suggestions have put changes into motion to make our family packages better in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michiganmike711 wrote a review Apr 2021
West Bloomfield, Michigan5 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
THE H HOTEL IN MIDLAND, MICHIGAN

We have been to the H Hotel a few times and always have liked it. Whereas The H Hotel is located on Main Street in the heart of Midland, its reception entrance is actually on Ann Street, which runs parallel to Main. Keep that in mind when you dial in directions to the hotel. Go around the block to Ann Street when you arrive. The H Hotel is modern, nicely appointed, clean, well kept and its staff is helpful and friendly. Requests from our room were answered with exceptional promptness, like asking for a terrycloth bathrobe which is no longer standard fare in the room due to the pandemic. It has more amenities than we took advantage of, including a newly updated fitness facility and indoor pool/hot tub. Upon registering, one is handed a checkbox complimentary munchies card where a variety of drinks and snacks can be selected, which are then delivered to the room in fairly short order. The goodies that came were easily enough for both of us. I do recommend that the hotel install night lights in the bathrooms for those of us that haunt it during the wee hours. It’s a really dark bathroom! My wife would also like a magnifying mirror; nuf said.

Although the hotel has two street side restaurants, the Zinc Café and One 18, room service from the restaurants is available only when they are open for business. The hotel discontinued 24-hour room service during the pandemic though some parts of the website have not been updated to reflect pandemic related changes. Call the front desk for more info. One 18 replaces the Table restaurant, which was very good and more formal than Café Zinc. However, we have always liked Café Zinc for its décor, food and service for any meal we have eaten there. We have not eaten at One 18, which the hotel describes as good quality Americana in a more casual setting. Covid guidelines are adhered to throughout, as expected.

We recommend The H Hotel for anyone visiting Midland, Michigan, as we did overnight for my wife’s birthday. Assistance animals are allowed but pets are not. Concerts at the Midland Center for the Arts are delightful and if you at all like architecture, a tour of the Alden Dow House is a list topper. It is very unusual to find a home that is in the same league as Wright’s Falling Water but there sits the Alden Dow House, about 5 minutes drive from the hotel. You can see Wright’s influence in it, inside and out, but the Dow structure and its setting are special. The Dow Gardens and Forest are also ready for you. And yes, Alden Dow was the youngest son of the founder of Dow Chemicals and the H Hotel was originally a Dow Chemicals establishment. Of course, it’s Midland, Michigan.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The H Hotel, Other at The H Hotel
Responded 16 Apr 2021
Thank you for sharing michiganmike711! We certainly appreciate your thoughts for improvement and are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience not only at the H, but in Midland in general. Midland and our team at the H look forward to your next visit to the area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
camperinvestigator wrote a review Oct 2020
Michigan74 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first time staying at the H Hotel. I tried to stay last year - but had to cancel due to an ice storm. This was a beautiful hotel and resonably priced for a quick romantic getaway. There were many safety precautions in place for the virus and everything was extremely clean and we felt very safe. The room was top-notch with a huge bathroom, comfy big bed and big windows for a great view. What I also loved was that you could park your car and walk to everything. Get carryout at the deli down the street and take it to the Tridge Park with plenty of walking trails. We ate outside at one of the hotel restaraunts and it was excellent. I can not wait to go back! Thank you H Hotel for your hard work in making my surprise bday celebration for my guy a perfect weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Horton, Owner at The H Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Thank you for staying with us! We we so happy to be a part of the celebration. It is always our pleasure to meet and exceed guests' expectations, so we are thrilled to have done that for you. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geneva wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel overall was beautiful. Staff was friendly. However there were some minor but annoying issues with the room. The AC unit did not work effectively I was unable to get it to a comfortable temperature. When I arrived it was 80° in the room. Also the bathroom smelt as if there was a plumbing issue. However I enjoyed that the pool was adult only after 11pm and the pool and fitness area was open 24 hours and was clean and stocked with towels.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The H Hotel, Owner at The H Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Hello Tarageneva, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I'm so sorry for the issues you had with your thermostat and bathroom. I'll make sure our engineering team is aware of your concerns and gets the issues resolved. Thank you again for your review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S wrote a review May 2021
Farmington Hills, Michigan11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful Anniversary trip.
We purchased the Room with A Brew package that provided a wonderful room, 4 craft beers, a $25 restaurant credit, and a late 2 pm check-out. The queen bed was comfortable and we slept well.
The bathroom has a nice large tiled shower, but we missed having a tub. Water pressure, temperature, and quality were great.
The attached living/office suite was perfect to enjoy some time that didn't feel like we were just sitting in a bedroom
It's close to everything-outdoor recreation is great with local shops within walking distance.
Cafe Zinc is a wonderful restaurant. I cannot recommend the breakfast enough! And don't forget dessert- even if you don't think dessert goes with breakfast!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The H Hotel, Other at The H Hotel
Responded 20 May 2021
Thank you for staying with us and providing this review! Dessert absolutely does go with breakfast :) We are thrilled that you made us part of your anniversary trip and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ontheroadagain65 wrote a review Sept 2021
Garden City, Michigan1,104 contribution279 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in Midland for 2 nights to ride our bikes on the Pere-Marquette rail trail, as well as visiting Dow Gardens. The location is perfect. The beginning of the rail trail was super close. The Tridge was close as well. While downtown Midland may be small, the hotel's location was perfect for wandering on foot. Dow Gardens was only a few minutes away by car.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They don't have ice machines available, but were nice enough to fill our small cooler for us. They have a parking garage (no charge), which is convenient. The pool was very nice, as was the hot tub. While we didn't use the fitness area, it had to be one of the better fitness gyms, I've ever seen in a hotel. The room was nice. Very modern looking. The bed was a bit soft, for my liking, but others may like that.
I have two complaints about the room, which is why I gave a 4 out of 5 rating. I agree with another poster, that mentioned a sticky bathroom floor. I don't know what they're using to clean the bathroom floor, but they need to rethink it. Also, for a hotel of this caliber, the carpet was noticeably dirty. Frankly, it shouldn't be dirty in any hotel, high end or not.
Overall, we had a very nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The H Hotel, Owner at The H Hotel
Responded 30 Sept 2021
Hello Ontheroadagain65, Thank you for choosing the H Hotel and for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. I'm very sorry for the issues you mentioned with the bathroom floor feeling sticky as well as carpet issues. We are working towards replacing carpets throughout our rooms right now and I will make sure your room is among the first refreshed. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Leilani
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeFiveTravel wrote a review May 2022
Michigan423 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a night with extended family (several rooms) at The H in Midland and had a wonderful stay. The pluses: comfortable beds, the best shower water pressure of any hotel I’ve ever stayed at, friendly staff who seem to love their jobs, wonderfully inclusive hiring practices, and the rooms, the public areas, and the outdoor seating areas were all clean and well-cared for.

The cons: City of Midland water has a heavy chlorine taste so water bottles in the rooms would have been appreciated. Also, none of our electronic devices charged over night while plugged into the charging stations on the table between the beds because the tables were unplugged! It never occurred to us to crawl under to table to ensure it was plugged it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The H Hotel, Other at The H Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Thank you for you for choosing to stay at the H and for your feedback! We are looking into your concerns further and hope you stay with us again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Brenda S
Hemlock, Michigan13 contributions3 helpful votes
I think they do shuttle locally, however, birch run and frankenmuth would be too far away.
Laurie F wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is open 24 hours as well as the work out room. Very nice!"
Read full review
Trip62141526703 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can't go wrong staying here! Staff are friendly and helpful. The bed is so comfortable and the room is super clean. Highly recommended!"
Read full review
Fearless24612578396 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for exploring downtown Midland."
Read full review
Richard G wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make Reservations at for Restaurants "
Read full review
malymail wrote a tip Sept 2023
Fenton, Michigan3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make reservations for breakfast!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Midland area.
PRICE RANGE
₹22,807 - ₹28,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
h hotel midland
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganMidland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE H HOTEL (Midland) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The H Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The H Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Tridge (0.1 km), Oxygen Lounge (0.06 km), and Midland County Courthouse (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The H Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The H Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The H Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The H Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The H Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Zinc, Whichcraft Taproom, and Crepes Et Amis.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The H Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The H Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The H Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The H Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Midland.
Are any cleaning services offered at The H Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The H Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Midland HotelsMidland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MidlandHotels near The H Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire