We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dunes Waterfront Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mears
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Dunes Waterfront Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Room had bad odor. Sheets were thin,rough and smelled. Staff was not friendly. when I made reservation I specifically asked about close by restaurants. While there were they were closed for season. If we hadn't been tired from. Long drive we would have left and stayed elsewhere even though it would have cost us additional money,that is how how unhappy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanetK641
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Was impressed by the helpful & friendly staff in the main lobby. The room was very clean, and the beds comfortable Had a room with a view, which is beautiful, would seem silly to come here & not be on the side with the view. It is very quiet here in the late Fall, have heard it is not so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly D
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a family wedding. It was a beautiful setting on the beach. It is not a fancy hotel but it is nice,neat and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will be back for another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MommaB716
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

A clean place but outdated. Seriously felt like we were back in the 80s. The pool is on the top floor which is weird and the deepest point is 3 ft and 10 inches. A little nerve wracking that you have a sign that says they count each and every towel that goes in and out of the room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dunes Waterfron... R, Manager at Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Waterfront Resort. Wow, there are a lot of unanswered questions. I hope I can provide answers to help alleviate frustration. We do love and take pride in our housekeeping staff and they do a fabulous job. Thank you for acknowledging their hard work. Cell reception is an ongoing issue. We do...

Reviewed 17 July 2016

We got a lake view room with a balcony. It was nice, but nothing too great. The carpet seemed clean, the room was clean. The pool was awesome but unfortunately we didn't discover that until we were about to leave. :-( It was big and shallow- perfect for kids. I think they should offer breakfast for the prices they charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
Estero, Florida
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The rooms come with a small fridge but no microwave. We had a ground level floor which allowed us to open our sliders, sit outside, have a picnic dinner, and watch sunset each night. The ground floor location was also perfect for our kids to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
Dunes Waterfron... R, Manager at Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Waterfront Resort. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We know wifi is an issue and at the beginning of summer requested our wifi speed to double. We are anxiously awaiting this to be complete. Hopefully the next time you visit, you will see the difference....

Hartland, Michigan
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We had a lake side balcony with a Jacuzzi- the view over silver lake was very nice. The place was very clean. They have a nice pool. The doors are nice that you don't hear slamming doors all over the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jefferey71
Dunes Waterfron... R, Manager at Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read you had a great time and noticed the hard work of our housekeeping staff. We completely understand what you mean about the scenery. There is definitely something special about the views from our patio and balcony rooms, and sundeck on the 4th floor. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about...

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Seems to be under new management? Witnessed staff being talked down to by a man who appeared to be in charge? We have been staying here for several years and we will not be back this is not how you treat your employees. Environment felt very unwelcoming and the manager kept patrolling the lot and hovering in the lobby. Made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valart1
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed here and really enjoyed ourselves. My rooms were very comfortable and clean. I had adjoining rooms for me and my girls. The staff was very polite and attentive. Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Porshe A
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 24 March 2016

My husband and I stayed here while visiting family in the area for 4 nights. The first night, we were put in a room that had an adjoining door to the room next door in it. The people in the room next to us had a baby who cried most of the night, so we didn't get much sleep. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz0418
S P, Owner at Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate being made aware of a situation in time to make a correction. Thank you for staying at the Dunes Waterfront Resort and we hope to see you again.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
8.6 km away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
30.2 km away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
223 reviews
18.5 km away
Days Inn suites Pentwater
Days Inn suites Pentwater
#1 of 1 in Pentwater
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 17 in Ludington
410 reviews
32.0 km away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
350 reviews
33.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four story hotel overlooking Silver Lake and the Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Located in the center of town and close to area restaurants and attractions. Only accommodations in Silver Lake that provide a fire alarm system and sprinkler system for your comfort and safety. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunes Waterfront Resort

Address: 1180 N Shore Dr, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-9203
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Dunes Waterfront Hotel Mears
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunes Waterfront Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Rittman, Ohio
3 months ago
Rittman, Ohio
3 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dunes Waterfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Strongly reccommend a room facing the water.”
 of 5 bubbles mollyd951, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the ground floor room b/c you walk right onto the grass, sit in the chairs provided and watch sunset over the lake and dunes.”
 of 5 bubbles KimA564, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that have an adjoining door in them can make it much easier to hear the neighbors next door.”
 of 5 bubbles Liz0418, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get lake view but not on the damp and dank ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Jersey0302, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Be sure you book a room facing the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles kittycat66, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5