We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cedar Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cedar Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of Cedar Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Houghton, Michigan
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I came here because they were giving me a great rate! Couldn't beat it. Was very reasonable. The check in lady was nice, and it had a mom and pop shop feel to it. I liked it overall. However, when I got into the room I was very very disappointed. I had the "economy" room with a single double bed....

Thank jessica n
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed at the Cedar Motor Inn while working at our hunting property near Marquette. Weather was HOT and we wanted a place to stay with AC and a pool. Staff was super friendly, room and all amenities were great. Not quite nationwide chain feel and not just a roadside inn. Just about perfect for mid price lodging. Pool, hot tub,...

Thank Erik J
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We stayed on a Tuesday night in the middle of October, and the hotel was full! That says a lot! The place was very clean. The decor was a bit dated, but very cozy. The room was a generous size. The pool and hot tub area was nice. Breakfast was cereal, packaged muffins, and fruit. The staff was very nice...

Thank Judy H
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay last year. Yes, we are very blessed by many of our regular guests who come back time and again. They like to start with "trying out" different rooms until they come upon one that they really like then they request that one every time and book months ahead; that's...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

The staff was very accommodating with me. I was in town for a funeral and offered to reduce the rate for me, which helped tremendously. The spa and sauna (I miss that a lot), helped me relax. Just wished the weather was more cooperative during my stay. Definitely would stay again.

Thank okyooper1
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. We're glad to have been of service in your stressful time. Out-of-town emergencies can take their toll and it's nice to know we were able to help. Perhaps next time you stay it could be under circumstances where you can enjoy some of the great things Marquette has to offer.

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Stayed here in December 2016. Nine below zero outside, nice and warm inside, Has a indoor pool and Jacuzzi with a good breakfast. Very nice staff. Marquette is a cool college town with lots to do in town and around the area.

Thank clarenceville61
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after a recent stay. We appreciate that you enjoyed staying with our Cedar family. Yes, there is always something going on in Marquette with a wide variety of options for everyone. Perhaps next time you can come up in the summer and see how beautiful the area really is.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My Wife loves the included BF as I suppose it gives her the real break , but the one here was Basic with a capital B !! The woman at check in was lovely, friendly & helpful, the room was huge as was the bathroom ! Real cosy & while old was clean, neat & a quiet nights sleep ensued...

1Thank Skeney57
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Yes, it's nice to stroll down in your pajamas to have a cup of coffee, danish, fruit, cereal, etc. without having to go out. For those who prefer a hot breakfast, Marquette has awesome restaurants and they're anxious to wait on you. Our staff appreciates that you noticed...

Escanaba, Michigan
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Friendly staff that are very helpful. Pool, sauna and hot tub are small but nice and clean. Rooms are large and clean. Do not get poolside if you want to go to bed before 10:30 but the pool area is cleared promptly at 10:30 and all is quiet. Breakfast is boxed cereal packaged muffins and oatmeal. Basic but free. They...

Thank Angelique L
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. You seemed to highlight what we work on the hardest so we appreciate that you recognize the effort our staff puts forth. Our continental is more than the traditional definition but in addition to what you noted, it does include juice, milk, teas, coffee, yogurt, danish and fresh...

Reviewed 21 November 2016

stayed one night Nov. 19. Upstairs room overlooking pool and hot tub. Beds were wonderful and cleanliness exceptional. Large room. However, disappointed in unusually small and low toilet, hard to understand while this hasn't been changed out. Kleenex box was empty. Continental breakfast was basic but well attended by friendly staff. Overall, good value and good stay.

Thank BigAlMuth
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments to us. We're happy you had a pleasant stay when you were here and appreciate that you pointed out a few things as well. There's no reason for an empty tissue box and it should have been caught but if we don't have something at the front desk, we can usually...

Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 19 November 2016

This was our third trip to Marquette in the last two months so we been trying out different places to stay as I like to experiment. We chose this one this time because one I like motels instead of hotels, it was reasonably priced, it had good reviews, and it's in a good location. We seen it from prior trips...

Thank MNLit
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay with us. Without a bit more information, I can't comment on the room change you experienced; perhaps something was being worked on in the room you chose. But the rooms in that price range typically have the same amenities. Yes, booking through a travel agent means you deal...

Chippewa Falls
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stayed there with a hockey team. Very nice and clean place to stay. Motel is an older place where the rooms are connected by an indoor breezway. This was one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. Don't let the price or the age of the place turn you away. The staff were all very pleasant.

Thank Donald L
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We appreciate that you recognized how hard our staff works to make sure guests have a clean and comfortable place to stay when they're away from home that's also a good value.

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (26)
Room/Suite (7)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Bathroom (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (79)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Room/Suite (12)
Bathroom (6)
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
468 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
750 reviews
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Marquette
214 reviews
2.5 km away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
17 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Cedar Motor Inn

Address: 2523 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2258
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Price Range: ₹ 4,202 - ₹ 6,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cedar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Motor Hotel Marquette
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marquette
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#6 Family Hotel in Marquette
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedar Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Charlevoix, Michigan
9 months ago
Telluride, Colorado
1 month ago
Marquette, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was across the hall from the pool/spa area. Could (maybe)get busy/noisy, but would be ideal for those with kids though!”
487erikj, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from poolside if you need to be to bed before 10:30.”
354angeliquel, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“no elevator, but rooms close to parking”
BigAlMuth, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“118 was a nice room”
MNLit, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“budget friendly”
F760FDamyc, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5